Jump to content

Bron Ander Haltern

Members
  • Content Count

    89
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Bron Ander Haltern

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

548 profile views
  1. How do you define "massive"? Let's say both sides have relatively big combat with equivalent forces on both sides (so Troopers vs. Troopers etc.). If you play the same combat multiple times, how often would attackers win? I doubt it's much worse for attackers than 45/55. It might be more pronounced in smaller battles, true.
  2. There's at least one encounter card (Ryloth deck) that allows you to buy a ship directly from the supply (i.e. this includes ships previously bartered away), but yes, usually you can buy a specific ship as "brand new", from ship deck, not more than once during a single game. You are correct, relevant rules below (emphasis original). Rules Reference p. 14, "Ships" section: "• When a player buys a ship, they remove the market card from the game (as instructed on the card). Then, they replace their ship sheet with the ship sheet that corresponds to the ship they bought. ·· Any damage on their ship is removed. ·· Their old ship is returned to the supply of unpurchased ship sheets. If the ship has a matching market card, that card is not returned to the market deck."
  3. I think I remember one of the SWCC demo videos showing that's how the game was taught to at least some of the players, so perhaps that's where this mistake originated.
  4. What, you don't think Boba or 4-LOM can handle a grenade launcher in each hand, Chow-Yun Fat style? As for the rules, there are no limitations when it comes to the number of gear/mods used in combat. (Limitations put in place by the number of gear/mod slots are enough.)
  5. True, these are the conditions for this particular trade (not really hard to meet, since you can even announce it beforehand "Hey, before you do your encounter step, I might have a business proposition for you") and these are the official rules, which means you agree with me: the usual rules are applied to see whether a particular credit trades is binding or non-binding.
  6. Below are all references to "binding" that can be found in the rulebooks... Learn to Play p. 8, "Trading Credits and Promises" subsection: "Players often trade credits for future promises. For example, you may give a player 1,000 credits to help that player out of a tight situation, under the condition that they give you 2,000 credits on their next turn. Such agreements are perfectly legal, but future promises are non-binding. This means the player may decide, when the time comes, to not actually give you the promised amount of credits back." Rules Reference p. 5, "Credits" section: "• Players can trade credits with the current player at any time during the game. Trades do not have to be equal—a player can trade any amount of credits and receive less or nothing in return. ·· Any trade that cannot be immediately and completely fulfilled is non-binding. Example: If a player trades credits to another player for a promise of credits in the future, the player who received the credits initially is allowed to break their promise." (Second paragraph quoted is the sub-bullet point of the first paragraph, in case it's not clear.) Rules Reference p. 15, "Trade Action" section: "Any trade that cannot be immediately and completely fulfilled is non-binding. Example: If a player trades credits to another player for a promise of credits in the future, the player who received the credits initially is allowed to break their promise." So not only there's nothing in the rulebooks that supports the interpretation of the "non-binding" rule being limited to only market action, but the rule is also specifically mentioned in the context of trading credits - see the second quote above.
  7. Rules refer to "any trade", actually (see "Trade Action" section in Rules Reference). In other words, a deal along the lines of "Ok, I'll give you 2k if you encounter this gray contact on your planet" is binding (assuming the deal happens during encounter step of the player being offered 2k). Unless you mean something else entirely,
  8. The "immediate" part of any trade is binding as per rulebook.
  9. You only ever remove the card from the game if the card specifically states that. Other are discarded and "discard" in this game always means "place it back at the bottom of its respective deck" (no reshuffling unless card specifically states that). When you discard a crew card, any contact token associated with it is placed on a empty contact space on the nearest planet (which contains an empty contact space). All bounties have contact tokens, so they cannot be "hidden" from bounty hunters that way.
  10. Yup, that's what the rules say. From your description, it seems you were Unskilled at Influence, so you only had 23.44% probability to pass this test. Four attempts give you 65.64% chance to pass it. A character repeatedly failing at a job he's incompetent at? Makes perfect sense to me.
  11. Rules Reference ("Combat", p. 05) is very clear: "If there is a tie, the attacker wins the combat."
  12. Was it ever FFG practice to release (online) Learn to Play and Rules Reference separately? Or release amended versions of rulebooks instead of FAQ documents? (Long time ago, perhaps.) Both are already available for perusal for over a month, by the way (scans from pre-release copies).
  13. Back of the box shows 5 green FFG packs to sleeve everything (215 cards).
  14. I'm sure Corey meant "oppose a rescue mission".
  15. There are some cards in the planet decks that will give you cargo (and you have to pay for it), but they have no price in the corner, so I assume you cannot get your money back for them.
×
×
  • Create New...