Jump to content

Juan4aigle

Members
  • Content count

    60
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Juan4aigle

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

494 profile views
  1. Juan4aigle

    Q. Focus 3 card error?

    It's just the name on the card really, no gameplay affected. Military III still does attacks and Industry III builds cities and whatnot. It's just that Nationalism should have been the name for the Military card, and Mass Production the name for the Industry card.
  2. Juan4aigle

    Q. Focus 3 card error?

    Just out of curiosity I contacted FFG about this and, after a couple of emails they said "We apologize for any disappointment that this may have caused and unfortunately we do not have any replacement cards being printed for this issue. We have changed this on the future printings of the game and I have forwarded your e-mail to the appropriate people/persons involved to start an internal discussion." I'm not sure how true this is, but I felt it was rather disappointing that they may have changed this now for reprints but won't process it as a "replacement parts" query.
  3. So... coming to Steam only? Not other platforms?
  4. Juan4aigle

    Captured City State defence value

    If you conquer a city-state you replace it with one of your cities, I'd say then the normal rules that apply to any of your cities will affect this one (so no 8 defence value).
  5. Juan4aigle

    Q. Focus 3 card error?

    I think you are right! Does FFG have like an official errata section anywhere? Couldn't find anything.
  6. Juan4aigle

    Nuclear Power Focus card

    I'd say your lawyer is wrong. The card has two steps: first, a condition that you may meet or not (if in the 5th slot, then X happens). Then, whether that step and its requirements were met or not, advance your tech dial a number of spaces equal to this slot's number. If you could only use the card in the last slot, it wouldn't say "equal to this slot's number", it would simply say 5 spaces. Also I'm sure the card would be more specific as in "use only on the 5th slot".
  7. Juan4aigle

    Range and Combat

    You know what, as I typed it I was wondering about it. I had a look in the manual and I couldn't find it, just like you said, but I have the feeling I have read somewhere that range cannot be calculated bending corners and so on. Maybe I imagined it, or I thought it just made sense :S In any case, I wonder if anyone has seen anything about it as well or I'm just crazy (or shall I say insane condition).
  8. Juan4aigle

    Range and Combat

    No dumb questions here (maybe dumb answers from me though). Close combat weapons like blunt and bladed are used in the same space, ranged weapons and ranged spells (the gun symbol), can be used up to 3 spaces in line of sight if I remember correctly. It's described always as "within range" so same space counts too, as it's within range. No shooting bending corners or through doors and walls, unless a specific effect allows it.
  9. Juan4aigle

    Overall Variety in MoM

    The only thing missing is an option to choose a map at the start of a scenario
  10. Juan4aigle

    Barbarians in capital city?

    Yeah we had the same issue and we simply did as above, the Barbarians wouldn't enter the space and remain instead where they were. Next time they move hopefully they'd go somewhere else, or at least it gives the player a chance to defeat them.
  11. Juan4aigle

    Overall Variety in MoM

    It's likely one of the best board games I have ever played. If you play the same scenario twice in a row, fine, it can get repetitive and the surprise factor goes away a bit. However the base game comes with four fantastic scenarios, two of them with map variations. There are two scenarios as DLC for the app too, with different maps, and there are two major expansions (without counting the tiles collections and their scenarios) that also include 5 scenarios in total between them. Given their duration and variations, not once have I found the game unsurprising or interesting. Look, simply put, it's a really good game that appeals to the vast majority of players, give it a try and forget for a minute about the expansions. If you don't like it for some reason, I doubt you'd struggle to resell it to someone else given its popularity.
  12. I barely scratched the surface with this game and I already want an expansion! Definitely more cards, although new mechanics sound nice (but seriously, more cards!).
  13. Juan4aigle

    Expansion

    I believe the first expansion won't have any tiles in my opinion, and I think it will contain new items, new generic encounters and maybe specific ones, one or two new characters, and a new scenario reusing the tiles in the base game. Like Hedgehobbit mentioned, something in line with the first expansion for Eldritch Horror (which padded all decks in the base game). Alternatively they could go all out and have a first expansion with new tiles and a bit of everything else, but I think in the long run the game will get more small expansions than big ones.
  14. Maybe I should start a new topic, but I wanted to ask about other's experience with the agenda cards. I played two survivors a couple of times, and it seemed pretty hard to rack up 10 influence points to win, while the factions advanced rather quickly. You can of course ignore missions about the main factions but eventually they will advance anyways every time you run out of agenda cards. It's just, I look at the agenda cards and with a maximum of four, sometimes it feels hard to actually get 4 influence points with some of the requirements. Anyone had a better experience? Finding it easy to win or at least to beat the factions from reaching the end of the track? Any advice? Thanks in advance
  15. Juan4aigle

    Encounter and inactive enemy question

    From the Rules Reference: "Enemy tokens that are facedown are inactive. If an enemy token is inactive, survivors cannot look at the face of the token, fight the enemy, or target the enemy with any abilities that target an enemy. An inactive enemy is flipped faceup and becomes active when its enemy type activates." So it's by all means not there, the token just a reminder that at the end of the turn it may activate and attack you if you are around.
×