Jump to content

django042

Members
  • Content Count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    django042 got a reaction from Jobu in Brother Xavier and Survival Knife   
    Be aware the knife only triggers on damage, not horror. So if the enemy deals only horror, it won't trigger.
    The knife only triggers during the enemy phase, but when playing in a group you can use your last action to engange an enemy engaged with an ally and kill it with the knife. Or two of them for 4 damage in total.
    Edit: Regarding action efficiency, i'm wondering is the knife really a good idea? Effectively it grants a free combat action each turn, at the cost of the enemies damage (which can be mitigated by some soaks, costing action(s) to play). However the issue is, in order to make that work i must spend at least 1 action to engage an enemy before my turn ends. If i drew an enemy druing mythos phase, i must either skip my turn to avoid OAs or someone else needs to take the target(s) of me before my turn. So i've lost at least 1-2 actions, which would've killed most 2-4 HP enemies...
  2. Like
    django042 got a reaction from Raahk in Brother Xavier and Survival Knife   
    Be aware the knife only triggers on damage, not horror. So if the enemy deals only horror, it won't trigger.
    The knife only triggers during the enemy phase, but when playing in a group you can use your last action to engange an enemy engaged with an ally and kill it with the knife. Or two of them for 4 damage in total.
    Edit: Regarding action efficiency, i'm wondering is the knife really a good idea? Effectively it grants a free combat action each turn, at the cost of the enemies damage (which can be mitigated by some soaks, costing action(s) to play). However the issue is, in order to make that work i must spend at least 1 action to engage an enemy before my turn ends. If i drew an enemy druing mythos phase, i must either skip my turn to avoid OAs or someone else needs to take the target(s) of me before my turn. So i've lost at least 1-2 actions, which would've killed most 2-4 HP enemies...
  3. Like
    django042 got a reaction from Khudzlin in RttNotZ Preview   
    I hope they'll add an option to burn the witch, instead of your own house. After all, she's already got the fire with her...
  4. Like
    django042 got a reaction from Raahk in Rule Question: Perception   
    About perecption: You're allowed to have 2 copies of each card in your deck. When using perception (and all other similar skill cards), you can still commit any number of cards to your test, but only one card named "perception". This restirction applies to other players as well, only 1 copy of "perception" can be commited to a single skill test.
    You should the the rules reference about "Skill Tests" and "Skill test Timing", that may convey the general idea of skill tests to you.
  5. Like
    django042 got a reaction from unitled in Can "permanent" cards be shuffled into your deck?   
    I've played role playing games before as well as MTG, so i know a bit about "rules as written" (RAI) and "rules as intended" (RAW).
    Which approach you take should depends on your goal. When playing RGPs, you usually want to immerse yourself in the world and have fun, so a fluent game experience should be prefered. So rules discussions should be reduced to a minimum, even temporary rules are OK, to keep the flow.
    In contrast, for competative games you should stick as close to the rules as possible to keep it fair for everyone (or help the developer, if the rules aren't). This way you also avoid being banned from official matches, if they don't share your "point of view" on some rules.
    For coop games it's a bit of both, especially as arkham LCG is advertised as an LCG with RPG elements. This is where the grim rules comes in, if you're unsure about rules, just use the variant that's not in favor of the players.
    Thanks guys for all your replies, my questions have been answered.
  6. Like
    django042 got a reaction from tsuma534 in Can "permanent" cards be shuffled into your deck?   
    That does not prevent the Card from being shuffled into the deck or does it?
  7. Like
    django042 got a reaction from tsuma534 in Can "permanent" cards be shuffled into your deck?   
    The mythos card Pushed into the Beyond from dunwich shuffles an asset into the owners deck and then discards 3 cards from the deck.
    1. Are permanent cards legal targets for this card? I couldn't find any rule that would prohibit this.
    2. If the permanent card is among the 3 cards drawn from this encounter card, what happens? The rules state, that permanent cards cannot be discarded, so it would be put back on top of the deck or be shuffled in again?
    3. If the permanent card stays in the deck and is drawn by the player, can he play it with an action (ressource cost of 0)?
×
×
  • Create New...