Jump to content

Fightwookies

Members
  • Content Count

    774
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Fightwookies

  1. I got this clarification from Todd on his ruling for Set for Stun a while back, and meant to post it as it changed the way that I understood OtL attack resolution. I'll post the whole convo for context, but the good stuff is in Todd's last reply. Original Rules Question: Hi Todd, I've been meaning to ask this for a while, but I had a question in regards to a recent ruling you had on Set for Stun and On the Lam. It seems inconsistent with the FAQ ruling on declaring a new target space. Set for Stun doesn't refer to a target space, and nothing in the stun condition keyword refers to a target space that I can find. Is there something that I am missing, or was that ruling based on how the card is intended to work? Either is fine, I was just confused. Thanks! Your ruling was posted in the forums here: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/282510-set-for-stun/?do=findComment&comment=3500816 The FAQ that I'm referring to is below: "During an attack, if the attacker’s line of sight to the target space changes or if the defender moves, the attacker must then re-declare a target space. If none of the defender’s spaces are eligible, the attack misses, there is no target space, and abilities that refer to a target space have no effect." Todd's first reply: My Follow up question: Thanks Todd. If I follow your logic correctly; re-declaring a target space (in the FAQ) is being used synonomously with re-declaring a target, and any effects that would affect either the target or target space would become invalid? I assume this does not prevent the attacking figures from using abilities such as Recover or Leia's Military Efficiency, or Blaise's Interrogate as those skills do not have a direct impact on the target figure? Todd's last Reply
  2. I love Imperial Assault and was saddened when it was announced that no more physical content was planned. As a skirmish player, the reasonings for that didn’t make sense. What would it take for you to make new IA product? Even some sporadic blister packs could help keep the community alive.
  3. this really does make me want to get some Jet's back out on the table
  4. beating spectre cell is always going to be a bit map dependent. On their good maps, good luck. On a map that's tougher for them, you'll want to be able to out activate them (minimum 7 acts) to guarantee that you'll be able to activate last. Han/Rangers is typically Han/eRangers/Hera/Gideon/3PO/R2D2/and a couple of alliance smugglers or upgrades to taste. Some lists might mix in sabine or mak instead of R2 and some smugglers. You want to get the last act, and be able to punish SC with some good end of round/beginning of round swings. VPT is those 3 figures, and a mixture of death troopers/officers/upgrades to get to 6 or 7 acts (7 is better imo). You want to get the last act, and be able to punish SC with some good end of round/beginning of round swings.
  5. rSTs have some advantages over rRiots. 3 figures to 2 with ranged attacks instead of melee. Regular riots aren't surviving a ton of attacks at 5 health with a block token, depending on who is attacking them. there's at least a discussion to be had at cost 5
  6. recosting goal should be to make it possible to bring units, not to decrease anything to the point that it's is an auto include. that just creates more problems, especially with generic units like storm troopers that can be spammed. if 5 is where they are worth discussing as an option, even if you go a different route, then they should probably be at 5.
  7. They answered a question at Star Wars celebration and said they had no more content planned for IA. The skirmish game cannot live without content. They have no incentive to acknowledge a community project either, so don’t expect them to.
  8. Take your time with Fett. He’s arguably the most important figure to the long term health of the community project, and everyone is going to have an opinion/not like the ideas that aren’t their own. You’ve really got to get him right, and that’s why I think FFG never attempted it.
  9. There's really two options I can see for the SC upgrade card that seem realistic. They're not going to completely change the flavor of the list. 1. They can change the move/attack piece to a once per mission or deplete. Let's be honest, the only thing that makes them busted is the extra move/attack every round. If that's once per mission, it's still strong, still worth two points. It's still capable of a big swing that can let the spectres win a game, but not OP. As good as the extra damage/defense buffs are, they're only a problem because of the extra move/attack. 2. Ban the card. This is probably the easiest route, and requires no internal playtesting or effort on FFG's part. It still works for casual games and I wouldn't say anything to a noob who brought it to a local event, so who cares. It just keeps SC out of higher level tournaments.
  10. Hey @werdnaegni ! some guys were talking on the slack channel about Rule by Fear (empire upgrade). It's a unique card, so you should only be able to bring one copy, but it looks like the list builder is allowing you to put in 4. Appreciate all the work you put into the site!
  11. They tweeted it out at 5:45 on a Friday, 2 days before tickets went on sale on Sunday. That’s the time to dump news that you don’t want to take questions about.
  12. It can't be a Star Wars game without tiny carnivorous teddy bears, right?
  13. The ruling for set for stun and OtL makes more sense now that i know this is the logic behind it. I still don't like it, but oh well.
  14. Not a question, just posting a follow up ruling from Todd on some questions I had about the set for Stun ruling. Basically, you can’t use Recover or any other surge abilities after an attack has been Lammed. “Hey Dane, Sorry for the wait, it’s been a busy few weeks here! Basically, yes. Target figures and target spaces are so related that I’ve not yet seen an example where they’re not the same. If the attack is interrupted and subsequently has no target, no further steps should be taken and it is resolved immediately. This is treated the same as if the defender was defeated as an interrupt during the attack. The attacker cannot then spend surges or resolve any later parts of the attack. Thanks for the question! Todd MichlitschGame Developer Fantasy Flight Games”
  15. Per Todd: "Hi Dane, Learn by Example becomes a complete copy the instant it is played. In this case, it assumes Force Rush’s cost of 0. There is no moment where its cost is still 1. It can be countered by Negation and Comm Disruption with no spies. Thanks for the question! Todd Michlitsch Game Developer Fantasy Flight Games"
  16. my personal preference for re-costing is a 25% cut (rounded up to nearest whole number) for everything Hoth and before, with the only exception is to exclude Greedo. It knocks a point or two off of most things while not impacting lower cost figures like Gideon/3PO/R2 That would provide a decent base to start recosting figures through testing.
  17. unfortunately, the Boltslinger ability only works during Vinto's activation. If you have an eOfficer or Palp (or Jabba/Leia in scum) order Vinto to shoot, he can't boltsling.
  18. Yoda? Yay. Give me content, any content
  19. Part of our question on that second part was if there was a window to Comms Disrupt before it became the copied card. I went ahead and submitted a formal rules question for confirmation.
  20. you play Learn by Example with Ezra, and choose a 0 cost card from the discard pile such as Force Rush. LbE obviously costs 1, but since you’re playing it as a copy of a 0 cost card, would the opponent have the opportunity to play Negation? This second question may be answered with the first, but say that you select Force Surge and the opponent wants to play Comms Disrupt. To confirm, you would only need 1 spy group? There was some discussion in my group that if it’s being played as a copy, that you might need 2.
  21. Yup. the issue isn't Maul rotating in now, it's that they seemed to hold off Lothal Wastes until they had the spire rules sorted out. And that's fine also, they needed to get that fixed. BUT, couple that with the worlds timeline moving up, and it seemed like a lot of changes quickly.
  22. That’s good enough for me, but just a quick follow-up. Is it written somewhere that if a figure or object has health it can be attacked? I don’t fully understand why Uscru Priority Message specifies that you can attack the droids (objects), and Triple Cross doesn’t make the same specification about the gangsters (neutral). Is that just inconsistencies?
×
×
  • Create New...