Jump to content

pstalker

Members
  • Content count

    55
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About pstalker

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

138 profile views
  1. pstalker

    Way of the Force - Just One Question

    Just order them numerically — I have done this with all my sets and it is by far the fastest way to find a card
  2. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    So by your logic FFG could write an entirely new definition of IMPACT in the RRG and you will never follow it based on what the REMINDER text on the card tells you....Guess we better hope rules errata never happens....people won't follow what's in the RRG if the card says something different...
  3. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    And what I have been arguing is that what is written on the card is not a rule at all but simple REMINDER text. 1)RRG states that it is the definitive source for all Legion rules 2)RRG states that the keywords on the cards include REMINDER text that is not an "exhaustive definition" and that should any questions arise on how to use an ability you should refer to the RRG 3)The RRG entry for IMPACT does not in any way define that IMPACT should only be used on units that have ARMOR.
  4. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Now you are just being intentionally obtuse. If you read just the RRG entry for ARMOR without applying any of the REMINDER text from the card, there is nothing there to justify that IMPACT applies only to units with ARMOR.
  5. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    RRG also does not say that it ONLY works on units with Armor...
  6. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Yes, this would matter when attacking a Trooper Unit with the "Guardian X" keyword
  7. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Sure there is a need -- what if you are attacking a trooper with the "Guardian X" keyword?
  8. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    So then I guess we ignore the very FIRST line of the entire RRG then? "This document is the definitive source for all STAR WARS: LEGION rules."
  9. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    The last bullet point simply clarifies when you apply the Impact keyword. It THEN gives an example by showing what you do in the situation should both the Impact and Armor keywords both come up. Your implying a situation in the RRG that isnt there just because the Impact definition happens to contain a reference on what to do when Armor is also present. That is like taking the phrase "The sun comes out on Tuesday." and saying "oh well since they said the sun only comes out on Tuesday that must mean it can ONLY come out on Tuesdays and no other days"
  10. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Ok, fine then lets play by your rules..... I have a question....."Can I use the IMPACT keyword on a target that does not have the ARMOR keyword?" RRG tells me to answer that question I should refer to the Keyword as defined in the RRG...... RRG entry for "IMPACT X" says nothing about only applying the keyword to targets that have the ARMOR keyword..... Therefore the text on the card which is just REMINDER text does NOT tell me how to apply the rules of the keyword...the RRG does that....
  11. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    You are reading a lot of meaning into that by saying you are to " take this text and then go elsewhere to find the rest of the rule." ESPECIALLY considering the next line SPECIFICALLY states "If a player has questions about how a keyword works, that player should refer to that keyword’s glossary entry." The bullet under the "Keywords" entry also expands on this: "The reminder text is not an exhaustive description of the rules for a keyword. Rather, it is there to help players remember how and when to resolve each keyword..." It is just simple reminder text -- that is why it is called REMINDER text.
  12. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    In the part that I already highlighted: If a player has questions about how a keyword works, that player should refer to that keyword’s glossary entry. It specifically states that a player should refer to the RRG when questions arise about how a keyword works. If a player has a question about how IMPACT works they are told to reference the rule in the RRG. This is VERY consistent with how every other FFG game works with regards to reminder text. In fact there are examples in other FFG games where reminder text has actually been INCORRECT (i.e the "Guardian" reminder text on some Star Wars: Destiny cards) and the response from FFG has alwyas been the same: reminder text is just that: REMINDER text. If it was intended to be rules text and part of the card ability it would not be in parenthesis.
  13. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Except reminder text should NOT be considered part of card text -- it is simply there to help a player -- it is NOT intended to be rules text.
  14. pstalker

    Modified dice query

    Any text in parenthesis is considered reminder text. Per RRG reminder text is NOT considered rules text and a player should refer to the RRG for the full rules text of the keyword. RRG pg 11 Abilities on unit cards are presented as keywords. The front of each unit card provides reminder text for that unit’s unit keywords. The back of each unit card provides reminder text for that unit’s weapon keywords. » Reminder text is not an exhaustive description of the rules for a keyword. If a player has questions about how a keyword works, that player should refer to that keyword’s glossary entry.
×