Jump to content

NewKevlar

Members
  • Content count

    33
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About NewKevlar

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

190 profile views
  1. NewKevlar

    Unrelenting and Reach

    Surge on a Trident, gain 2 move points, can they be used before the Unrelenting strike?
  2. Unrelenting - Exhaust this card after resolving an attack with a Melee weapon with 1 hand icon. Perform an attack that targets one of the same monsters with a different Melee weapon with 1 hand icon. CCRG - The monster targeted with Unrelenting must have been a target of the attack used to trigger Unrelenting. When the initial attack is from 2 spaces away with a 1 hand weapon with reach, is it allowable to hit the same monster with a different weapon that doesn't have reach for the Unrelenting strike? I am assuming no, otherwise the wording could be manipulated to say the range on the second strike is irrelevant altogether since it doesn't indicate positioning at all. Or are skirmishers so unrelenting that they can hit anywhere with this ability? I am just thinking if there are cards that allow monsters to move after a strike resolves that might come into play also. Dunno if those exist.
  3. Thank you for talking through this and finding that response from Nathan. This cleared my questions up perfectly.
  4. Correct me if I am wrong, but this doesn't seem like a situation of an infinite loop, nor an effect triggering another effect, at least not like the Word of Misery example in the CRRG. The carddraw cards themselves (Bloodlust and Unholy Ritual) already got nerfed so you can only keep 2, presumably to limit this kind of thing from happening, among other potential imbalances. He may have had a little luck, and with a little more luck, he would have gotten all 15 cards in his hand. Especially if he had 12 Kobolds on the board. It is really only broken with Kobolds, maybe Reanimates is unbalanced slightly, but the point is, it seems like he found some strong synergy between Kobolds and Unholy Ritual on that particular quest. It wasn't unbeatable at first, we just didn't make the connection until it was too late. As for the other rules... The CRRG says, "Two Overlord cards with the same name cannot be played on the same target in response to the same triggering condition." (bold is in original text) I thought of this rule when it first happened, and this was the specific line we referenced. Since there is no target, we all felt there was nothing in this ruling to disallow playing two Unholy Rituals. If there is another ruling somewhere else, perhaps that would clarify things. If there is some stretch where you could say the Kobolds were all being targeted, then there doesn't seem to be anything prohibiting using Unholy Ritual on a second monster group at the start of the turn. That not being the issue at hand, I don't know that it is going to help clarify this specific question. If this rule applies to cards that do not target a figure, then this rule is worded very poorly in my opinion.
  5. Unholy Ritual Play this card at the start of you turn. Choose one of your monster groups and draw Overlord cards equal to the number of figures from that group on the map. Choose and keep 2 cards and discard the rest. Each monster in that group performs 1 less action during this turn. Played The Overlord Revealed recently, one of the monster groups was Kobolds. OL had 8 on the map before their portal closed and they were more or less out of the way down the red corridor. He had 2 Unholy Rituals in his hand and 2 other cards, which led to the following Unholy Combo. He was at the end of his deck, played UR, which brought about shuffling the deck of 11 cards. Looked at 8. Kept 2. Discarded 6. 5 left, played UR again on Kobolds. Drew 8 after shuffling the discard, grabbed another UR as one of his 2 choices. Player UR on Kobolds again, didn't get a UR that time, so the combo stopped. (He did it again the next 2 turns, similar to that, playing 3 UR on Kobolds each time). Can you play UR twice (or more) on the same monster group, since they aren't being targeted? Can you play it even when there are no more actions to lose for that group? When drawing, you just keep perpetually shuffling so you can draw enough, right? I.e. 4 cards in draw stack, 4 in discard, just draw them all? This seemed legitimate, we just simply weren't in a position to mess with Kobolds and help reduce his card draw. It was a sick strategy and quickly turned the quest around and kept all the heroes perpetually dead.
  6. Right, thank you for clarifying, and I should have remembered that. >.<
  7. I don't think that ruling implied you could use a fortune token to reroll a fortune token. The specific card that brought about my knowledge of that ruling was in reference to playing 2 befuddled (incorrectly). A lucky charm, then a befuddle, then fortune, then another players fortune, then another player's and so on, for sure, but two of the same response to the same trigger by the same player seems to be what was suggested as rule breaking. Still uncertain about 2 fortune though.
