Randyman

Members
  • Content count

    53
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. I think I played this incorrectly the first time I tried Redhorn Gate -- When I traveled to the Dimrill Stair, I properly reshuffled two locations back into the encounter deck and reduced my threat by 11 -- I then sorted through the encounter deck, found 3 copies of Freezing Cold, discarded them, and reshuffled.... but in retrospect that didn't seem right to me. The second time I played RG, when I traveled to the Dimrill Stair, I only discarded the one copy of Freezing cold that was already in play and attached to a hero. Thus, I left the other copies in the encounter deck. I think the latter is correct but can anyone confirm for me? Thanks!
  2. I've read all the threads I could find re: Landroval but for some reason I cannot determine if any attachments (good or bad!) will come back with your rescued Hero -- Example: Legolas, with 3 damage, the condition attachment "Freezing Cold', and the 'Support of the Eagles' attachment was just killed and I know I can use Landroval to bring him back with only one point of damage, but what happens to his 2 attachments?
  3. In the example above, Theodred gets a -1 from Caradhras and dies... but what if you had Faramir along on the quest to boost his willpower to 2? I guess the question is does his willpower go up before it goes down (and he lives) or does it go down before it goes up (and he dies)?
  4. Thanks -- I think I was playing wrong -- I've got it now!
  5. Am playing Into the Pit and I've got East Gate in the staging area and a Northern Tracker in play -- if I commit him to the quest, can I place a progress token on East Gate? Am not sure exactly what East Gate is immune to/from?
  6. I'm sorry, I worded that incorrectly -- I want to use Sneak Attack and bring him in to "deal 4 damage to one enemy in play" and then have him hang around to defend during the Combat phase as well. Just wanted to make sure this was legal? Also, is it OK to assign his automatic 4 damage to an emeny in the staging area? Thanks
  7. If you use Sneak attack for Gandalf in the Combat phase, can he be used for both defense and attack before returning to your hand?
  8. Oh -- that makes perfect sense -- thank you !
  9. I have seen several references in this forum and others that state Henamarth Riversong is great when used near the end of the round to peak at what Encounter card will be revealed in the following turn. Wouldn't it be just as useful to use him during an action window in the beginning of a round to see what Encounter card will be coming at you later later that same round? I Just want to confirm this is a legal play.
  10. Furthermore, when you claim the Abandoned Tools as a result of putting a progress token on Narrow Paths, do you also pull an Encounter Card to attach to, and 'guard' the tools? ... or does this objective remain unguarded since it was not 'revealed'?
  11. OK -- does Thalins ability also put a hit point on the Goblins/Orcs as they are added to the staging area as a result of a Shadow effect?
  12. I'm probably not posting this in the right section of this forum but I have been having a lot of difficulty searching the forum since the change over to the new service on Tuesday morning. For example, a search of the Rules Questions & Answers section for 'Gandalf' or 'Sneak Attack' use to return dozens of posted threads and now turns up nothing - is anyone else experiencing difficulty searching? Or maybe I am just not doing it properly? Thanks...
  13. Thanks -- I will try adding Son of Arnor to the deck. I am also finding that this quest is pretty challenging if you are trying to stick to Dwarf heroes. Many more losses than wins at this point...
  14. Ouch -- While playing Seventh level, I just foolishly assigned Dain Ironfoot to defend against a Goblin Spearman (3 attack), thinking ole Dain can handle just about anything (even though he had 2 damage points already) but I pulled the Goblin Tunnels as a shadow card (+3 attack if attacking enemy is a Goblin). Game, set, match. I think I would have won if any other shadow card came up. **Sigh**