Jump to content

yodaman1971

Members
  • Content Count

    36
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About yodaman1971

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

335 profile views
  1. No. If you only have neutral characters on your team, you must only use neutral cards unless a character you use (like Qi'Ra) lets you break those rules. This is actually specified on p. 12 of the newest rules guide in "2. Build a Deck. " The second bullet point says the following and the pertinent part I've put in bold. "If a team has hero characters, its deck cannot contain villain cards. If a team has villain characters, its deck cannot contain hero cards. If a team has all neutral characters, its deck cannot contain hero or villain cards. Neutral cards can be included in any deck." \
  2. And there's the flaw in the logic. The rule you are referring to says: "If a team has ALL neutral characters, its deck cannot contain hero or villain cards". The OP situation says the team is a red hero character and a yellow neutral character, so this rule doesn't factor into deckbuilding restrictions because your team isn't just ALL neutral characters .
  3. I usually don't reply on these boards unless I see incorrect math or incorrect logic and then I feel obligated because of my background in mathematics to jump in and clear things up. This is one of those cases. I suggested your group specifically reference the parts of the rules that justify your belief that you couldn't include a yellow hero card if your team consists of a red hero character and neutral character. Your response didn't cite anything specific on page 12 and just said you could see both sides of the coin, but didn't provide any specifics. If your group really thinks you can't do what everyone, including me, has been saying you're allowed to do (include yellow hero cards in a deck with a red hero character and a yellow neutral character), then you should be able to specify the sections of the rules that explicitly forbids it. Your group hasn't cited anything specific yet and there's a reason for that - nothing exists in the rules to logically justify the exclusion of yellow hero cards in a deck with a red hero character and a yellow neutral character. Saying that you can't include the yellow hero cards in a deck with a red hero character and yellow neutral character simply because there isn't some explicit statement in the rules allowing it is a flawed logical argument, because of the following 2 things: 1. There isn't anything explicitly in the rules that forbids you from using yellow hero cards in a deck with a red hero character and a yellow neutral character. 2. Applying formal logic to the rules about deckbuilding as written leads to the conclusion and implication that you can include yellow hero cards in a deck with a red hero character and a yellow neutral character. It's important to remember there is a difference between implication and intent. Implication means it follows logically from the rules as written and that's what's happening here. It's not that FFG wrote the rules poorly and leave it up to people to guess at their intent. It's a logical implication.
  4. If you truly think that the rules prevent the inclusion of yellow hero cards in the case of your team being a red hero and yellow neutral character, you should be able to back that up in the rules and, the way they are written, you cannot do that. Saying nothing specifically allows it is a flawed argument because it's ignoring the logical implications of the rules. After teaching for many, many years I've learned that sometimes things need to be phrased differently for people in order to get them to understand what's going on in a situation or problem. So I ask your group to honestly (rather than making assumptions that don't exist) look at it this way instead. Instead of asking "why can I do something?", when looking at the question you asked, try asking "why can't I do something?" So in this case, you need to ask "what in the rules prevents the inclusion of a yellow hero card if your team is a red hero character and a yellow neutral character?" The answer, as I outlined above (and I have a Ph.D. in math and have been a math professor for 20 years), is clear when looking at the rules. Absolutely nothing prevents you from including a yellow hero card if your team has a red hero character and a yellow neutral character. With all due respect, and I don't mean for this to come off rude because that's definitely not my intent, people make flaws when applying rules of logic all the time and your group is unfortunately doing that.
  5. I'm a math professor IRL. When using standard logic, an "if, then" statement is only False when the "if" part is TRUE and the "then" part is False. In other words, those are the only cases where you cannot do something when deckbuilding are when you would try to build a deck that satisfies the "if' part of one of the "if, then" statements and doesn't satisfy the "then" part of the statement. The deckbuilding guidelines for "side" (hero/neutral/villain) and color (blue/red/yellow/grey) do not overlap anywhere in terms of restrictions so you can't make any statements that impose additional restrictions combining side and color. Here are the relevant entries for this example where you build a team with a Red Hero Character and a Yellow Neutral using the RRG, p. 12 on building a deck.' In regards to using hero, neutral and villain cards, there is no reference to color so that doesn't apply here. All that matters is your team has a hero character and a villain character. "If a teams has hero characters, its deck cannot include villain cards." Your team has a hero character, therefore the "if" part is true and you have to also follow the "then" part. This gives you a restriction is you cannot use villain cards, this means you CAN use any non-villain card, which at this point means hero or neutral. "If a team has villain characters, its deck cannot include hero cards". Your team