Jump to content

ShoutingMan

Members
  • Content Count

    229
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from racknut in Dual ISDs vs Small Ships   
    I'm wondering if trading out 63 pts of squads for another MC30c or 53 pts for a second Hammerhead could have made the difference. That's a fifth activation. And even with first-player activation you could place them last tactically to then work to separate an ISD from the herd and get three or four MC30 arcs on its sides and rear shields to take it out in a couple of turns. Your bombers killed the Raider in one turn, IIRC. That leaves a Hammerhead and Corvette to hassle the other ISD...or even throw them full on at a single ISD to get it down.
     
    One ISD with no fleet support by Round 4? That's a scary proposition. In this, I've probably taken out a few small ships. And it might come down to whether the final ISD topples and/or the Objective points.
  2. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from Flengin in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    I've been struggling to understand Criticals. I think I get it now, thanks to Drasnighta's explanation. So in the case of Assault a Proton Torpedoes...
    http://starwars-armada.wikia.com/wiki/Assault_Proton_Torpedoes
     
    Say the attacker rolled a single black die and gets a Hit/Crit face up. I then apply any defense tokens or abilities. 
     
    If after defense the die has not been canceled or re-rolled the Crit is still showing entering the damage step, immediately I'm given a face up card. (And if he is flying General Dodonna, he chooses the top card of the deck from the first four cards.) Then, damage is applied point by point. If that ship side had no shields, and Redirects are not used, then two more face down cards are dealt in addition to the Crit's face up card. Three damage cards are dealt in total, for a die with two hits on the face?
     
    If instead, I'd used a Brace to reduce damage to 1 from the rolled 2, then Crit still takes effect and the face up card is given. And then point by point, the one point of damage goes into my hull (assuming zero shields and no redirects) and I get two cards total, one face up?
     
    Finally, if I'd had a Scatter token, that is used before Critical effects are applied. The Hit/Crit is nullified and I'd take no face up card and no other damage?
     
    This means: Standard critical doesn't affect total number of damage dealt. APT, like, ACM, does increase total damage dealt. But APT goes straight to the hull regardless of shields so long as the Crit stands after Defense?
  3. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to JauntyChapeau in Dual ISDs vs Small Ships   
    Nice photos.  My primary opponent and I played much the same game last week, with me as the crushed Rebel player.  He was running a two-activation fleet with a bunch of TIEs, and it was very effective.  Christmas tree ISDs can be very difficult for a MSU to stand against - even his side-arcs were messing up my CR90s pretty badly.
    One thing I do know: when looking at overlaps, only the bases matter.  If ship models overlap, my advise is to remove one of the models and continue play until the situation resolves itself.
  4. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to racknut in Dual ISDs vs Small Ships   
    So here's my fleet that I played against @ShoutingMan. It seemed like a good idea, but I just could not stay close enough to really make use of the black dice and, as @JauntyChapeau said, even the side arcs were too dangerous to stay close to.  :-(
    Faction: Rebel Alliance
    Points: 389/400  
    Commander: General Dodonna
    Assault Objective: Most Wanted
    Defense Objective: Hyperspace Assault
    Navigation Objective: Superior Positions
    [ flagship ] CR90 Corvette B (39 points)
    -  General Dodonna  ( 20  points) 
    -  Dodonnas Pride  ( 6  points) 
    -  Major Derlin  ( 7  points) 
    -  Medical Team  ( 1  points) 
    -  High-Capacity Ion Turbines  ( 8  points) 
    = 81 total ship cost
    MC30c Torpedo Frigate (63 points)
    -  Admonition  ( 8  points) 
    -  Walex Blissex  ( 5  points) 
    -  Ordnance Experts  ( 4  points) 
    -  Advanced Projectors  ( 6  points) 
    -  Assault Proton Torpedoes  ( 5  points) 
    = 91 total ship cost
    Hammerhead Torpedo Corvette (36 points)
    -  Garel's Honor  ( 4  points) 
    -  Lando Calrissian  ( 4  points) 
    -  Ordnance Experts  ( 4  points) 
    -  Assault Proton Torpedoes  ( 5  points) 
    = 53 total ship cost
    GR-75 Medium Transports (18 points)
    -  Bright Hope  ( 2  points) 
    -  Adar Tallon  ( 10  points) 
    -  Boosted Comms  ( 4  points) 
    -  Bomber Command Center  ( 8  points) 
    = 42 total ship cost
    4 A-Wing Squadrons ( 44 points) 
    2 HWK-290s ( 24 points) 
    1 Rogue Squadron ( 14 points) 
    1 Luke Skywalker ( 20 points) 
    1 Keyan Farlander ( 20 points) 
  5. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Drasnighta in Some Clarifications, please?   
    1)  Everyone you move to, and become engaged with, takes 1 pt of Damage...  Think of it as him crashing in.


