Jump to content

TwitchyBait

Members
  • Content Count

    289
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Derrault in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    The keywords you mentioned are worded that way because they either can’t happen multiple times for a single creature in one turn (for example, Destroyed) or they aren’t limited to working once per turn (Fight).
    Elusive doesn’t need to be reworded because it is already written correctly to function only the first time each round that the creature is attacked. With all due respect, you are simply wrong about the phrasing having two possible meanings. As it stands there is only one possible meaning.
     
     
  2. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Poposhka in Will lowering power of creature to 0 kill this creature?   
    0 damage tokens >= 0 power means it's destroyed
  3. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from sabrjay in May forge a key at current cost?   
    This is why I blocked him, can only see people quoting him now, much less exhausting.
  4. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Untamed in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    The timing doesn't really matter though, Elusive requires the creature to be attacked, if it's not being attacked Elusive doesn't trigger. Similarly Elusive only prevents damage specifically to the creature with Elusive.
    So you've got two scenarios here both which wind up the same, either:
    A) You attack a creature with elusive, it's ability triggers preventing damage to IT (not any other creature) then use the before fight to target another creature and deal it damage. (Side note if the second creature has elusive it's irrelevant as it's not being attacked and thus it's elusive does not trigger).
    or
    B) You don't attack the creature with elusive and redirect the damage to a creature with elusive at which point it's not being attacked and therefor elusive doesn't trigger.
    The only thing you can't do is attack a creature with elusive and then deal damage to that same creature as Gabos ability indicates it must target a creature other than the one it's fighting.
  5. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Mushra93 in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    The timing doesn't really matter though, Elusive requires the creature to be attacked, if it's not being attacked Elusive doesn't trigger. Similarly Elusive only prevents damage specifically to the creature with Elusive.
    So you've got two scenarios here both which wind up the same, either:
    A) You attack a creature with elusive, it's ability triggers preventing damage to IT (not any other creature) then use the before fight to target another creature and deal it damage. (Side note if the second creature has elusive it's irrelevant as it's not being attacked and thus it's elusive does not trigger).
    or
    B) You don't attack the creature with elusive and redirect the damage to a creature with elusive at which point it's not being attacked and therefor elusive doesn't trigger.
    The only thing you can't do is attack a creature with elusive and then deal damage to that same creature as Gabos ability indicates it must target a creature other than the one it's fighting.
  6. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from BigBadAndy in Custom boxes for my decks   
    Awesome work, making some of my own in photoshop. If they come out well I'll happily share the PSD file with anyone that wants it where central/archon images can be changed in and out on their own but the sides/sizes are all done.
  7. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to CSteele in Will lowering power of creature to 0 kill this creature?   
    So you're implying you can't have 0 damage tokens on a card?  
     
  8. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Poposhka in Krump destoyed timing   
    After an enemy creature is destroyed fighting Krump, its controller loses 1[AE].
    So if both krump and other creature are destroyed, they are so simultaneously during the fight, and krump’s ability does not trigger.
     
