Jump to content

dompoulin

Members
  • Content Count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. You are definitely correct about Tokyo dialect; sometimes a "u" (particularly for verbs at the end of a sentence) is barely pronounced, if at all. That being said, in textbook Japanese the whole symbol (3 letters Romanized) would be pronounced "tsu" with the u. It would not be intended to sound like "sue," but to an English speaing person's ear, it could; however, there would be a short "t" sound before the "s" Edit: Just to be clear, I am no expert of the Japanese language, and my skills are very rusty, but this is my understanding. I would be happy to hear a clarification if I'm not entirely correct.
  2. Based on my reading of the rules, taking into account what the likely intent of the rules were, and all the responses here, I think that this is the correct interpretation. P1 and P2 fire at each other and any 3rd+ player not involved in the conflict can only shoot at the active player. That seems most consistent and fair. It also offers up lots of opportunities for P3 to be bribed by P1 or P2 to fire or not to fire.
  3. I know this is the learn to play and not the official rules, but this makes it sound like Player 1 in my scenario cannot use PDS II for space cannon offence because P1 is the active player...unless he was shooting at himself. This doesn't seem to align with how most people are reading how PDS II works during this step.
  4. Thank you for saying this. I think this was part of my question that I originally meant to convey in addition to what I asked. I am aware that this would not work that way in 3rd edition, but I did not find the 4ed rule book entry on SC offence to be clear on this distinction.
  5. Hey everyone, My group and I were new to TI when we picked it up at Gencon and have completely loved it so far. We had a situation come up over the game we did this last weekend and wanted to make sure we ruled it correctly. Please keep in mind that we all 3 players had PDS II at this point. During the pace cannon offence step: What if there is a 3rd person not involved in the upcoming conflict that has PDS II one adjacent space away and he wants to shoot into the activated system. Player 1 has activated the system and moved ships in (has PDS II in an adjacent system so he can participate in SC offence.) Player 2 currently possesses the activated system that is being attacked and has PDS and thus they will participate in SC offence. Player 3 is not involved in the upcoming conflict, but has PDS II in a different adjacent system. The order of players shooting makes sense and is laid out in the rulebook, but does player 3 get to choose who is taking the hits? Does he declare who is taking the hits before or after he rolls? Can he split them or assign them all to a single player?
  6. Did you have to do anything differently? Mine still says 'unavailable'
  7. Same issue. Has anyone heard of anyone being able to resolve this?
  8. I think the way I understand the issue at hand is that the RtL rules say something along the lines of "If an activation would not change the board or affect something meaningful, then skip it." In a situation, like this one that I brought up, where a monster cannot move any more forward / closer to any hero from an engage activation, then it would be skipped. However, the example in your quote is different because even if the monster cannot get in a position to attack with that activation, the engage activation still creates meaningful change on the board. At least that's how I understand the rules now
  9. Hey everyone. My first post. I'm relatively new, but have really dived in and has bought about half of all the Descent products. I've been reading a ton on this forum to make sure my friend and I are playing correctly, but I have a couple of quesstions. Group Limit: I was playing the Naga side quest with 2 heroes, which started with all three Nagas as it ignored group limits. The monster limit for 2 heroes is 1 Master Naga. We had killed all the starting Nagas on the board except 1 minion. At the end of the turn it told us to spawn 1 Naga. In this case, it did not say ignoring group limits, so I wasn't sure if I should still spawn the Master as normal as there was already one on the board. We were kicking ass thanks to really good rolling so I spawned it anyway. Did we play this right? My logic is that there was not 1 master on the board so the limit of "only 1 master limit" for two heroes had not yet been reached regardless of the minion Monster movement / Monsters moving twice: Are monster movement points saved if they are not fully used during an engage/spot so that if the monster engage/spots again, it uses the extra movement it did not from the first time? Example: We have discovered how useful a Geomancer can be at using a summoned stone as a distraction behind us to make monsters that spawn from behind take much longer to catch up with us as we continue to move forward. In this case, we had created a bottle neck for two large monsters. The hallway was 2 spaces wide. The first large monster moved and engaged with the summoned stone and missed, so it still stood unharmed and completely blocked the passage. The 2nd monster did not have enough movement points to continue to move beyond the first monster and stone so that it could enlarge to attack the stone. Just not enough room for it. It went first next turn and with one engage it still did not have enough space to be able to expand. So, it then cycled around the activation list to engage again, but of course it could not with its movement. I believe its speed was 3. So, should it have been able to have 6 movement points on the 2nd engage since it did not use any on the first? Thanks for the help!
×
×
  • Create New...