    2) Correct.  Intel gives everyone in range of the Intel "Heavy".  There are other ways you can move (Admiral Chiraneau, for example), but they are spelled out distinctly.

    3) If the Squadrons are obstructed from each other, they are not engaged.  Mauler will not trigger, for example...  They may shoot at each other, if they are within distance 1...  But they are not required to, as they are not engaged, and if they are the only ones about, they may move off freely.
    EDIT TO ADD (Thanks GK):   If they do attack, then its -1 die, as per standard with obstructions.
     
    4) Correct.   It must be done in that order, too...  Ram - Take Damage from Ram - Land on Station, Heal damage.
     
    5) Not really.
     
    6) It is a Separate effect.  Roll your Dice.  See Result Decide to reroll with Swarm.  See Result.  Reroll with Blount.   (Or vice versa)
     
    7) No, they are applied directly to the hull, as if it had no shields.
     
    8) Yes.  Counter is an Attack, thus everything that effects "Attacks" will take place on a Counter.
     
    9) Correct.  Hull Zones are only the Cardboard, and unless you are touching cardboard on both ends, on one 'edge' of the ruler, you are out of range.

    10) Without DCO, you only cancel the Default, with a Contain... .   With a DCO, You cancel all possible critical effects...   The jury will be out on how Fire Control Team reacts with this.  I am of the mind to say "you cannot resolve any, not even additional ones", due to the DCO card saying "ANY" Critical Effects.  One Contain, Multiple Critical Effects Stopped.
  6. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    Step 4: Spend defense tokens. Step 5.1: Resolve critical effects. Step 5.2: Determine damage. Step 5.3: Deal damage. In that order. Always.
    Yes, plenty of missed opportunities and "futile" choices possible.
  7. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Grumbleduke in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    A while back I tried to put together a flow-chart for attacks, but there was just too much stuff going on to fit in much about how crits, damage and damage cards work. Armada has a lot of rules.
    Defense tokens are declared and spent before crits are resolved - which is important for crits that affect defense tokens.
    Yes. Or even in an attack where the attacker chooses not to resolve a crit at all, despite rolling one (the circumstances are pretty rare, but it can happen - I think I've had it happen once when against a ship with Medical Team).
    This one is quite important as sometimes a crit effect can take out shields. Similarly the damage done by a crit (if it deals damage) is done before the regular damage is applied. A defender might find they've spent a Redirect Defense Token only for a crit (e.g. APT giving a Shield Failure or Projector Misaligned, or ACM) to knock out the shields they were planning to redirect to.
    Further thought: If you are defending with the Devastator title you may even want to spend Defense Tokens knowing they will have no effect on the attack, because you want to burn them.
  8. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    I know, it's a bit unfortunate. "Damage" is measured in points. Once applied, each point can cause the loss of one shield or the dealing of one "damage card". But a "damage card" is not "damage", it's one of the possible consequences of suffering it. In your example, your attack dealt 2 damage, and as an extra effect it dealt 1 faceup damage card. With ACM, your attack would have dealt 2 damage to the target zone and 1 to each adjacent zone, for a total of 4 damage (some of which may have transformed into cards).
    A causes B, but B is not A.
  9. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    For now I take the clarification as is. When I was time I read the language in the email from FFG, their logic didn't seem to fit the logic otherwise applied to Criticals and to Damage. Your emphasis on the "first" card dealt might be the nuance I was missing. I'll have to revisit that matter later.
  10. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    The APT+FCT ruling can be confusing. The thing to remember is that the default crit specifies that the first damage card dealt in the attack is faceup. And the APT card is dealt before resolving damage, so it's always going to be the first.
  11. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    Thanks!
     
    It's a case where we think we know the rules, and are now trying play faster and without constant reference to rules, but are now playing more complex fleets with more interactions, and start getting confused again. Plus I'd been reading discussion about rules, particularly with APT and Fire Control Center, which only confused me further.
     
