Jump to content

Jymbeautuesday

Members
  • Content Count

    7
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Jymbeautuesday

  1. I agree with @Kaiju on this, @Avatar111. You do not help this thread or any others that I have read. This is not for you. You should move on to a game you like more. Move on to a community that you like more. Move on to help yourself have a better life. We will all be happier for it. As far as this thread is going, I personally think that the shikigami are just powerful enough. Shugenja should be able to do amazing things. Invoking the kami should also be able to do amazing things. And this is finally something that is starting to show a bit more strength for a shugenja that has to be at rank 2 to get. I am excited to be able to use a shikigami. Rank 1 techniques are not very impressive until your character is stronger and can keep more dice. Typically keeping an average of 2 dice, and getting lucky with exploding successes means you are only pulling off the basic invocations. You have finally spent some XP to raise a ring or two, got some skills, got more techniques, and perhaps you can finally do something amazing by rank 2. You will still most likely only have rank 2 invocations at the beginning. It will also develop stronger as your character progresses.
  2. I got an answer on this from Tim Cox at FFG: "Thank you for your question. The rings are correct as printed in Emerald Empire for both schools. The Seppun Astrologer curriculum features techniques that use a number of rings, but Air and Water are integral to the school’s core function of remaining ever-vigilant against threats to the Imperial Palace, and more broadly to members of the Imperial families and their servants."
  3. I got an answer from Tim Cox at FFG for the Seppun Astrologer, and it makes sense looking at the curriculum they have for the school. "Thank you for your question. The rings are correct as printed in Emerald Empire for both schools. The Seppun Astrologer curriculum features techniques that use a number of rings, but Air and Water are integral to the school’s core function of remaining ever-vigilant against threats to the Imperial Palace, and more broadly to members of the Imperial families and their servants."
  4. On page 235 of the Emerald Empire, the Seppun Astrologer gets Air and Water. This seems to be a misprint for the rings. Following down character creation, Imperial Family gives 1 Air and Government (appropriate), Seppun family gives Earth or Void, and then we get to Seppun Astrologer with Air and Water. This could be totally fine, except that the Invocations that they get are not Air or Water Invocations (well, actually one of the choices is), but the Invocation Bind the Shadow is a TN 3 Theology (Earth) check. How is a character with only 1 option to get Earth rings high enough and completely ignoring Void rings supposed to be able to do this? It seems off. And the Seppun Guards get both Earth and Void, which doesn't make much sense for bushi to have. Those seem like the appropriate rings for the Seppun Astrologer. I've sent a message to FFG asking about this, but have not heard back from them. There is another post that starts off asking this question, but the post sidetracks and doesn't get very far in question at hand. Shouldn't the rings for Seppun Astrologer be Earth and Void?
  5. Following and checking in for an answer on this. Did anyone get an answer from FFG on the correct Rings for the Seppun Astrologer? Earth and Void totally seem right.
  6. Thanks. It was still confusing until I read the thread about spending a Void Point to take a crit instead of defending. In that they finally break down that damage = fatigue damage but isn't actually damage but rather spent energy to block/dodge/etc. And that crits are the actual hits that actually hurt the characters. This allows for a hit when it normally wouldn't, and hopefully you can bump up the crit above a 2 to give it some lasting hurt. Thanks for taking a second to give me a bit of info to jump from beyond the book.
  7. I've been looking at the Deadly Sting Ninjutsu and have found something to be tricky for me to figure out on the spending of opportunity after you have the effects working. When spending Air Opportunity at 1+, it says that you do a critical strike with severity 2, +1 per opportunity spent after. Why would I do that if I was using a knife that has a deadliness of 4, shouldn't it start at a severity of 4 for the crit (or 6 if using 2 hands)? I've been bouncing through the crit rules and the weapons and the ninjutsu and can't seem to find a solid answer for this. Is it a misprint, and should maybe read that you get a +2 to the severity when using the Deadly Sting Ninjutsu?
×
×
  • Create New...