Jump to content

Random Bystander

Members
  • Content Count

    190
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Random Bystander

  1. Unlimited Power - Alchemy Crafting - in Step 3: Construction second section under the Alchemical Crafting subsection - Page 80 - Column 2 ‘Instead the character may spend white pips generated on the check...’ it then reads ‘Likewise the GM may spend any black pips generated ...’ My question is this - unlike with advantage and threat you can have both white and black pips simultaneously as they don’t cancel out - is this therefore a correct interpretation of the situation in this case that crafted Alchemy items are likely to have both positive and negative traits chosen from tables 3-2 and 3-4? A follow up question must then be - are we reading crafting rules wrong in general and advantage and threat do NOT cancel during the crafting role? ——————————————— To the first part of your question, your check for Alchemy can have Light Side and Dark Side results that can be spent by you and your GM, so the final item can have both positive and negative elements. To the second part of your question, crafting rules follow the same rules as other checks do. Advantage and Threat do cancel out. Hope this helps!  Sam Gregor-Stewart RPG Department Manager  Fantasy Flight Games
  2. Unlimited Power - Alchemy Crafting - in Step 3: Construction second section under the Alchemical Crafting subsection - Page 80 - Column 2 ‘Instead the character may spend white pips generated on the check...’ it then reads ‘Likewise the GM may spend any black pips generated ...’ My question is this - unlike with advantage and threat you can have both white and black pips simultaneously as they don’t cancel out - is this therefore a correct interpretation of the situation in this case that crafted Alchemy items are likely to have both positive and negative traits chosen from tables 3-2 and 3-4? A follow up question must then be - are we reading crafting rules wrong in general and advantage and threat do NOT cancel during the crafting role? ——————————————— To the first part of your question, your check for Alchemy can have Light Side and Dark Side results that can be spent by you and your GM, so the final item can have both positive and negative elements. To the second part of your question, crafting rules follow the same rules as other checks do. Advantage and Threat do cancel out. Hope this helps! Sam Gregor-Stewart RPG Department Manager Fantasy Flight Games
  3. I’m at 2 years and waiting on a defence question... however they have changed the rules twice since I asked so it’s a bit moot...
  4. In our AoR campaign I use morality AND duty - morality to see where I fit with the force - duty in line with everyone else
  5. See above post - I finally found the list I was referring to
  6. This looks an excellent book 1 question- I notice you listed the forms - is there specifics on each one or something?
  7. After a pretty rubbish astronavigation role we came out in an aesteroid field, 1 medium transport, 1 y-wing and 1 (stolen) imperial shuttle - all 3 pilots then role dispairs.... Same group of 3 vehicles - the two none stolen ships in perfect health - the stolen shuttle has had to be emergency restarted after gross omounts of damage taken - now finally come into land - I’m co-piloting the shuttle and the 3rd best pilot we have is flying it... the other 2 crash land - we land it perfectly ?
  8. You’re pretty much doing exactly what I did. I went seer second to get to 3 FP - I also went left hand side sense for the exact reasons you said Main problem you will find is the fact you will want 2 FP always committed during combat - so you will have problems powering other powers in combat
  9. If the Jedi ‘banned’ Alchemy and Alchemy was the only way to make holocrons - I think you can follow that logic path i don’t see why Alchemy shouldn’t be a way of making them, but not the only way by definition
  10. Actually it’s whatever the GM wants it to be to be accurate ?
  11. Interesting and feels probably more accurate- the more I look at alchemy crafting the rubbisher the system feels
  12. Sounds like I was lucky then - UK and UP from Shiny was in perfect condition
  13. Not a bad way of looking at it. I do think this requires clarification- if I get time I might raise a question
  14. Also Alchemical Arts allows you to add black pips... ermmm never Under RAW even if I was a dark side user it’s light side points that make them better - even poisons
  15. So on p80 it states that you role FD equal to your current FR (fine) It further states The character does not spend the pips generated, instead the character spends the white pips on table 3-2/4 and the GM spends the black ones This seems to imply (to me) that conflict is not generated by this pip expenditure nor is a destiny flip required Furthermore the more force rating you get the more dark side pips the GM (on average) will spend against you Then you consider the Alchemist talents - these also require you to role force dice for Transmogrify - is this rolling two sets - do you spend some on TM and the rest on the roll? - something else? I don’t think this is well explained to be honest
  16. I’m running off how Absol typed it (so symbols will look different to book) but I took it to mean for every 2 pips of the colour gain 1 additional pip
  17. Any chance someone can build out and listvup the Unmatched Destiny power please and also comment on where it joins the attached tree
  18. Hmmmm Alter Mastery - do it in the cockpit of your ship, extra FP for starfighter ace!
×
×
  • Create New...