    But I'm again seeing the logic and philosophy of how Criticals fit the attack sequence.
  12. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    Yeah, I was reading some of that discussion and it was getting me confused on the application of the effects during gameplay. 
    I understood Assault Concussion Missles. They apply two damage to adjacent hulls. Easy. For some reason, when criticals started dealing cards, and supplementary effects allow my opponent to look at my damage deck and select the card I'm getting face up. And then there's the critical effect that says to cancel all dice and just apply a Face Up card...it stop making sense to me. I think I'm back on track now.
  13. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    To further clarify: damage is damage, cards are cards. ACM deals the former, APT deals the latter.
    Damage can become cards under the right circumstances (i.e. no shields), but they are not the same thing.
  14. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DiabloAzul in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    Yes. You'll likely struggle a lot less if you simply follow the Attack procedure from the RRG one step at a time:
    ATTACK
    To perform an attack with a squadron or ship, resolve the following steps:
    1 . Declare Target: The attacker declares the defender and the attacking hull zone, if any. If the defender is a ship, the attacker declares the defending hull zone. Measure line of sight to the defender to ensure the attack is possible and to determine if it is obstructed.
    [...]
    2 . Roll Attack Dice: Gather attack dice to form the attack pool and roll those dice. Gather only the dice that are appropriate for the range of the attack as indicated by the icons on the range ruler.
    [...]
    3 . Resolve Attack Effects: The attacker can resolve attack effects as described below:
    [...]
    4 . Spend Defense Tokens: The defender can spend one or more of its defense tokens.
    5 . Resolve Damage: The attacker can resolve one of its critical effects. Then the attacker determines the total damage amount. Then the defending squadron or hull zone suffers that total damage, one point at a time.
    [...]
    ◊◊ If the attacker and defender are ships, the damage is the sum of all Hit and Critical icons.
    ◊◊ Each ship has the following standard critical effect: “Critical icon: If the defender is dealt at least one damage card by this attack, deal the first damage card faceup.”
     
    Let's do that for your example.
    Declare Target: Your enemy's ship. Roll Attack Dice: 1 black die, say you get a blank. Resolve Attack Effects: You use Vader or OE to get a reroll, which changes the result to Hit+Crit. Spend Defense Tokens: Your opponent chooses which token(s) to spend: Scatter: discard all attack dice immediately; the attack is now over. Evade: reroll or discard one die immediately depending on rangel; if no dice remain, the attack is now over. Brace: later on, damage will be halved. Redirect: later on, damage will be spread to an adjacent hull zone. Contain: the standard critical effect cannot be resolved during this attack. Resolve Damage: Resolve a critical effect: If you had at least one Crit icon, choose one available effect now. If you choose APT, deal a faceup damage card immediately. If you choose the standard critical effect, the first card dealt later will be faceup instead of facedown (unless a Contain token was spent). Either way, continue resolving. Determine total damage: The sum of all Hit and Crit icons, i.e. 2 in this example. If a Brace token was spent, halve it (to 1). Deal damage one point at a time: The defending hull zone (or an adjacent hull zone) loses 2 (or 1) shields. If it does not have shields left, excess damage is dealt as facedown damage card(s); if you chose the default critical effect (and Contain was not spent) the first of these is faceup instead. So, if you roll a Hit+Crit with APT, and the defender uses a Brace and a Redirect, he will suffer:
    A faceup damage card, and then 1 point of damage, either to the defending zone or an adjacent zone.
  15. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to slasher956 in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    step by step walk through is found here.... I have a couple of printed copys of the first post ... one for me & one for my opponent
    https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/181567-do-you-have-questions-about-attacking-defense-tokens-and-critical-hits-read-this-first/
  16. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to DWRR in Do you have questions about attacking, defense tokens and critical hits? READ THIS FIRST   
    When do I use critical effects?
    How do defense tokens interact with attacks and other card effects...?
    Why do my black dice always roll blanks?
    Who is Tycho Celchu (and how is that pronounced)?

    Critical hits and defense tokens can seem odd and confusing. However once you understand them they are as simple as pie...

    If you have any questions try to work it out by first follow the steps below one after the other, do not assume and do not read what isn't on the cards. As you follow the steps of the attack you should find everything makes some kind of sense...

    The most important thing to bear in mind - This is not X-Wing.
     
    Forget everything you know about the X-Wing rules!

