Jump to content

jaqenZann

Members
  • Content Count

    73
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by jaqenZann

  1. 4. Wouldn't taking the test and drawing a token have the possibility of changing the game state because of token effects?
  2. Skills aren't ever "played" and put into play, as the rule says. The important thing to note is that committing to a test is different from playing them. You commit them directly from your hand to a skill test, and they get discarded when the test finishes. So they have to stay in your hand until you use them during a test. Also, a note on 3. - You can commit multiple cards to a skill test you are taking, but you can only commit one to a test a different player is taking. Hope that's clear.
  3. Alice will be in The Wages of Sin, the second Mythos pack for The Circle Undone.
  4. I think flashlight would work normally. As you say, it is not affecting your skill value, it's actually changing the target value of the test.
  5. Oops, I missed responses, no need to repeat...
  6. Wow, I'm having trouble today. Please ignore me.
  7. The way I would interpret the rules is that you only shuffle the exploration deck if you've drawn and set aside a location that didn't meet the criteria for putting it into play. Then you shuffle those cards into the deck. If you just draw a single location and can put it into play, or just draw a treachery, you don't shuffle.
  8. Just barely scraping by is my favorite way to do pretty well. So tense! That was certainly how my first Dunwich campaign went (on Standard). We succeeded, but I think I finished two scenarios with 1 card in my deck and Beyond the Veil on me, among other close calls.
  9. The rules, as far as they exist for this, just say carry over each investigator's deck, trauma, and experience. I don't think the chaos bag carries over. The tokens are in the bag are such an integral part of how each campaign plays, I don't think you would ever want to play a campaign with the tokens from a different campaign. I've heard people say bumping up the difficulty of the bag is a good idea, though, since the decks are powered up, even with some trauma. EDIT: This is actually covered in the FAQ now: "The chaos bag is reset. This includes all additional chaos tokens that were added to the chaos bag throughout the original campaign."
  10. I think the difference is that the keyword makes the sealing cost. Since the Codex's Seal keyword is a cost, if it can't be paid, the card can't be played. The Serpents sealing is just an effect. The card can come into play, but the effect fizzles. EDIT: Somehow I skipped many messages, this is already resolved... oops.
  11. From the articles, it seems to involve Yig, who appears in "The Curse of Yig". The preview articles have been quoting from "The Nameless City", so that's probably a good one to read too. Any other Yig stories people know of?
  12. Trauma doesn't prevent Rise to the Occasion. His base is still 0/0/0/0, even if it's being modified by the trauma. I can imagine Amnesia being just awful for him. Maybe not Stubborn Detective bad, but still pretty bad. The times I got destroyed were because of no Fire Axe. When he had it, he was unstoppable. I definitely needed to be able to deal more damage. Waylay would have been great, I will have to think about that next time.
  13. The official FAQ says "Another investigator cannot control another investigator's signature cards" (under Definitions and Terms, Signature Cards). So you can't pass them with Teamwork.
  14. Yeah, you need a decent amount of both damage and horror soak. My deck only had 1 of each, but also included 2 Pete Sylvesters and 2 Madame Labranche who are also good for that sort of thing. I think he's become one of my favorites in a very short time. I did however find out what happens if you can't find your fire axe or fight or flight, and it wasn't good.
  15. I've tried him solo through Carcosa on Standard. He did very well on the first 3 scenarios, including interviewing 3 and killing 4 in Last King. He did not however make it out of the asylum, thanks to some really terrible luck that most investigators would have struggled with. I've read that someone else did better than I did and finished Carcosa. Folks have said the ideal spot to have him is 4/4/4/4, and that's probably true, makes him strong, but still with some room if things go worse than expected. Before he gets there, he has all of the fail effects. He's a little strange in that the cards he really wants change a lot from early in the scenario to late. He's very different to play and build for, and things can go very wrong, but I think he's been pretty good, and man is he fun to play.
  16. Only the mini-investigator cards got spoiled, so we know who they are, but not any stats or anything. For Soakman and anyone else interested, spoiler tags: [ spoiler ]Text[ /spoiler ] (without the spaces)
  17. 1. No, things that take two actions still only cause 1 attack of opportunity. 2. Less sure here, someone may be able to correct me, but I think you would gain the discount no matter what role you are in. It's just the next card you play of whatever your role is. So for example, if your role was seeker, you wouldn't get the discount for a neutral card. 3. I'm not totally sure I get the question. I assume you are talking about the effect on the act card. In general, each location is considered to have a separate instance of this effect. So the one that causes you to make a test when you enter or end your turn would work like this: You move, entering one location with horror and have to make the test. You then move, entering another location with horror, and you have to make the test again, because it is a different location. If you end your turn there, you do not have to make another test, because you already made one when you moved in (this is where the "limit once per round" comes in). I hope I'm being clear and that this answers the question.
  18. You discard all clues controlled by everybody, no matter where they are.
  19. Yes, Ballroom and Living Room don't care whether it was successful or not.
  20. This seems pretty likely to me. I'm just going off the fact that the dimensions look very similar to the 500ct boxes I'm using to store each campaign. All of Dunwich fits, completely sleeved, in one box with enough space left over to fit roughly 3 player decks, which I would think would be enough space for any redux cards. I'm really hoping they continue this for the other cycles, I really like this idea (and the boxes!).
  21. I think there's just a bit of a misreading. When the agenda says "Spawn the set-aside Umordhoth there", "set-aside" is just telling you where to find the card (in the ones you have set aside previously). It's not telling you to do anything special with him now. He still comes into play and spawns normally at the Ritual Site and follows all normal rules.
  22. I've seen Sefina decks get a ridiculous amount of resources, maybe Dario could be decent there, as the Will boost can help with any spells she decides to use? Requires XP, and as everyone says, he's not Leo. And I haven't actually played her myself, but it seemed like an interesting thought.
  23. Ah, yeah, to make what I was trying to say clearer: I've known people to allow swapping out 1 or 2 level 0 cards with level 0 cards from the new pack only. This is only for level 0 cards, and only to allow cards from the newest pack to be added. I don't do this, but I have absolutely no problem with this, if someone in my group wanted to do this, I'd allow it.
  24. You can do it either way. I can't wait to try the new scenarios, so I buy each pack as it comes out and play through the scenario with the deck that I built when I only had the deluxe. This does mean that if I want to use any of the new level 0 cards, I have to spend XP to do so. So you're right, this means I usually don't end up using the new level 0 cards in that pack. There are several ways around that, though. As you say, you could just wait until the whole cycle is released, and get it all and build decks using all the cards. There are certainly people that do this. I also tend to have multiple campaigns going at once, so the ones that I start later on will allow me to use all of the new cards as well. And I know some people just really don't like this, but want to play the scenarios right away, and have implemented some house rules allowing them to make changes to their deck, adding new cards without requiring XP. I think the basic idea is to get each pack as it comes out and immediately play through the scenario, but you're right, there are some issues with that. So ultimately it's up to personal preference. I can't wait, and I know I'll be playing more scenarios later with all the cards, so it doesn't bother me too much.
×
×
  • Create New...