Jump to content

bgrelle

Members
  • Content Count

    469
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    bgrelle reacted to thespaceinvader in Targeting Synchronizer + Advanced Targeting Computer after faqs   
    Thing is, the original question isn't actually answered by that FAQ - because precdent in x-wing is that restrictions aren't retroactive.  ATC is effectively establishing a retroactive restriction, which is weird.
    Consider the following case:
    Vader is locked on Poe, as is Quickdraw, who has TS, and is at range 2 of Vader. 
    Vader shoots.  He rolls 2 blanks. 
    At this point, he's not used ATC, so he's not blocked from using QD's lock.  So he rerolls using QD's lock. 
    He's still not used ATC.  This is all perfectly legal so far.  If we stopped here, there wouldn't be any issue, and we could do just that.
     
    Now, he uses ATC.  The FAQ doesn't stop him, it doesn't say he can't use ATC if he's already spent a lock, it establishes a restriction FROM the point of using it.  From now on, he can't reroll using QD's lock. 
    But nothing stopped him using ATC after doing so, and nothing stopped him doing so before he used ATC.  He could choose to do so and NOT use ATC, so merely HAVING ATC shouldn't stop him doing so.  Because there's no reason to use ATC anything other than last thing in your modification step.  But if it's retroactive, then he got legally to a position where the game state was illegal, and that shouldn't be possible.
    So, what are we supposed to do?  Reset those rerolled dice to blanks?  Nothing tells us to do that, and you can't just randomly flip dice to what you think they SHOULD be otherwise all my dice would be crits and evades.  That's the key point for me.  That you can entirely legally get to an illegal game state if you read the restriction on ATC as being retroactive.  We've already spent a lock, but we can't have already spent a lock, and we can't reset to the point where we didn't spend it, without breaking the rules in a way the cards don't tell us to.
     
    In the same way, Carnor's ability doesn't stop you from having taken a focus action before he was at range 1 of you.  It establishes a restriction after he arrives (and as a result, you can still procket him in the face).
     
    Retroactive abilities would set a really weird precedent, and it's one I'd really prefer they didn't set.  Because it means that the basic rule of 'everything happens in sequence, and nothing can affect things that have already happened' is broken, and I really don't like that can of worms.
     
    The FAQ definitely stops him from using ATC THEN using TS to reroll, but it definitely DOESN'T stop the other way round.  It should.  But it doesn't.  And assuming it DOES, and reacting as such doesn't change that.
    The FAQ would need to say 'you can't use ATC if you've spent a TL via TS' to actually work to prevent the combo.
    But as noted above, it's obvious what they're trying to do, they're just not actually succeeding.  It's hugely irritating that they don't seem to be able to get their FAQs proofed by people who know the rules fully and completely in their competitive game with tournaments with hundreds of players and prizes worth hundreds of pounds.  I could have looked at that entry and told them there was still an issue with it.  I did, the instant it was published, albeit, not in a forum they actually read, because I don't have a way to talk to them in a forum they actually read except for the rules questions line, and I'm becoming more dubious whether they read that too tbh.
     
    Honestly, my preferred solution would just be to errata ATC to say 'When attacking with your primary weapon, if you have a target lock on the defender and have not spent a target lock during this attack, you may add 1 [crit] result to your roll. If you do, you cannot spend target locks during this attack.'  OR 'When attacking with your primary weapon, if you have a target lock on the defender, at the start of the 'attacker modifies attack dice' step, you may add 1 [crit]  result to your roll. If you do, you cannot spend target locks during this attack.'  Additions in bold.
    There are two ways to write it that actually work with the intended restrictions - one forces you to use it FIRST meaning that its restriction is in place right from the beginning, the other just block you using it if you spent a lock.
    There's no reason not to errata it - it's not like they knew TS was going to exist when they wrote it, and updating your living game to match new components shouldn't be a problem.
     
