Jump to content

Warlord Zepnick

Members
  • Content Count

    609
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to Undeadguy in Does Bail have to be deployed at the start of the game?   
    I prefer to use other FAQs as precedent, so I'd say Bail does not work if you set him aside in any manner. If Bail is not in play at the start of the first round, he does not trigger.
    I did not read any thoughts in this thread, so I don't know where my opinion falls.
  2. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to PT106 in Does Bail have to be deployed at the start of the game?   
    Well... for me personally the case is clear and I agree with @Drasnighta  here based on RAW. As far as RAI goes, I don't feel that there can be a real argument (as opposed to a Jamming Field snafu for example)
    Keep in mind that Bail could've easily been worded "even if you're set aside".
  3. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to Snipafist in Does Bail have to be deployed at the start of the game?   
    For what it's worth, I'm on Team @Drasnighta in most cases when rules are being discussed, and that remains true here. Bail doesn't work when he's set aside under the current ruleset. It's possible that may be altered later, of course, but for now that's how it is.
  4. Sad
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from DiabloAzul in Does Bail have to be deployed at the start of the game?   
    The act of placing the token is clearly designed to designate when Bail, the upgrade card, is supposed to take "effect". The "effect" of Bail is either you 1) must activate first if you are the second player on the round matching the token, or 2) if you are the first player, you gain gain two command tokens of your choice.
    It is incorrect to assume that the act of placing the token is an "effect". 
    Once Bail gets onto the Board, via Raddus, then he can resolve either of those two effects.
     
    Edit:
     
    Bail cannot activate first with Raddus, but he can under the Hyperspace Assault scenario.
     
     
  5. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to Don Henderson fan club in Does Bail have to be deployed at the start of the game?   
    I have repeatedly made my point, but it seems you and your respected TO are blind to it. In fact your respected TO's counter argument was that it is a non-issue and that the ball is in my court. Well, I am hitting the ball right back.
    I'll try putting my argument another way. This is as clear and logical as I can make it.
    The Bail Organa upgrade card says: "After deploying fleets, you may place 1 round token on this card. At the start of the Ship Phase of the round matching that round token, if you are the second player you must activate, if you are the first player, you may gain up to 2 command tokens of your choice." You should note that there are two sentences, only the second of which is the effect.
    The placement of a round token on the card is required to make the card work and is a new mechanic for this wave. But in principle it is no different to a card that says, "While attacking ...", but instead is says, "At the start of the Ship Phase of the round matching that round token ...". The only difference is that the player is given the option of placing a round token on the card.
    One of the Golden Rules on the Rules Reference says: "Effects on components such as cards sometimes contradict rules found in the Learn to Play or Rules Reference booklets. In these situations, the component’s effect takes precedence."
    The Bail Organa upgrade card makes no reference to whether the card is active or not when the round counter is placed. It simply tells you when to place the round counter on the card and what the timing and effect of the card are. That is it. If you think that placing a round counter on the card at the time specified contradicts a rule, then the Golden Rule tells you that what is on the card takes precedence. No argument possible. It's a Golden Rule. The player has the right to put a round token on the card.
    Now I am aware that a card's effects cannot be used when it is inactive, so if Bail is still off table when the time for action arrives, tough. But if the ship to which that card is equipped enters the table before the effect triggers, then the rules as written say the card is active and effect happens.
    If you feel that you want to respond to this post, then feel free, but please address the points I have made.
  6. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to stonestokes in Strategic Advisor: A Poll   
    Option 1:

