Jump to content

HansZiegler

Members
  • Content Count

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by HansZiegler

  1. As a note Duciris, I think you missed Calvin in the LCG on your list.
  2. Not really. The exact wording of Key of Ys is: Forced - When any amount of horror would be placed on you: Place 1 of that horror on Key of Ys. The rules reference says the first stop of assigning damage is: "Determine the amount of damage and/or horror being dealt. Place damage and/or horror tokens equal to the amount of damage and horror being dealt next to the cards that will be taking the damage/horror." Note the phrase "next to" not "on" the card. Compare with the rules for applying damage: "Any assigned damage/horror that has not been prevented is now placed on each card to which it has been assigned, simultaneously. If no damage/horror is applied in this step, no damage/horror has been successfully dealt." Note the use of the phrase "is now placed on each card". I think most people tend to misplay the Key of Ys ability and move the horror in the Assignment step. It is actually as it is placed on the investigator card during the Applying step. In any case, since Perseverance must be played during the Assign step and it can cancel more than two points of damage/horror (for the case of simultaneous defeat by damage and horror), it seems pretty clear that damage applied is treated as one lump sum that either would defeat you or would not.
  3. Semantic quibble? Replace my instances of applied with assigned. The logic still applies. You assign damage/horror and the total would either defeat you or not. The total damage "would defeat you" and is subjext to cancellation by Perseverance or the total would not, so you would not be able to play Perseverance.
  4. This also provides a somewhat interesting situation: Say you have 2 Sanity remaining (ie. 2 horror will defeat you) and a Cherished Keepsake with no horror out. You take a 3 horror attack. Normally, you could push the horror on to the Keepsake, discard it, then take one horror and survive. Now, with Perseverance, you could instead assign all the horror to yourself, then play Perseverance, negating the 3 horror and preserving the Keepsake (for tiwo resources).
  5. I think you may be misunderstanding the damage assignment rules. Damage is applied all at once, so in your example if you are at 4 health and take four damage, all four of those points of damage are "going to defeat you". Playing Perseverance in this instance will prevent all four of that damage. Damage is not applied point by point when coming from one source, so there is not point at which there is a difference between "damage that would defeat you" and normal damage. From one source either all damage will defeat you, or none of it will. The rules would work as you describe if you took 4 points of individual damage (such as by taking four attacks from an enemy that does one damage). In that case, Perseverance would only block the last point of damage.
  6. Well, if the context for your salary negotiation is as a test in the Arkham Horror LCG, then go ahead... ? Regarding the Chaos Bag though, I would argue that the entire point of the change was to allow Duke to work. "Your Intellect cannot be modified." precludes changing the base value. "Your Intellect cannot be increased." does not, as described in the rest of this thread. Though, I think you are correct, as the timing rules for Skill Tests lump the chaos token modifier in with committed cards and other bonuses.
  7. It's only the defenition if you are comparing two numbers. Your not changing something to a higher number, your *setting* the number to something else, regardless of what that other number was. Increasing values are given on cards in the format "+X", which seems to indicate the meaning of "increasing" in the context of the game. If Duke worked the same way, I would expect him to say something like: "Increase or Decrease your Intellect value so that it is four." Also, I would argue that tokens pulled from the bag are modifying the test result, not your intellect value. However, I concede I might be wrong on that, though it doesn't seem very Rules as Intended.
  8. No, you are not missing a step. You should remove that token from your bag. When you start the campaign with Extracurricular Activities, there is no way to draw that token. However, consider that it is possible to play Extracurricular Activities as the second scenario... draw your own conclusions from there.
  9. It's probably worth noting that 1A always has a "bad" outcome if played first, even if you succeed at (one of) the primary objective(s).
  10. In this case, the cost would be using the action to investigate, so you would assign the damage, then make the test.
  11. I mean, I understand it offends some people's sensibilities, but the quickest solution is to sleeve up your character deck,print some proxies (at whatever quality you want), and play. If the experience is enjoyable, keep playing. If the proxies are off putting, it's a great place to jump in with "maybe we can pool for another box". Use the extra encounter cards as backing for fan created scenarios.
  12. 1. Several actions do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The basic actions that do not are: Fight, Evade, Parley, Resign. Therefore, no option in your list is correct. However, if you Fight and fail against an enemy with Retaliate they will do damage. 2. An investigator that wants to evade multiple enemies will need to succeed at an Evade check against each. As per the previous question, this does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
  13. I would argue that if all players have 1 search card (or 0, or any other equal number) that the instruction can't be parsed and you would skip to the next instruction. No one has the "most" cards so, like many other actions, it should be ignored. Other actions in the game are treated literally, so why not this one.
  14. I would argue that if all players have 1 search card (or 0, or any other equal number) that the instruction can't be parsed and you would skip to the next instruction. No one has the "most" cards so, like many other actions, it should be ignored. Other actions in the game are treated literally, so why not this one.
  15. Yes, but getting Lita during scenario 1 has no bearing keeping her for the rest of the campaign. Even if you parlay with her, if you don't burn down your house, no one gets to put her in their deck.
  16. I have to agree with Teamjimby. The box is perhaps the least necessary part of the game, so if they need to scrimp there to maintain price, I'm happy with it.
  17. Hey all, In something I've been working up to over the last few months, I've put together a custom case using some off the shelf pieces and my own work, for the LCG. The intent is to make thematic, artistic, and (hopefully) functional cases to hold my favorite games. These things include a sedative tin (for horror), a bandage box (for stamina), and (my personal favorite) a set of false books to hold the encounter decks for each scenario. I'm really proud of it so far and I welcome any comments or suggeations. You can see it here: https://imgur.com/gallery/7a2Ga Thanks for reading!
×
×
  • Create New...