Jump to content

Boromore

Members
  • Content Count

    62
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Boromore

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

372 profile views
  1. Boromore

    Another hideous timing question

    This cropped up again for me in Black Riders now I have begun the LOTR Campaign in Nightmare mode (hmm), so I checked with FFG. And GrandSpleen was spot on about sorting it all out when the attack action window opens. For reference, the response I received (albeit to a less complicated scenario) was: "Response effects must be triggered at the first opportunity. Those opportunities are the action windows highlighted in our online rules reference. There are still some cases that are sort of niche, like the one you describe. In the event that an enemy has a Forced effect that causes it to attack after it engages you, the first opportunity to trigger a Response will come while resolving the attack. When an enemy makes an attack outside of the combat phase, it still follows all the steps of enemy attacks, and there are action windows after each one. So your first opportunity to trigger Sam’s Response will be after Step 1 – Choose an Enemy. During that window you can ready Sam so that he is available to be declared as a defender in Step 2. This applies regardless of whether the enemy engages you during the encounter phase or the combat phase. Cheers, Caleb"
  2. Boromore

    0 round loss

    I got curious, so did a rough calculation - slightly less than a 1 in 200 chance of drawing Followed, then another Followed or Undisturbed Bones. With Eleanor in the mix, the chance of the loss in setup drops to approx 1 in 7,000. So probably not worth avoiding the nasty rules for. I'll just have to make sure I shuffle more throughly next time!
  3. Boromore

    0 round loss

    I'm fine with the "all" can be 0 (found a previous thread where Caleb states " The difference between ‘all’ and ‘each’ is very significant because ‘all’ can include 0 whereas ‘each’ requires there to be at least 1 target.". I'm also fine with the "if able" - again, requoting Caleb: " In The Lord of the Ring LCG, when an encounter card effect uses the language "if able" it means that if you are not able to completely fulfill its effect then you should ignore it. " (The link for this one is: http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/1702-official-nate-rule-clarifications/page-4 ). It's the newer Online Rules statement - because even if under the "old" rules I could legitimately choose the "All=0, if able" option, the game state doesn't change, and can't potentially change unless you take the view that you select it before counting the number of enemies engaged.
  4. Boromore

    0 round loss

    Just want to air this one. I was playing the Road to Rivendell solo (actually in Nightmare, but the same would be true of Standard mode). Quest 1A set-up states "Put Arwen Undomiel into play ... Reveal 1 card from the encounter deck per player...". The card revealed was Followed by Night ("WR: The first player (choose 1): deals 1 damage to all allies in play and Followed by Night gains surge, or all enemies engaged with players make an immediate attack, if able"). With no enemies engaged, I chose the latter option. When I staged during round 1, the next card revealed was a second Followed by Night - so had I chosen the first option at setup, I would have immediately lost. Now I know that Followed by Night has different wording to some cards with a "must either X or Y" choice (where the FAQ section 1.44 states you must choose one you can do in full if able). However, I just came across the MEC01 Online Only Rules statement (under the Effects heading): "If an ability instructs a player to select among multiple effects, an effect that has the potential to change the game state must be selected." So, what does that mean for my choice above?
  5. Boromore

    Errata: How do you deal with them?

    Like ichabod, I sleeve my cards, so if it is something I may forget, I add in a text slip. But I've only done that for one or two cards. On where you draw the line, I was using Boromir as a hero when I went through the Rings saga - and finished just after the FAQ v1.9 came out, with the Boromir errata. I actually did the last quests after the FAQ was published, but before I'd read it - so was in genuine ignorance! It seemed fair to use his ability unlimited to the end of the campaign, but I haven't done so on any quests since. So a technical infringement only!
  6. Boromore

    The only good Nameless...

    I suppose I also had in mind my recent assault on the Redhorn Gate, where stage 3B states "Characters are discarded from play if their <Will> is ever 0" - so I had to keep Dain ready, even though I could ready him when he exhausted, or lose most of my dwarven tribe. It's that idea of passing through 0, albeit only between actions or responses. But I agree, it does seem the most honest approach to add all the cards to Nameless Thing, then do the calculation. Thanks for the thoughts!
  7. This one is a bit tongue-in-cheek. I was battling solo through DW5 - Foundations of Stone (in Nightmare), and encountered a Nameless Thing ("Forced: After Nameless Thing engages a player, attach the top 2 cards of that player's deck to it...") I was a bit slow on the uptake, so was about to defend its attack when I realised I had attached two 0-cost cards to it, so it had 0 hit points. However, there was a Nest of Horrors staged, which had gained "Forced: When one or more cards are attached to a Nameless enemy from the top of a player's deck, attach an additional card...". I duly added a third card, which as luck would have it, was also 0-cost. But thinking about it afterwards, did I actually need to observe the Nest's Forced effect, or would NT be dead before the effect kicked in? And to really push my luck - would it be dead after the first card?
  8. Boromore