  9. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from RobertK in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    Honest question, if the rules can be interpreted either way (granted I believe your way is a huge stretch but I'll acknowledge it's possible) do you not believe the text on the card is at least a hint at clarifying the intent? Or do you believe it to simply be a misprint?
  10. Thanks
    TwitchyBait reacted to BigBadAndy in Custom boxes for my decks   
    Thanks man! As far as the paper, that’s a great question.  The thickest card stock you can run through your printer would be my recommendation.  Having said that, I have used “coverstock” for these which is pretty flimsy.  The cards inside provide most of the substance of the box. 
    The units of thickness for cardstock are pretty arcane.  So, for example, 75lb coverstock is actually a different strength/fitness than 75lb cardstock.  Then when you buy the same thing twice it’s not always the same.  So I don’t have a prescription.  But the thicker the better as far as I’m concerned.  My printer used to work fine with 65lb cardstock but the last time I bought it either it’s thicker or the printer is worn out because it won’t go through.  I just had the coverstock lying around and it works okay. 
    TL:DR - I would use the thickest thing that works for you.  
    That link is helpful.  If you are patient and careful it’s theoretically possible to print the art on one side of the paper and the template lines on the other.  If lined up correctly then you need not have any lines running through your art.  However, this is really difficult to do and my printer doesn’t have the tolerances to really line up the front and back perfectly so I find it not worth the hassle.
    Bit I forgot to mention how critical it is to hit the “print actual size” setting.  If the stupid printer is fitting your print to the page margins it messes up your carefully measure dimensions.
    @twinstarbmc if you still want the dimensions I used my final model is 6.6cmx9.2cmx2.3cm.  The program converts this to inches on the printout, which is not super helpful.  The thickness needed to be as little as possible for me because the paper I’m using is thin and it gets bendy across the front unless the cards are pretty snug.  But as I said, if you use thicker paper you might want to loosen that up a bit.
  11. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to RobertK in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    “The first time a creature with the elusive keyword is attacked each turn, it is dealt no damage and deals no damage to the attacker in the fight.”
    If you think there is an ambiguity here, how about we cast about for the intent. But where could we look, you say? How about the reminder text! Maybe it casts a glimmer of illumination on this conundrum! Let’s see!!
    ”(The first time THIS creature is attacked each turn, no damage is dealt.)”
    Are there truly those present who wish to patently ignore the transparently clear intent of this reminder text simply to argue in favor of a contrived ambiguity?
    Again, please stop. The rule and the reminder text make the intent clear. And please don’t invoke rules from other games about the role of reminder text. I could invoke rules from Panzerblitz and the invocation would be similarly irrelevant.
  12. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to dperello in Will lowering power of creature to 0 kill this creature?   
    Yes, but no damage is exactly the amount needed.
  13. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Talamare in Rules question: Specific numbers on cards   
    Easiest way to remember and understand
    WITHOUT UPTO - You are FORCED to do as MUCH as possible, but you're NOT required to do the entire effect for it to have any effect
    WITH UPTO - You may do as much or as little as you would like
  14. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to CSteele in Will lowering power of creature to 0 kill this creature?   
    Nothing in the rules says it needs to have damage on it to be destroyed by damage.  It states damage is tracked by tokens and that "If a creature has an amount of damage on it equal to or greater than its power the creature is destroyed". 0 is indeed >= 0 in modern math.  The philosophical mean of 0 does not apply here
  15. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to DrPeterEnis in Will lowering power of creature to 0 kill this creature?   
    But there is.
    Since 0 is as much as (or more than) 0 the creature is destroyed. 
  16. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Deathseed in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    He is doing damage equal to his power yes. But there’s two key issues you seem to be missing somehow. One isn’t that he’s not attacking the creature he’s dealing damage to and thus that’s creature gains no benefit from elusive as elusive doesn’t lower an attackers damage it merely makes the creatures being attacked not receive damage given Gabbys ability applies explicitly to a creature he ISNT attacking I don’t see what issue you’re having here.
    Second he damage is coming from an ability which is also explicitly something elusive doesn’t protect against.
  17. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to RobertK in Rules question: Specific numbers on cards   
    No. The "do as much as you can" rule is not a way to prevent effects from happening. It is a way to allow as much of an effect to happen as possible. In other words, "do as much as you can" is not a pre-requisite for resolving the rest of the effect.
     