    If the enemy ship's hull zone that you are targeting is within your ships's Fire Arc and within Range and within LOS you may attack.
      Declare Target Roll Attack Dice (in this order): Attacker gathers certain dice to create his dice pool: The battery armament dice printed on your ship card. Dice granted by any upgrade cards that specifically increase your "battery armaments". Upgrade cards that add dice to your attack without specifically saying they change your "battery armament" are not rolled here, but rolled during the modify dice step later on. Roll Attack Dice Resolve Attack Effects (in this order): Modify Dice: Dice can be Added, Re-Rolled, Changed, and Spent in any order. Any upgrade cards that Add dice to an attack do so during this step Dice Added during this step are not restricted by range unless specified by the effect. Spent dice are removed from your dice pool. Dice can be Re-Rolled multiple times by different effects. Spend Accuracy Icons Spend Defense Tokens The Evade token takes effect here. Brace and Contain must be declared at this point, even though their effects do not resolve until later in the sequence. Redirect must be declared during this step and you must choose which hull zone potential damage will be redirected too. The rest of the effect resolves later in the attack sequence like Brace and Contain. Only 1 of each type of token may be spent during each attack. Each defense token can only be spent once during an attack. Spent tokens are flipped to their exhausted side, or discarded if already exhausted. Any effect that exhausts an already exhausted defense token will have no effect on that token. Resolve Damage (in this order): You may resolve a critical effect if at least 1 critical hit symbol is showing in your dice pool. Resolve the effect in full before continuing. Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified. Because critical effects resolve at this point any damage caused by a critical effect cannot be moved or changed by a defense token effect unless directly specified by an effect. Some critical effects might have delayed resolution, like the default critical effect, but they must all be declared at this stage, no matter when they will take effect. No matter how many critical hit symbols you have in your dice pool you can only resolve one critical effect per attack. Work out the total damage of the attack Add up the # of hit and critical symbols in your dice pool. That is your damage. A point of damage from a hit icon and a point of damage from a critical hit icon are the same thing at this point. Which dice the damage points came from no longer matters as any critical effect has already been resolved. Brace token takes effect here, but only if spent in step 4.​ Apply the total damage one point at a time. Redirect token takes effect here but only if spent in step 4. Remove shields first then start dealing damage cards. If the attack generated a critical effect and the attacker resolved the standard critical effect available to all ships (flipping the first damage card dealt) during step A then it takes effect here. Remember you are just dealing with damage points now, you no longer care about the symbols in your dice pool. Declare Additional Squadron Target And if you are still confused and love a video tutorial here is a video aid by Lyraeus!
     
  17. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Drasnighta in Critical Hits/Effects Question   
    Yes and No.
     
    There are multiple critical effects...  Technically, all critical effects can be resolved when there is at least one (colour appropriate) critical symbol showing at the appropriate time.
    Its just that some of those Critical effects won't do anything unless you're also dealing Damage Cards...
     
    To Explain:
     
    You Roll all of your Dice.  The enemy uses their brace/redirect, etc (but no contain, for the purposes of this test).
    So we take the ISD above, and you've thrown CRIT, HIT, HIT, HIT/CRIT on it.
    At the start of the "Damage" sub-phase, you get to resolve a Critical Effect.
    The default Critical effect is, "The First Damage card dealt this attack is dealt face up."
     - THIS HAPPENS.
    Take that Critical Effect, know that its happening, and then move on.
     
    NOW you count up how much damage you have done...  You do this by counting HIT and CRIT symbols...  This gives you a Number.
    This number is halved due to brace, if applicable.
    THEN, you deal it as "damage",. one point at a time......
    IF it is dealt to shields, that removes a shield.
    IF it is dealt to Hull, then it deals a Damage card......   But wait, IF you have the Default Critical Effect in play, the *FIRST* time this happens, its face up....
    ...  If you hit nothing but shields, the CRITICAL EFFECT HAS BEEN ACTIVATED - but you never get to actually use it.
     
    This is important, when you deal with "NON-DEFAULT" Critical effects.
     
    Take the above roll, say you have Assault Proton Torpedoes.
    You elect to use their Critical effect:  "Black Crit: Deal a Face Up Damage Card."
     
     - You roll your Dice, they use their defense tokens, and now...  You get to the first bit of the Damage step.
     
    You have a Black Crit showing, so you say, "Deal a Face Up Damage card."
    BOOM.
    That happens, Shields or Not.  We havn't counted any damage yet, we havn't resolved a Brace, or a Redirect...  The Critical effect says DEAL A FACE UP DAMAGE CARD, so deal that card.
     
    NOW, you count the damage you have showing.  Halve it due to brace if appropriate.
    THEN you deal it out, one point at a time.
    But any damage to shields reduces a shield, and any damage to hull is face down, because you have already resolved your critical effect...  The Default one doesn't stand.
     
    FOR THE SECOND QUESTION
    Yes, a Face Up Damage card, is for all intents and purposes, a Damage Card.  A Ship is destroyed when it has a number of Damage Cards equal to or exceeding its Hull Value...  Up or Down doesn't matter.
  18. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Drasnighta in Measure Issue.   
    No it is not.
     
