Jump to content

Innese

Members
  • Content Count

    1,451
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Haha
    Innese got a reaction from ClassicalMoser in New Rules Reference   
    With the new rulings on Revealed Maneuvers...
    If a Stressed Resistance Transport with R4 reveals a Hard-1, does it perform the maneuver, or a 2-straight as it revealed a Red while stressed?
  2. Like
    Innese reacted to Hiemfire in New Rules Reference   
    That FFG still needs to proof read more?
  3. Haha
    Innese got a reaction from TasteTheRainbow in New Rules Reference   
    With the new rulings on Revealed Maneuvers...
    If a Stressed Resistance Transport with R4 reveals a Hard-1, does it perform the maneuver, or a 2-straight as it revealed a Red while stressed?
  4. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from beatpoppa in Need experienced player's advice w/Beginner X-Wing questions   
    First off, welcome!
    A) No, this only happens in the case of Epic ships in 1.0, there is no damage on collision with small or large base ships.
    B) Technically there was no Range 0 in 1.0, but you cannot shoot at ships you’re touching unless an ability (Zeb, Arvel, etc) specifically allows it.
    C) You only bump if a maneuver cannot be completed, that it, you cannot place your ship fully at the end of a maneuver template. If you pick a maneuver on a subsequent round that ends where you can fully place the ship (Or that bumps later on) then you move
  5. Like
    Innese reacted to DR4CO in Nantex: Fun and frustrating.   
    Let's see, the ship has a Tractor effect (already not widely liked) which can't be stopped (as PTA is not "fully" execute, and Ensnare is not an action), which means that your opponent literally has more agency over where your ships end up than you do, and gets to hit you harder while he's at it because of the -1 agility. Oh, and 2 of them get to hit you even harder on top of that with their pilot abilities.
    So, yeah, I'm pretty sure it's frustrating because it's a steaming pile of NPE trash and possibly the most broken ship the game has seen since Tragic Genius Nym.
    But that's just me.
  6. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from Intergerm in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Lets put a nail in this coffin.
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Lets look at the word may in the ability of the Nantex.
    Rules Ref, Page 2, Use of May, Can, and Must:
    The word "may" is used to mean "has the option to." For example, an ability that says "At the Start of the Engagement Phase, you may perform a [Barrel Roll] Action," means that a ship has the option to perform an action, but can also decline.
    Okay, so we know the Nantex has the option to do what comes after the may in its ability after it executes a maneuver. We know that the entire ability at this point is optional; no one is going to force you do trigger the ability after you execute every maneuver.
    Now, lets look at what the ability doesn't say:
    ...After you execute a maneuver, you may gain, 1 tractor token, if you do, you may perform a [Rotate] Action.
    This seems silly right? Well lets look at Jake's ability:
    After you perform a [Barrel Roll] or [Boost] action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1. That ship may perform a [Focus] action.
    Jack clearly gives the target of his ability a may so that it can choose if it wants to perform the [Focus] action or not. The Nantex does not.
     
    Now I'm going to lunch.
  7. Like
    Innese got a reaction from DR4CO in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Lets put a nail in this coffin.
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Lets look at the word may in the ability of the Nantex.
    Rules Ref, Page 2, Use of May, Can, and Must:
    The word "may" is used to mean "has the option to." For example, an ability that says "At the Start of the Engagement Phase, you may perform a [Barrel Roll] Action," means that a ship has the option to perform an action, but can also decline.
    Okay, so we know the Nantex has the option to do what comes after the may in its ability after it executes a maneuver. We know that the entire ability at this point is optional; no one is going to force you do trigger the ability after you execute every maneuver.
    Now, lets look at what the ability doesn't say:
    ...After you execute a maneuver, you may gain, 1 tractor token, if you do, you may perform a [Rotate] Action.
    This seems silly right? Well lets look at Jake's ability:
    After you perform a [Barrel Roll] or [Boost] action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1. That ship may perform a [Focus] action.
    Jack clearly gives the target of his ability a may so that it can choose if it wants to perform the [Focus] action or not. The Nantex does not.
     
    Now I'm going to lunch.
  8. Like
    Innese got a reaction from nitrobenz in Evaan Verlaine ability   
    Nope, she only has a window to trigger her ability once.
  9. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from nitrobenz in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Lets put a nail in this coffin.
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Lets look at the word may in the ability of the Nantex.
    Rules Ref, Page 2, Use of May, Can, and Must:
    The word "may" is used to mean "has the option to." For example, an ability that says "At the Start of the Engagement Phase, you may perform a [Barrel Roll] Action," means that a ship has the option to perform an action, but can also decline.
    Okay, so we know the Nantex has the option to do what comes after the may in its ability after it executes a maneuver. We know that the entire ability at this point is optional; no one is going to force you do trigger the ability after you execute every maneuver.
    Now, lets look at what the ability doesn't say:
    ...After you execute a maneuver, you may gain, 1 tractor token, if you do, you may perform a [Rotate] Action.
    This seems silly right? Well lets look at Jake's ability:
    After you perform a [Barrel Roll] or [Boost] action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1. That ship may perform a [Focus] action.
    Jack clearly gives the target of his ability a may so that it can choose if it wants to perform the [Focus] action or not. The Nantex does not.
     