    I believe that Strategic Advisor may be used even if the ship to which it is equipped has already activated this round.
  7. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to emsgoof in Strategic Advisor   
    Yes, that’s exactly what I’m saying.  The only thing you should look at for a card is the card, the main RRG, and any FAQ topic that pertains to that card only.
    Doing otherwise injects assumptions into the discussion.
  8. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Gallanteer in Strategic Advisor   
    RRG Page 13 - "Upgrade Cards"
    "On upgrade card effects, the term 'you' refers to the ship that the upgrade is equipped to."
    So, if the card were meant to be used only when the ship it was equipped to activated, the card would have read: 
    "When you activate, you may exhaust..."
    Simply put, "your turn" and "you" mean entirely different things.
  9. Haha
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from RogueCommander in The start of an AS Fleet?   
    Weak sauce lol.
  10. Thanks
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from RogueCommander in The start of an AS Fleet?   
    For what it's worth, I'd put expanded launchers on that MC75 in order to maximize the effect of wide-area barrage. Ordinance pods are great, and there are other great platforms out there for it, such as the Hammerhead corvette. You can even throw Draven on the hammerhead!
  11. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from emsgoof in Highest Aspiration?   
    RRG Page 13 - "Upgrade Cards"
    "On upgrade card effects, the term 'you' refers to the ship that the upgrade is equipped to."
    If you have the Aspiration title card equipped, then you, and only you, cannot recover shields in a hull zone which has exceeded its maximum base value. 
    With projection experts, another ship, not the Aspiration, is moving the shields to you. I'm not sure the parlance used in the context of shields, e.g. "spend", "recover", or "move" is even relevant, as the restriction on gaining shields only applies to the MC75 itself. 
  12. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from MandalorianMoose in Strategic Advisor   
    Assuming your're second player with a 3-activation list-- say two x-mas tree ISDs and a gozanti-- then you're at a 3:1 activation ratio. Also assuming you activate your gozanti first, then you've got a pool of three potential targets to go after with your ISD's.
    Throw in another gozanti and lose some ornaments, and all of a sudden you're activating 2 of your gozanti's to 4 of your opponent's ships. To me, the value in lining up shots for ships you've heavily invested in is tremendous-- it also opens up the meta-- like a lot. 
    On a side note, these cards are a positive response by FFG imo. The upgrades address a major concern about a core mechanic of the game in an intuitive way. Who knows, changing the core rules themselves might have damaged the game (e.g. integrating a pass rule akin to Imperial Assault). I am confident a lot of play testing was done, and am excited for the future of this game. 
  13. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from The Jabbawookie in Strategic Advisor   
    Assuming your're second player with a 3-activation list-- say two x-mas tree ISDs and a gozanti-- then you're at a 3:1 activation ratio. Also assuming you activate your gozanti first, then you've got a pool of three potential targets to go after with your ISD's.
    Throw in another gozanti and lose some ornaments, and all of a sudden you're activating 2 of your gozanti's to 4 of your opponent's ships. To me, the value in lining up shots for ships you've heavily invested in is tremendous-- it also opens up the meta-- like a lot. 
    On a side note, these cards are a positive response by FFG imo. The upgrades address a major concern about a core mechanic of the game in an intuitive way. Who knows, changing the core rules themselves might have damaged the game (e.g. integrating a pass rule akin to Imperial Assault). I am confident a lot of play testing was done, and am excited for the future of this game. 
  14. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to Sharego in I've updated my site with some images of the cards   
    I hope fleet builders update soon, thanks for sharing!!!
     
  15. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Xeletor in Profundity Unboxing   
    Man, I can't wait to barrel into enemy fleets with 6 shields on the nose of Aspiration. Probably with expanded launchers too. 
  16. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from PT106 in Fixing activation counts, idea #eleventy-Q: alternate by command total rather than ship count   
    I think this is a good point.
    Governor Pryce is strong evidence that FFG is cognizant of the activation "issue."
    I would argue that Gov. Pryce was a missed opportunity being that you must choose a round to utilize her before the game starts. While I am aware that the mechanic rewards good planning, at 7 points and an officer slot, it just isn't worth putting her on the ships she is intended for. You should just be able to choose any one round, during before the ship phase or something like that.
     
  17. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to AllWingsStandyingBy in Will Raid ruin Armada?   
    But I think it does spell the end of torpedo ships like Demolisher or MC30s.  Those ships dial Navigation commands pretty much every turn, and they live and die by their ability to get into Close Range (especially getting those double-arc attacks that they need to justify and earn back their points) and to get out of harm's way, which requires aggressive use of Nav Commands, especially for Engine Tech demolishers.  These ships function as hit-and-run lone wolves, and rarely operate with a fighter escort given that they are generally flanking and moving at great speeds.  It's just not realistic to run a fighter screen for your torpedo ships, so they will the ships most vulnerable to getting bullied by Gauntlets.

    So, if Gauntlets catch on, I think it'll pretty much drive MC30s (of the torpedo variety) and Gladiators to extinction.
  18. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from mcworrell in Will Raid ruin Armada?   
    Until we learn how raid tokens are removed, this question cannot be answered. 
  19. Like
    Warlord Zepnick reacted to Formynder4 in Sato,mc75, and fire control teams   
    You just need one.
  20. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Madaghmire in Will Raid ruin Armada?   
    Until we learn how raid tokens are removed, this question cannot be answered. 
  21. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Stasy in Profundity Up!   
    "Yo dawg, we heard you like your ordinance, so we put external racks on your expanded launchers bro!"
    -Admiral Xzibit 
  22. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Fallenwolf15 in Profundity Up!   
    "Yo dawg, we heard you like your ordinance, so we put external racks on your expanded launchers bro!"
    -Admiral Xzibit 
  23. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from GhostofNobodyInParticular in Profundity Up!   
    "Yo dawg, we heard you like your ordinance, so we put external racks on your expanded launchers bro!"
    -Admiral Xzibit 
  24. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Jedirev in Profundity Up!   
    "Yo dawg, we heard you like your ordinance, so we put external racks on your expanded launchers bro!"
    -Admiral Xzibit 
  25. Like
    Warlord Zepnick got a reaction from Parkdaddy in Profundity Up!   
    "Yo dawg, we heard you like your ordinance, so we put external racks on your expanded launchers bro!"
    -Admiral Xzibit 
×
×
  • Create New...