I have been researching since I purchased this game to definitively answer this question. Originally, I would have never considered this as a possibility but as I researched other rules questions I found second hand sources that have said the creator of the game has stated that dispel does work on items. Does anyone have a reference that can show me once and for all that dispel does or does not work on items? Otherwise, I guess dispel is powerful enough as is and I can just be happy with not allowing it to dispel items. Thanks for any clarity you all can bring to this.