Jump to content

drkpnthr

Members
  • Content Count

    404
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About drkpnthr

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. I just haven't had a lot of time to keep up on the forums or even play lately, though I have still been avidly collectly and watching newsfeeds... but I had to hop on and get the forums' read on the new Wraith units for Waiqar. Based on what I'm reading for the charge rules (#16), a unit of wraiths could sit hidden behind a unit as a shield, and potentially zip through that unit to charge an enemy unit, using its special to ignore the allied but -choosing- not to ignore the enemy unit. This prevents them from colliding with an ally, which would have caused stress (16.2), and allows them to trigger the free attack etc from successfully colliding with an enemy unit during a charge (16.3). However, I have two scenarios that come to mind when I think through the strategies: 1) Screwing up the 'landing zone' size: What if your charge doesn't leave you with enough room to place the unit on the other side? If for instance you are two-trays deep, and there is only room for 1.75 trays? This means that you aren't able to place the unit obviously, but what do you do then? The answer would make sense to reverse your movement along the path until you are not in contact with the enemy unit, and place your unit so that you are behind your allied unit. But, you ignored them for movement, so you didn't collide, so are you still touching or not? Seems like we need a clarification there... 2) Flip Charging: When I first saw the Wraiths, I was hoping there would be some way to have a unit of Reanimates charge in to pin an enemy in combat, then charge the Wraiths through both units, flip with their special ability, and then count as charging when hitting their rear flank (and they seem like they were originally written for this). However, my RAW interpretation is that it wouldn't work because: you didn't collide with the enemy unit (16.3). By choosing to ignore them so you can pass through them, you are not counting as "colliding", so the free attack never triggers, and you can't lock up the bases. The only way to do this would seem to be as two rounds of movement: March through both the ally and the enemy and flip on turn one, then charge during turn two. Still a very powerful option, and it gives the enemy more chance to respond and avoids Problem #1 above from occurring as easily if you have to allow extra room for the "landing zone". What are your thoughts/strategies/suggestions? Wraith Article for reference
  2. Beautiful work, exciting use of shading. It reminds me of some of the over-the-top spaceships you would see in a 90s space adventure game. I think the spearmen would look great with this treatment, but you do face an economy of scale , as each soldier will take a great amount of time to shade... Perhaps just do full scale with the champions and heroes?/
  3. Honestly, I like the dark purple shade, but I think it has overwhelmed the model to make it appear too dark. I think you may need some more tone support with such a dark purple. Perhaps a white-purple shade on the cloth shirt and pants under the armor, make the purple pop a bit more? Then maybe a quickbrush over it to really bring out the creases on the cloth in contrast to the smoothness of the plate armor? Secondly, remember the trays in this game really are going to add a background larger than with normal mini bases, so basing the trays can add background. You could do something like desert sand or snow or a fall leaf litter that could really add a second tone to bring out the depth of the purple with your basing.
  4. That will be a very eye-catching centerpiece to your army! What are you planning for the rest of your Waiqar? Something equally colorful? Jungle juju zombie themed?
  5. Alright, so let's turn this to some fun speculation: Homebrew Team games ideas. What if a bunch of friends meet with their collection of one faction each, and then are randomly paired up. The pairs each use their chosen faction to build a 100 pt force, with a limit of one hero each, but count as a combined army that shares the army building passives. So a player with Lord Hawthorne paired with a player Ankaur Maro could use the special option (if the Ankaur player doesn't use it) to add a blighted Leonx Riders to his army, and then deploy them as a 3x1 instead of a 1x3 using Hawthorne's ability. I think this would be fun for casual tournaments. Spend the rest of the day working your way up the ladder with your combined force, shake hands at the end of the day and split the prizes. Next time get paired with someone completely different for a new challenge.
  6. @WWHSD I totally agree with you about the RAW, I think I see where I missed some keywords in what you wrote (I was reading your post too fast). For reference, what I'm looking at is the summary on page 3 of the RRG, under the 'Upgrades' heading: "Upgrade cards are equipped to units in an army. However, some upgrade cards have a unit type or faction icon, denoting that these cards can only be equipped to a unit of the matching type in an army of the matching faction." So my new understanding is: if you have a Kari army that includes Deepwood Archers, they are a Latari INFANTRY unit (unit type) in a DAQAN army (army faction). They would be able to use any upgrade card that matches the slots for their unit size that has: No restrictions, Infantry only, Daqan only, or Daqan Infantry only. For instance, if they allow a Champion figure upgrade, you could include a Greyhaven Channeler (Daqan Infantry only) in their unit. New thing to discuss: If you have an Ankaur army that includes Spearmen, they are a Daqan INFANTRY unit in a WAIQAR army. For an upgrade, this means they would be able to add a FLCL but not FLRG. If Ardus is in the army, it allows them to take the heavy upgrade at 6-tray configuration rather than at the normal 9-tray, right? His ability just says "each unit in your army" and never mentions unit type or army faction. If the Spearmen drop down to five trays, can Ankaur target them with his special ability? It says "to a Waiqar infantry unit". I think the answer would be no? They are a Daqan INFANTRY unit in a WAIQAR army still right? This is where my mind was reaching when I was trying to parse what others were saying earlier. I would think his ability does not work because the unit's original faction is different. It hasn't changed factions or unit type, just what faction army it is included in?