has no villain characters. Since the "if part" of this statement is false, there are no other restrictions you have to follow. "If a team has only neutral characters, its deck cannot contain hero cards or villain cards." Your team has a hero character. Since the "if" part of this statement is false, there are no other restrictions you have to follow. "Neutral cards can be included in any deck" This is actually redundant based on the first three statements, but it's there and since you are playing you can include neutral cards. So putting these three statements together in regards to hero, neutral and villain cards - a deck containing a hero character and neutral character, can use hero and neutral cards. Color doesn't come into play with this restriction. Now go to color deckbuilding restrictions. Notice they don't mention hero, villain or neutral at all so you can't add that aspect as a restriction. "Blue, red and yellow cards can only be included in the deck if the team includes a character of the matching color" Your team has red and yellow characters, therefore you can include red or yellow cards. "Grey cards can be included in any deck." You are playing so you can include grey cards. So putting these together you are entitled to use red, yellow or grey cards. "side" doesn't come into play with this restriction. So the basic question you asked was if you have a red hero character and yellow neutral character, can you use yellow hero cards? The answer is YES because it meets the criteria I outlined above. By the "side" restriction you are allowed to use hero and villain cards with no other restrictions. By the "color" restriction you are allowed to use red, yellow and grey cards with no other restrictions A Yellow hero card meets both of these conditions because you are allowed to use hero cards and yellow cards. I
  6. That was definitely a mistake on my end. Meant to say LCG, didn't realize I just typed "game".
  7. That was an error on my end. Sorry about that. I didn't realize I said game rather than specify LCG when I typed that. They said it was their 2nd largest selling LCG at that time.
  8. In all seriousness, and I do hope this doesn't come off as confrontational, because that's not my intent, why do you think FFG would claim the Star Wars LCG was their 2nd biggest selling game at one point if it weren't true? What reason would they have to do that?
  9. As I actually posted in response to someone stating something similar earlier in this thread, that second sentence really isn't true. At one point a year or two into the game, FFG said the Star Wars LCG was their 2nd biggest selling game during one of their "state of" presentations that was covered by Team Covenant. To say it didn't sell well from the start is not true based on FFG's own public statement. That being said, it was clear interest and sales had dropped off recently. Destiny probably didn't help, but in my opinion, people have short attention spans and start gravitating towards new games after awhile. Close to 6 years still isn't that bad of a run overall.
  10. Sorry, I have to jump in here. I have a Ph.D. in math and have been a math professor for nearly 20 years. That last sentence is not true. 0 is actually an even integer. Even and odd are terms used to describe integers in this case (you can also use even and odd to describe other mathematical objects but that's not relevant here) . In layman's terms integers are + or - whole numbers. Essentially it's numbers in the set { ... -3, -2, -1, 0, 1, 2, 3,.. } Even integers are defined to be integers that can be written in the form 2*k where k is an integer. So for example: 6 is even since 6 = 2*3 and 3 is an integer. -4 is even since -4 =2 * (-2) and 2 is integer , most importantly in this discussion, 0 is even since 0=2*0 and 0 is itself an integer. Odd integers are integers that can be written in the form 2*k+1 (remember with orders of operations multiplication is done before addition) where k is an integer. So for example, 7 is odd because 7=2*(3)+1 and 3 is an integer -3 is odd because -3 =2*(-2)+1 and -2 is an integer. Just to be clear since I've seen it come up in other places, for all these cards that have odd numbered theme (Witch Magick, Mother Talzin, etc..) , you can't trigger them with 0. You can only trigger them when you have things that cost 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, etc.. (although right now I think that list stops at 5 unless I'm forgetting a really expensive card).
  11. I actually think this makes sense for Con Artist because if you have two copies of it on a character, it's possible they have different amounts of damage on them. In that case, you could argue that they are not actually the same card anymore so you need to distinguish the dies since the specials would do two different things. Contrast that to having say 2 Holdout Blasters on something where each die side definitely behaves the same. Basically, I think the rule is saying that if there is a way the two cards with the same title actually have different dice values (like in the Con Artist case), you have to distinguish the dice.
  12. I'm with you. I understand the rule, but I'm not sure I like it.
  13. Thanks. Completely missed that when I tried to quickly search for stuff during the game I was playing on TTS. Based on the clarification for Let the Wookiee Win, that was how we played it when the situation arose. Always good to know we played it right.
  14. Tried to do a search but haven't come across an answer to this one. Just came up in a game I played earlier this evening. Krayt Dragon Howl - "Spot a Blue character to choose an opponent's die. That opponent chooses to either remove that die or discard the top 2 cards of their deck." Does this work like Let the Wookiee Win? In other words, can you choose the discard option even if you 0 cards or 1 card in your deck and leave the die in the pool or are you forced to remove the die if you have less than 2 cards in your deck?
×
×
  • Create New...