    Now I'm going to lunch.
  10. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from nitrobenz in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Nothing about this ability grants a rotate action when you receive a tractor token. You are paying a cost (Receiving 1 tractor token) to then take the [Rotate] Action.
    Page 2 of the Rules Reference under Paying Costs: A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved.
    If you want the Tractor Token, you have to be able to perform the [Rotate] Action (So no stress) and you must perform, rotating to point at a different arc.
  11. Like
    Innese got a reaction from topacesteve in Evaan Verlaine ability   
    Nope, she only has a window to trigger her ability once.
  12. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from Lyianx in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Lets put a nail in this coffin.
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Lets look at the word may in the ability of the Nantex.
    Rules Ref, Page 2, Use of May, Can, and Must:
    The word "may" is used to mean "has the option to." For example, an ability that says "At the Start of the Engagement Phase, you may perform a [Barrel Roll] Action," means that a ship has the option to perform an action, but can also decline.
    Okay, so we know the Nantex has the option to do what comes after the may in its ability after it executes a maneuver. We know that the entire ability at this point is optional; no one is going to force you do trigger the ability after you execute every maneuver.
    Now, lets look at what the ability doesn't say:
    ...After you execute a maneuver, you may gain, 1 tractor token, if you do, you may perform a [Rotate] Action.
    This seems silly right? Well lets look at Jake's ability:
    After you perform a [Barrel Roll] or [Boost] action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1. That ship may perform a [Focus] action.
    Jack clearly gives the target of his ability a may so that it can choose if it wants to perform the [Focus] action or not. The Nantex does not.
     
    Now I'm going to lunch.
  13. Like
    Innese got a reaction from Hiemfire in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Lets put a nail in this coffin.
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Lets look at the word may in the ability of the Nantex.
    Rules Ref, Page 2, Use of May, Can, and Must:
    The word "may" is used to mean "has the option to." For example, an ability that says "At the Start of the Engagement Phase, you may perform a [Barrel Roll] Action," means that a ship has the option to perform an action, but can also decline.
    Okay, so we know the Nantex has the option to do what comes after the may in its ability after it executes a maneuver. We know that the entire ability at this point is optional; no one is going to force you do trigger the ability after you execute every maneuver.
    Now, lets look at what the ability doesn't say:
    ...After you execute a maneuver, you may gain, 1 tractor token, if you do, you may perform a [Rotate] Action.
    This seems silly right? Well lets look at Jake's ability:
    After you perform a [Barrel Roll] or [Boost] action, you may choose a friendly ship at range 0-1. That ship may perform a [Focus] action.
    Jack clearly gives the target of his ability a may so that it can choose if it wants to perform the [Focus] action or not. The Nantex does not.
     
    Now I'm going to lunch.
  14. Like
    Innese reacted to Bort in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Ok, what i meant was:
    The entire thing is optional.
    BUT, if you choose to gain the tractor token, then performing the action "rotate" is no longer optional, and also moving the arc isn't.
     
    @Innese explains it correctly above.
  15. Like
    Innese reacted to Hiemfire in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Gaining the tractor token is the "cost" of performing the rotate action, not a separate ability.
  16. Like
    Innese got a reaction from Hiemfire in Assorted Nantex questions   
    You've completely taken this out of context. The full line was: Nothing about this ability grants a rotate action when you receive a tractor token. You are paying a cost (Receiving 1 tractor token) to then take the [Rotate] Action.
    The ability does indeed provide a [Rotate] Action when you pay the cost, which is receiving a Tractor Token via the ability. Getting a Tractor Token from any other source will not let you [Rotate].
    "Can" only appears in the rules reference. It in no way appears in the actual ability of the Nantex. Under your reading, even then, the lines in the rules reference would simply be:
    A ship has the capacity to pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved. Which still means that you are still only able to pay the cost if you resolve the effect.
     
    Tl;dr: To pay the cost, you must be able to perform the action. If you pay the cost, you must perform the action, as otherwise the effect has not been resolved.
  17. Like
    Innese got a reaction from Bort in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Nothing about this ability grants a rotate action when you receive a tractor token. You are paying a cost (Receiving 1 tractor token) to then take the [Rotate] Action.
    Page 2 of the Rules Reference under Paying Costs: A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved.
    If you want the Tractor Token, you have to be able to perform the [Rotate] Action (So no stress) and you must perform, rotating to point at a different arc.
  18. Thanks
    Innese got a reaction from JBFancourt in Assorted Nantex questions   
    Pinpoint Tractor Array: You cannot rotate your [Turret Arc] to your [Rear Arc]. After you execute a maneuver, you may gain 1 tractor token to perform a [Rotate] action.
    Nothing about this ability grants a rotate action when you receive a tractor token. You are paying a cost (Receiving 1 tractor token) to then take the [Rotate] Action.
    Page 2 of the Rules Reference under Paying Costs: A ship can pay a cost for an effect only if the effect can be resolved.
    If you want the Tractor Token, you have to be able to perform the [Rotate] Action (So no stress) and you must perform, rotating to point at a different arc.
  19. Haha
    Innese reacted to Cloaker in Tens of thousands of dollars lost Wave 5   
    FFG, you guys are doing alright. But I gotta figure you're going to sit on some inventory here and lots of lost $
     
    Because nobody wants this

     
    when you could have released THIS

     
     
    Well, at least you're going to be selling out of Republic Y-Wings for the next 6 months. That was a good call. Mm hm. 
  20. Like
    Innese got a reaction from PanchoX1 in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
  21. Like
    Innese got a reaction from Vector Strike in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
  22. Like
    Innese got a reaction from MegaSilver in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
  23. Like
    Innese got a reaction from arkhamssaber in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
  24. Like
    Innese got a reaction from DarkArk in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
  25. Like
    Innese got a reaction from ScummyRebel in X-Wing wave 5 unboxed!   
    Then they're playing it incorrectly, the rules even state it has to be in a different arc.
×
×
  • Create New...