  7. Woops! Yes, thanks for the correction. Edited op. @WWHSD The army building sections specifies that faction restricted cards may only be on faction units in a faction army. So they imply Kari's Deepwood Archers -can't- equip Daqan-only upgrades because they are a Latari unit in a Daqan army.
  8. It specifies "unique units" and then also notes that "unique upgrades" do not count as long as they do not have the same name. So when they do release more heroes, you could potentially have all of them in a 200 pt force, but only two could be independent units. The rest would have to be included in another unit as a unique figure upgrade. This obviously would NOT allow you to have Ardus as a unique unit and also have him as an upgrade in a unit of spearmen. But you could have Ardus as an unique figure upgrade, and Ankaur and Farrenghast as independent units, all within a 200 pt force. I think the major rationale is to prevent the overlap of more than two passive army abilities outside of a larger force. This would mean that if you would dare to build a 500 pt army, you could potentially have some crazy synergies of overlap that create some really wild force arrangements.
  9. One option I have envisioned would be to use clear plastic fishing line or thread to weave a 'barbed wire' kind of coil throughout the area of effect, then use the same techniques for creating spider webs to make a fog-like look. I was thinking to use this to make kind of 'fog tendrils' swirling out of openings in a terrain piece or something. I have only tried the hairspray method for spiderwebs myself, I've had good success and it seems like it would be a little stronger. Using Hair Spray: Using Crackle Paint:
  10. Well, with Ankaur's ability hitting the streets before Kari gets any kind of Latari reinforcements, I guess its time to address the following questions: When a non-faction, non-unique unit is included, can it take any of its faction's restricted upgrades? What about unit-specific upgrades? (i think all of these are tied to faction, so the first question is more relevant) Can the non-faction unit take the army's faction restricted upgrades? In the Army Building section, it says faction specific cards may only used to upgrade faction units in their faction's army, so I think the answer to all of these is NO. This would mean that the list-building with Ankaur and Kari's passive is rather limited in scope, but not necessarily in the diversity it brings to a list. Your Kari list can take a unit of Deepwood Archers, but not add an Support Aymhelin Scion, a Verdant Sorceress, or Hunter's Guile. Kari's ability is going to be limited at first. She can basically just choose Deepwood Archers, though perhaps more will be released next year, extending her options. These will have access to any of the general upgrades, but will lack several key Latari-restricted upgrades like Hunter's Guile, so they will not be able to specialize to the extent they could in a Latari Army. I worry this is one of those abilities that it will be hard to build around, and really more supplements the army. Ankaur's ability is neat, and gives him a wide choice of units to add to a Waiqar force, until you realize that two Blight tokens will either eat up a turn of Rally, or make their first few attacks worthless. However, if you team this unit up with the War Crier upgrade, you have a way to give any unit the ability to hurl blight twice at the beginning of the battle, turning what seems like a rough selection into an asset! However, you would be limited to choosing from the following (revealed) units if you wanted to do this: Oathsworn Cavalry, Spearmen, Leonx Riders, Heavy Crossbowmen (Deepwood Archers? I haven't seen the back to this card revealed yet). Of these, I would see Oathsworn as a neat option for their mobility. Leonx Riders have their special on yellow, which doesn't allow them to do anything but through blight. I think I would rather have a March+Blight default than a Blight+Rotate option. Spearmen and Crossbowmen might struggle to hold at range 1-3 long enough to unload all of the blight. What do you all think?
  11. Why is your unit rotating when it closes in?
  12. To get those calculations, I averaged the hit probabilities of the results of each of the dice. Blue dice have four sides with one hit on them, so they generate an average of 0.5 hits. Red dice have four sides with a hit and one side with two hits, for an average of six hits for eight sides, so they have an average of 0.75 hits per roll.
  13. @Elliphino Actually, these crossbowmen CAN move and attack! They have charge on their dial, and +1 damage modifier for melee attacks. They are just limited to one blue dice for melee, so think soft charges... with pillows. With Close-Quarters Targeting, they can use their full ranged power in melee combat, making them a bit more deadly.
  14. The important question is of the tactics. Would an army like this be able to function? I think it might run into problems with the anemic attack dice in the Heavy Crossbowmen, which have a charge action and bonus damage, but worse probability of damage than Reanimate Archers in melee without the bonus.
×
×
  • Create New...