    Squadrons are measured to and from their base.
    Only hull zones use Cardboard - and Squadrons do not have Hull Zones    Although a squadron attacking a Ship, will measure from its plastic base, to the target ships Hull Zone
  19. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from Flengin in 1L Armada in NoVA - 20170421 Game   
    I'll jump ahead to Round 5...
    Knowing I'd lost the game on points by Round 4, I decided to take a chance in flying my ISD to cut the corner and stay on board. I was correct about the front. I forgot to consider the rear before moving. Missed it by <this> much! And the ISD was off the table, securing my defeat.

     
    This allowed my opponent to camp on the Objective Tokens for another round and spam some points. I was too far out to get anything to the third Token to reduce the relative difference.
  20. Like
    ShoutingMan got a reaction from Flengin in 1L Armada in NoVA - 20170421 Game   
    Played a new fleet against my friend who played an iteration of a fleet he flew last time. Our fleets are pictured here, with mine detailed following. I'll msg my opponent and see if he can share his fleet. (Sorry if the photos make you dizzy )

    http://armadawarlords.hivelabs.solutions/view_list.php?token=96909&key=888880e07427eeaad07b6a0354bf2343
    Navigate / Slow Them Down - 20170421 
    Author: ShoutingMan
    Faction: Galactic Empire
    Points: 399/400  
    Commander: Admiral Ozzel
    Assault Objective: Advanced Gunnery
    Defense Objective: Fire Lanes
    Navigation Objective: Intel Sweep
     
    Gozanti-class Cruisers (23 points)
    -  Expanded Hangar Bay  ( 5  points) 
    = 28 total ship cost
     
    Raider-I Class Corvette (44 points)
    -  Impetuous  ( 4  points) 
    -  Agent Kallus  ( 3  points) 
    -  Ordnance Experts  ( 4  points) 
    = 55 total ship cost
     
    [ flagship ] Imperial II-Class Star Destroyer (120 points)
    -  Admiral Ozzel  ( 20  points) 
    -  Avenger  ( 5  points) 
    -  Defense Liaison  ( 3  points) 
    -  Phylon Q7 Tractor Beams  ( 6  points) 
    -  Electronic Countermeasures  ( 7  points) 
    -  NK-7 Ion Cannons  ( 10  points) 
    = 171 total ship cost
     
    Gladiator II-Class Star Destroyer (62 points)
    -  Demolisher  ( 10  points) 
    -  Navigation Officer  ( 6  points) 
    -  Engine Techs  ( 8  points) 
    -  Assault Concussion Missiles  ( 7  points) 
    = 93 total ship cost
     
    3 TIE Fighter Squadrons ( 24 points) 
    1 "Howlrunner" ( 16 points) 
    1 TIE Advanced Squadron ( 12 points) 
     
  21. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to racknut in 1L Armada in NoVA - 20170421 Game   
    Here's the fleet he was playing against. I basically spammed Nav dials the whole game on all my ships.
     
    Faction: Rebel Alliance 
    Points: 391/400 
    Commander: General Madine
    Assault Objective: Most Wanted 
    Defense Objective: Fire Lanes 
    Navigation Objective: Intel Sweep

    [ flagship ] MC80 Star Cruiser (96 points)
    -  General Madine  ( 30  points) 
    -  Mon Karren  ( 8  points) 
    -  Intel Officer  ( 7  points) 
    -  Gunnery Team  ( 7  points) 
    -  Engine Techs  ( 8  points) 
    -  Spinal Armament  ( 9  points) 
    -  SW 7 Ion Batteries  ( 5  points) 
    = 170 total ship cost

    MC30c Torpedo Frigate (63 points)
    -  Admonition  ( 8  points) 
    -  Raymus Antilles  ( 7  points) 
    -  Ordnance Experts  ( 4  points) 
    -  Advanced Projectors  ( 6  points) 
    -  Assault Proton Torpedoes  ( 5  points) 
    = 93 total ship cost

    CR90 Corvette B (39 points)
    -  Dodonnas Pride  ( 6  points) 
    -  High-Capacity Ion Turbines  ( 8  points) 
    = 53 total ship cost

    1 Jan Ors ( 19 points) 
    1 HWK-290 ( 12 points) 
    2 A-Wing Squadrons ( 22 points) 
    1 Corran Horn ( 22 points) 
     
  22. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Norell in How do engine techs work exactly?   
    It's the key of the Rieekan CR90B swarm.
  23. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Tokra in How do engine techs work exactly?   
    Yes, you can.
    Its perfect fine to double ram with this.
  24. Like
  25. Like
    ShoutingMan reacted to Ardaedhel in 1L Armada in NoVA - 20170421 Game   
    I haven't gotten all the way through it yet, but FYI, you can post the images to imgur.com and then embed them here just by copy-pasting the link.
×
×
  • Create New...