    So "Up to..." means you have a choice in the matter.
    Lacking "up to..." means do as much as you can, but the effect won't be prevented if you can't.
    So, "Destroy the 3 most powerful creatures"...If 1,2, or 3 creatures are in play, they are all destroyed.
    For "Lost in the Woods", if you had no creatures in play and your opponent had two, your opponent's creatures get shuffled into their deck. The card's effect is NOT a prerequisite for resolving the effect.
  18. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Poposhka in Krump destoyed timing   
    krumps card text is a constant ability
    in contrast, had Krump said "fight:" it wouldn't trigger if you attack my Krump, only when krump attacks (and survives).
    But since it's a constant ability, if you attack my krump and your creature dies, and krump survives, you lose 1A.
  19. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to Palpster in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    "the first time a creature with the elusive keyword is attacked each turn, it is dealt no damage and deals no damage to the attacker in the fight."  Where does it say that Gabos deals no damage? It only says your elusive creature doesn't take any, which is not the same thing, especially not if the damage is redirected.
  20. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to twinstarbmc in Gabos Longarms + Elusive interaction.   
    Folks, Elusive does not say that the attacking creature deals no damage. It says the attacked creature receives no damage. There is a difference. With our long-armed friend Gabby, the attacked creature isn't the one taking the damage. It's going to someone else. Gabby will take no damage from the Elusive one, and will still get to poke That Thing Over There.
  21. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Brekekekiwi in Annihilation Ritual + Strange Gizmo   
    Again with a clear lack of citing of any rules discussed, again you're transparent. I rarely use the ignore feature on any kind of forum in hopes those I disagree with will add insight to something I didn't know before but it's becoming clear you seem to enjoy being confrontational for the sake of it and don't' really have anything of value to add so I'll gladly employ it now to avoid your posts from now on, good day.
  22. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Brekekekiwi in Annihilation Ritual + Strange Gizmo   
    All rules for the discussion have already been cited, if you are to lazy to read the former posts that's on you. I'm not going through another one of your "let's be intentionally dense" sessions.
  23. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Brekekekiwi in Annihilation Ritual + Strange Gizmo   
    It’s a singular effect, it says “destroy all creatures and artifacts” not “destroy all creatures then artifacts”. You are free to choose the order effects resolve if they occur at the same time but first a key is forged so the only effect that’s been triggered is strange gizmos, thus you don’t choose its effect simply resolves once its resolved we check to see if any other effects trigger. The only ones in this case would be “destroyed” effects, since anhilation ritual triggers when a creature is destroyed it would trigger as creatures where just destroyed but it died at the same time do to that little “and” over “then” and thus its no longer in play which brings us to constant abilities.
    The only way it would work otherwise would be if we got a rule saying abilities could interupt other abilities, I have yet to see one. I mean even when it’s talking about timing conflicts (two things triggering at once) it just says the active player decides the order they’re resolve, it doesn’t say one ever interrupts the other but rather one resolves (active players choice) then the other resolves and here there isn’t even a timing conflict the later card requires he former to resolve for its trigger to even be met after which it’s gone anyways.
  24. Like
    TwitchyBait reacted to BigBadAndy in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    The reminder text in the cards makes it pretty clear that “the first time a creature with elusive is attacked” means “a particular creature.”  This is a very valid interpretation of the article a. For example, if you said “the first time a man is arrested he receives a lighter sentence,” not a single person anywhere in the world would say “but the first time a man was arrested was many years ago when the first person was ever arrested.  Therefore no one gets a lighter sentence anymore.”  
    This is not a rule that is causing any confusion.  This is just you being ridiculous. Edit: maybe that was a little more harsh than intended.  But the combination of the simplest most obvious interpretation being confirmed by the reminder text makes this a no brainer to me.
  25. Like
    TwitchyBait got a reaction from Brekekekiwi in Multiple Elusive Creatures   
    You are though, it was already clarified that your rules lawyering was wrong with the posting of a card with elusive. To support that’s the correct interpretation take this scenario
    You have two creatures with elusive, we’ll call them (A) and (B), your opponent attacks (A), it is “a creature with elusive” and “is being attacked for the first time”. Thus Elusive kicks in.
    Now your opponent attacks creature (B) it is “a creature with elusive” and “is being attacked for the first time”.
    While reminder text is not the rules, it can be used to clarify words used in a rule you find ambiguous. If you want to ignore it and waste some poor TO or Marshall’s time so be it, prepare to be dissapointed.
×
×
  • Create New...