  2. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from JJ48 in It's Finally 1995 Again...   
    But the Tie/D title doesn't work with a Mangler Cannon. 
  3. Like
    bgrelle reacted to gjnido in Maul & Jan Ors   
    Maybe something like this?
    Jan Ors (25)
    Wired (1)
    Twin Laser Turret (6)
    Maul (3)
    Wullffwarro (30)
    Rage (1)
    Ezra Bridger (3)
    Inspiring Recruit (1)
    Wedge Antilles (29)
    Adaptability (0)
    Flight-Assist Astromech (1)
    Integrated Astromech (0)
    Total: 100
    View in Yet Another Squad Builder
  4. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from ZealuxMyr in Ghost and TLT   
    And not to be confusing but you can use the TLT on the Ghost when you activate during the combat phase and still use the TLT again at the end of the combat phase.  And even then, yes the Accuracy Corrector can be used on all four times you roll dice.
  5. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from SabineKey in Which Rey is best? Was: Contraband Cybernetics looks cool .. or does it?   
    This is my favorite Rey to fly. 
    Rey — YT-1300 45
    Expertise 4
    Kanan Jarrus 3
    Finn 5
    Scavenger Crane 2
    Smuggling Compartment 0
    Countermeasures 3
    Millennium Falcon (TFA) 1
    Ship Total: 63
    I currently have her teamed up with:
    Jan Ors — HWK-290 25
    Trick Shot 0
    Twin Laser Turret 6
    Chewbacca 4
    Vectored Thrusters 2
    Ship Total: 37
    This combo hits like a TON OF BRICKS but can also die fast if I make mistakes.  On a side note I did have Jan take a range one shot from Fenn Rau and after he ended his rolling showed two hits and two crits.  I lolled one evade for Jan so then the combo starts, first hit canceled by evade die, second hit is taken by the shield, first crit is a Direct Hit so I use Chewbaca to discard that and gain a shield so the second crit goes to the shield.  That was GREATNESS!!!
    Don't know what to think about the contraband cybernetics interaction.
  6. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from BlodVargarna in Which Rey is best? Was: Contraband Cybernetics looks cool .. or does it?   
    This is my favorite Rey to fly. 
    Rey — YT-1300 45
    Expertise 4
    Kanan Jarrus 3
    Finn 5
    Scavenger Crane 2
    Smuggling Compartment 0
    Countermeasures 3
    Millennium Falcon (TFA) 1
    Ship Total: 63
    I currently have her teamed up with:
    Jan Ors — HWK-290 25
    Trick Shot 0
    Twin Laser Turret 6
    Chewbacca 4
    Vectored Thrusters 2
    Ship Total: 37
    This combo hits like a TON OF BRICKS but can also die fast if I make mistakes.  On a side note I did have Jan take a range one shot from Fenn Rau and after he ended his rolling showed two hits and two crits.  I lolled one evade for Jan so then the combo starts, first hit canceled by evade die, second hit is taken by the shield, first crit is a Direct Hit so I use Chewbaca to discard that and gain a shield so the second crit goes to the shield.  That was GREATNESS!!!
    Don't know what to think about the contraband cybernetics interaction.
  7. Like
    bgrelle reacted to Herowannabe in Which Rey is best? Was: Contraband Cybernetics looks cool .. or does it?   
    Or she can fly with Kanan Jarrus and do S-Sloops + actions to her hearts content and never end up stressed. 
  8. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Nasimrais in OS-1 and Unguided Rockets   
    Probably just the standard article error.  Reading the title, you shouldn't be able to use the unguided rockets when you have the weapons disabled token unless you have both a lock and a focus.
     
    Edit - Ninja'd  
  9. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Kilrex in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  10. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Punning Pundit in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  11. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from matt.sucharski in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  12. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from JJ48 in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  13. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Slugrage in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  14. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from ScummyRebel in Guns for hire   
    Actually yes it is official 10/26 release date check the upcoming page.
  15. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from joeshmoe554 in Tractor Beam   
    No, common sense doesn't make it perfectly clear that you can use feedback array when cloaked because (see the bold section of my quoted post) half of the time you can't per the rules and half the time you can per somehow the same rule.
  16. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from DR4CO in Tractor Beam   
    No, common sense doesn't make it perfectly clear that you can use feedback array when cloaked because (see the bold section of my quoted post) half of the time you can't per the rules and half the time you can per somehow the same rule.
  17. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from FireSpy in Gunner & Captain Rex Crew   
    The word "immediately" has no meaning in this game.  It is flavor / reminder text, this is written down in the FAQ I think but can't remember exactly where right now.  If you have both Gunner and Rex on the same ship you get to decide who happens first.
     
    Edit - Found it, page 5 of FAQ near the bottom of the page. ""Immediately" Immediately is used as emphasis on some cards, it is purely reminder text and has no distinct game effect."
  18. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Stoneface in Gunner & Captain Rex Crew   
    The word "immediately" has no meaning in this game.  It is flavor / reminder text, this is written down in the FAQ I think but can't remember exactly where right now.  If you have both Gunner and Rex on the same ship you get to decide who happens first.
     
    Edit - Found it, page 5 of FAQ near the bottom of the page. ""Immediately" Immediately is used as emphasis on some cards, it is purely reminder text and has no distinct game effect."
  19. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Lobokai in Tie Phantoms   
    It would be lots of fun, take lots of brain power, and will die very fast against most of the current meta lists since ACD requires you to shoot before you get your cloak and the PS's are too low to allow you to fire early enough to do any good.
  20. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Schu81 in Gunner & Captain Rex Crew   
    The word "immediately" has no meaning in this game.  It is flavor / reminder text, this is written down in the FAQ I think but can't remember exactly where right now.  If you have both Gunner and Rex on the same ship you get to decide who happens first.
     
    Edit - Found it, page 5 of FAQ near the bottom of the page. ""Immediately" Immediately is used as emphasis on some cards, it is purely reminder text and has no distinct game effect."
  21. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from Otacon in Omega leader and no modify rule   
    Finn doesn't add a die to be rolled, he adds a blank result to the result pool, thus is considered a modification (yes, a useless one that  couldn't be rerolled if it was allowed, but still a modification that can't happen nonetheless).  
  22. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from mleggett in Omega leader and no modify rule   
    Finn doesn't add a die to be rolled, he adds a blank result to the result pool, thus is considered a modification (yes, a useless one that  couldn't be rerolled if it was allowed, but still a modification that can't happen nonetheless).  
  23. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from nitrobenz in Omega leader and no modify rule   
    Finn doesn't add a die to be rolled, he adds a blank result to the result pool, thus is considered a modification (yes, a useless one that  couldn't be rerolled if it was allowed, but still a modification that can't happen nonetheless).  
  24. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from StriderZessei in Fleeing but Bumping   
    You only "flee the battlefield" if your ship base is off the mat at the end of your move.  Bumping stopped your move where you are so if you are NOT hanging off the board you have not fled.  Reverse is also true though, if a bump causes you to stop short of your intended move and you have part of your base now hanging off the mat you HAVE fled and must be removed from the game.
  25. Like
    bgrelle got a reaction from StephenEsven in Omega leader and no modify rule   
    Finn doesn't add a die to be rolled, he adds a blank result to the result pool, thus is considered a modification (yes, a useless one that  couldn't be rerolled if it was allowed, but still a modification that can't happen nonetheless).  
×
×
  • Create New...