Jump to content

hyveedoughboy

Members
  • Content count

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About hyveedoughboy

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday
  1. This odd situation came up in our campaign last week. Rebels attack a Probe Droid (5 Health) and put 6 damage onto the Probe Droid. Probe droid takes 5 Damage (rules state that any excess damage is ignored) and is about to be defeated. Imperial player uses Final Blast The Rebel that the Probe Droid attacks is holding a Quickdraw Holster: Here is where the questions begin: Assuming the Rebel's attack results in damage, is the Probe Droid defeated before it gets to resolve it's Final Blast attack? In the game, it was ruled that this would not kill the probe droid because the droid cannot "suffer damage in excess of it's health", (basically making the Probe Droid invincible until his Final Blast completes). The logic was that the droid is not suffering any extra damage, that there are no rules which trigger a check to compare the Damage vs Health of the Probe Droid and therefore the Droid is not defeated until after Final Blast. The other part(s) of the argument are: a) Is the droid still "suffering damage" even though no more tokens are placed on it? And therefore, during the Quickdraw Holster attack, the Probe Droid would die due to suffering damage equal to it's health. b) Is the check for Damage = Health a constant check, and therefore the probe droid would die during the Quickdraw Holster attack? If that is the case, what would happen if the Quickdraw Holster attack did ZERO damage? Would the Probe Droid still die during the Quickdraw Holster attack? c) If there were a hypothetical card out there that otherwise caused the Probe Droid to be defeated during the Quickdraw Holster attack, would the Probe Droid still survive until it was able to carry out it's Final Blast attack, since Final Blast prevents the Probe Droid from being defeated until it it completes it's Final Blast attack? Can you help us out?
  2. I received a response from FFG about this one. According to FFG, Power to Shields only affects the single attack, and does not affect the 'nested' 2nd attack. Full text below: ------ Hi Tom, Interesting question! In this case, the “during this attack” continuous effect from Power to the Shields is interpreted not to be a timing window, but an effect that applies “for this attack.” If Power to the Shields negates Pierce on Verena’s initial attack, she can still use Pierce on the subsequent (interrupting) attack from Close Quarters. Despite the second attack interrupting the performance of the first, they should not be considered nested with regards to “during this attack” effects. Hope that helps clear things up! Todd Michlitsch Game Developer Fantasy Flight Games tmichlitsch@fantasyflightgames.com
  3. I just got the following response from Paul Winchester from FFG: Interesting that "mortar resolves all at once". I suppose that means that it applies all of the damage simultaneously, and then perhaps the Imperial Player then picks the order in which order the damage gets resolved in (choosing who dies first, second, etc)?
  4. I'll try to say this without spoiling anything: We're in a mission where the mission instructs us to "set aside X tokens" of a particular type. Some things case those tokens to be discarded, but none of those events have triggered. All X of those tokens are assigned to the rebels. Later, a card allows the rebels to claim one of those tokens. Do the Rebels get to claim another token (so that they will have X+1 tokens)? Or are they limited to the X that were set aside in the mission rules? I know the RRG p8 indicates: " Tokens are not limited. If players run out of a token type, they should use a suitable replacement, such as a coin." However, were weren't sure if this particular instance is special because the mission only told us to set aside a certain number of this particular token, or if it's just like any other type of token.
  5. Thanks a1bert for the info! You always have great explanations and it's much appreciated! I completely agree that "Create Opening" is an action and the Verena get's the first action during #4 of the attack phases. However, the part that is odd to me is the wording on Reactive Armor. It is not worded the same as the Nexu. On the Nexu, it adds a block for each [evade] result. However, the wording on Reactive Armor is: "if you *roll* and [evade] result on a black die, apply +2 [block] to the defense result". That seems to imply that the +2 [block] applies immediately after the roll during step #2 of the attack, and that this specifically does not need to wait until step #4. Perhaps I'm just reading the card too literally?
  6. The Imperial Class deck "Armored Onslaught" contains the card "Reactive Armor". It has this text: Verena's "Create Opening" has this text: So, assume Verena attacks an adjacent unit and that unit has the Reactive Armor. The Imperial player rolls an [Evade] result. Verena decides to use "Create Opening" to apply -1 [Evade]. Does the Imperial Player still receive the +2 Block? From the Rules Reference, there are 2 entries for timing-specific conflicts: Conflicts: Timing: The question though is that is if Verena uses Create Opening to remove the [Evade], does that mean that the Imperial Player no longer gets the +2 Block since there is no longer an Evade? Or does the +2 Block get applied immediately (and permanently) upon the roll (or immediately in step #4 in "steps of an attack" since it's not worded as an 'action' that you need to trigger). It really comes down to asking *when* the Reactive Armor is checked & when it applies it's effect. It's also worth noting that the text on Reactive Armor is slightly different then the Nexu. The Nexu reads: I'm not sure if that is significant or not. The Nexu doesn't mention the 'roll', it only references the 'result'. Do these cards work the same?
  7. We ran into an interesting question with Verena's Close Quarters vs "Power To Shields" Power to Shields: Verena's Close Quarters: Assume Verena attacks an adjacent trooper. The Imperial player chooses to use Power to Shields and chooses "Pierce" to have no effect. During this attack Verena defeats the trooper. Now, Verena interrupts to use Close Quarters to attack a Trandoshan. According to the rules, even though the trooper is defeated, the first attack has not resolved yet (things like Cleave, etc don't trigger until after the Close Quarters finishes). Per the rules reference on Interrupt: So here's the question: During the 2nd attack, does "Pierce" work or not? There seems to be 2 ways to look at this: 1) The first attack is still going on, but is merely paused. From this perspective, the attacks are 'nested' inside eachother. We are still 'during' the first attack because it has not resolved, and thus the anti-pierce is still in effect. 2) The first attack is completely set aside and treated as if it doesn't even exist for the duration of the 2nd attack. From this perspective, the attacks are not 'nested'. Rather, they are side-by-side and thus the 2nd attack is not 'during' the first attack, and therefore the anti-pierce is no longer in effect. I can honestly see both ways, and I think different games play these things out differently. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  8. Assume I'm using "Mortar" from Armored Onslaught in the Hoth expansion: Let's say I have this setup, where each number is a square on the board: [ 1 ] | [ 2 ] [ 3 ] | [ 4 ] The door door runs vertically between 1&2 and 3&4. Assume a mortar is thrown onto space #3 and there is a characters on space #4. If the mortar does *not* blow up the door, it seems pretty clear that the mortar will not affect anything on space #4 because the door blocks adjacency. However, if the mortar does destroy the door, does that mortar now deal damage to everything on spaces #2 and #4? Or is to 'too late' since those spaces wouldn't be targeting initially? I see a ruling for 'blast': https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/201851-blast-targeting-doors/ That indicates that the blast *does* affect things other side of the door if the door is destroyed, but I was curious if that same reasoning works for the mortar. I ask because the timing on 'blast' indicates it always happens after damage is dealt, whereas mortar seems to happen to all tiles simultaneously. Thanks in advance!
×