    Roam Across - the encounter deck

    The Lost in Wilderland set seems to fit the theme of the quest better - although, as Dale points out, they are the tougher treachery set of the two. Thanks for the replies - it's appreciated!
  9. Hi. Playing Crossing of Poros, at one stage I drew the encounter side quest "Craft Remedy" (SH53) - "Treat the printed box of each damaged character as if it were blank...". At first, I planned to bypass it, as I had a Gandalf ally (actually the UHOH 10 version) in play, with one wound, so could keep him on the board without the threat raise (albeit reduced to one action a round). But Craft Remedy plays havoc with self-harming Ents like Quickbeam or Derndingle Warrior. So, how should I resolve a self-harming action like Quickbeam's? ("Response: After QB enters play, deal 1 damage to him to ready him"). Does the passive effect from Craft Remedy cut in half-way through the response, and nullify it? If I then heal Quickbeam, can I then complete the response? Similarly with Derndingle Warrior.
  10. Boromore

    Roam Across - the encounter deck

    Yes, I was aware of the switch in set names in The Long Dark and Foundations of Stone (it's still not been corrected in the copy of the inserts on the product page), which was what in part prompted the question. I agree - Lost in Wilderland does seem a better fit for the scenario. Thanks for the response!
  11. Boromore

    Journey UP the Anduin (WoR) help

    Glad you cracked it! I tried sticking to theme - a Dale deck (Brand,Bard,Lanwyn), backed up with a Silvan deck (Legolas, Argalad, Mirlonde). Got 4 wins in 16 games, (including, rarely, my first attempt) which is maybe a bit low for a difficulty 5 scenario. I'd hope for 50%. ("Hope"). No doubt we'll be meeting Weighed Down again - I found it was annoying but not crippling, as I was using some Dunedain attachments (and disposables like Cram), so could usually pick a hero with mobile attachments, and move those aside to ditch Weighed Down within 1 or 2 rounds. The Dale attachment theme worked reasonably well, and with the rest of the cycle to come, may get a fair bit stronger.
  12. Hi, just received my copy of Roam across Rhovanion. For building the encounter deck , there is a mismatch between the information sheet and the quest cards. The info sheet says to build the encounter deck with Fell Beasts, Lost in Wilderland and Hills of Wilderland, the quest cards all show the symbols for Fell Beasts, Gathering Gloom and Hills of Wilderland. I am assuming the sheet is correct - but does anyone know for sure?
  13. Alas, it seems that Smaug doesn't like lullabies! I posed the question to FFG: Q. "A question from The Lonely Mountain quest (Hobbit OTD quest 2). I am a bit unsure on how to play the following: At stage 2, I quested successfully (as per FAQ 1.24, determined before placing progress), with 5 progress already on Smaug the Golden. The Forced effect on stage 2B adds a progress to Smaug the Golden (making 6) - the Forced effect on Smaug advances me to stage 4A. I have yet to place any progress tokens. Can I place them on the active location (which was in place during the questing?). If I quest well enough, can I also place any remainder on stage 4B, even though it wasn't the stage I originally quested against?" A. "The answer is that after you advance to a new stage, any remaining progress is canceled. This comes from page 22 of the original core rules: “Additional progress tokens earned against the quest do not carry over to the next stage.” I understand why this isn’t obvious because the core rules definitely did not account for the unique mechanics of The Lonely Mountain, but the scenario was built around this idea. If you could defeat stage 4B immediately after advancing to that stage, it would negate the entire purpose for that stage existing in the adventure. I hope you’re enjoying The Hobbit saga expansions! Cheers, Caleb" So no progress placed - on either location or quest! It does tally with my understanding of quest stage changes - to me, when you start quest resolution is when the "current quest" gets fixed...if it changes after that, progress is not carried over (my interpretation).
  14. Boromore

    Limit on Mounts

    Thanks guys! That was the view I ended up on - Glorfindel swapping horses between questing and exploring, etc. I did fall between the "flavour fail" view and the horse-hopping stance, but Uruk Chieftain with two mounts is an absolute pig...
  15. Boromore

    Immune to player cards, and healing

    Well, made me laugh! (Which is more than Race across Harad solo is doing).
×