  8. That brings up a question (in my weird brain). I was recently reminded that you cannot play the same card twice off the same trigger, however, what about fortune tokens? If you reroll an X, can you reroll again, assuming you had 2 tokens? I would guess yes, but it is that kind of one-way thinking that gets me confused on target and affected stuff i.e. stun propogates on sweep, conditions propogate on surges on blast, and I assume fire breath, cry of havoc etc, however, shield of zoreks favor doesnt? Defend, protect? Seems like the defensive side of things is TOO consistent, and never says affected, so it ends up not getting rulings in favor because it is too clear. Not an easy question, and probably the most difficult/confusing topic in Descent, afaik. Not trying to rant, I hope to help with the clarity by asking questions that expose one more dusty corner of the room.
  9. I see. Thanks for the response. I was thinking more along the lines of the crowd control of a Blizzard (WoW) mage "sheeping" somebody. I tend to have that problem until things are explained.
  10. I didn't see anything in the CRRG about this card. Play this card after a hero searches. That hero tests . If he passes, draw 1 Overlord card. If he fails, he becomes a monkey until the end of his next turn. Take 1 of his hero tokens as a reminder. Monkeys cannot roll defense dice (except to test an attribute), have a Speed of 5, and cannot attack for any reason. I recently bought this and have yet to use it. I intend to use it on Trenloe and Logan. I am wondering if their hero abilities are still usable. I assume both of their heroic feats are nullified by the last phrase. Basically it seems to come down to whether the text on the card is indicating what the hero can do, or what he can't do. "becomes a monkey" seems quite unique, but if there is anything to which to compare it, I am very interested. REALLY it boils down to... can I finally immobilize Logan!? Oh man, I just want to see the look on my buddy's face...
  11. I read the CRRG and that combined with your explanation of UP clarified everything. I was not aware of the 2 cards of the same name same target same trigger ruling, or I let it slip my mind as I do vaguely recall knowing that in the past. Thank you both for your help. I always enjoy your rule clarifications to tie up some of the loose ends dangling around upstairs.
  12. OL for Shadow Rune is using Basic II, and we are needing some clarification on the surge dynamic for both Shadow and Uncontrolled Power, because when used together, the wording is messy enough that we can't reason through what might be intended. Uncontrolled Power let's the OL choose how surges are spent, after an attribute fail, Shadow requires adjacent character to spend a surge to attack. The wording we are confused about is what Shadow requires the surge to be spent on. 1. The way we are playing is the hero needs an extra surge that is then lost when attacking a Shadow Dragon, i.e. 1 surge rolled means no surge spent and the attack is not a miss. 2 surges rolled, 1 allows the attack to continue, one can be used as normal. 2. The wording on Shadow just says attacker must spend a surge or the attack is a miss, so does the hero get to still spend all his surges on abilities? 3. The issue with Uncontrolled Power is the OL is cancelling attacks to Shadow Dragons because he is choosing to spend surges on 1 fatigue from the card, then any various other surges, but NOT the surge that lets the attack hit. 4. If the attack is a miss, he can't make the hero spend a surge to suffer a fatigue, right? I am sure that is right, but definitely didn't think about that last night while we were playing. Anything I am missing here? The worst one was when Tahlia (me) spent Heroic Feat (attack activating monster) and Dual Strike, then suffer fatigue to make yellow a red die (skirmirsher), so I am down 3 fatigue already on a big attack, then he Uncontolled Power, I passed, and two befuddles later it all got cancelled. Truly left me befuddled by power that is, I think, even more uncontrolled than intended.
  13. Another question along these lines: I know if a rumor quest is skipped, the OL claims the reward. At the end of Acts 1 and 2, when the 2 available quests that were not played are no longer in play are are an assumed OL victory, does the OL immediately reap the rewards? This is to the tune of a couple XP or Relics in Act 1 and potentially 4 XP or a couple relics in Act 2. Is that a thing? Is that a thing in other campaigns, or does this only factor in to rumor quests?
  14. I read it a few times and did catch some wording I had missed, and more importantly, noticed more clearly what was never there. So, to clarify, perhaps for anyone like myself who played Heirs of Blood first, TSR appears to allow any kind of order for Act 1 and 2 quests. I.e. all 5 quests are available to choose at any time in Act 1, and 5 quests contingent on Act 1 victories, or the quest being skipped (OL is assumed to win), are also available in Act 2, in any order. I haven't read through the flavor text to see if this has some kind of impact on storyline ... Am I getting this all correctly?
  15. I can't find anything about this on the forums or the books I have, so I have either overlooked something or am missing some physical content, not sure. I understand there must be only 3 of the 5 act 1 and 2 quests played each, but is there any rule to the order? 1. Can we play a fat goblin, castle daerion and the cardinals plight then move to interlude? 2. Can we play fat goblin, masquerade ball, and death on the wing, then move to interlude? 3. Can the order be mixed up, i.e. death on the wing, cardinals plight, then a fat goblin? Rumors may or may not be interspersed at random, of course... Any other insight is welcome!
×