Jump to content

Tract

Members
  • Content Count

    35
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    Tract reacted to Waywardpaladin in Don't fear the Legion?   
    I mean, if Runewars is their Warhammer Fantasy game and this is their 40K, I understand.
     
    But my interest in Legion is pretty nil. I like Star Wars a lot, but in a minis game I want more factions, variety of units and so on.
    Star Wars is, surprisingly, a bit too "realistic" for that. Rows of Stormtroopers firing at squads of generic Rebels doesn't do it for me. Star Wars to me is all about the smaller scale action on the ground, and space battles.
  2. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Hersh in Quick questions after the first game   
    It depends. Sometimes a new Imperial player gets so caught up in things like projects and missions that they forget to explore in the first game, and the Rebel base doesn't get found. My experience though is that people sitting down to play a game like this go "ooooh Star Destroyers! I wanna invade that one!", which is the essential Imperial motto, and the Rebel method is much more subtle and difficult to grasp immediately.
  3. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Trizzo2 in Undercover Action Card   
    It's my understanding that you'd need them to be on the board, because the Leader pool is not a system, nor is it considered the Rebel Base space. 
     
    You can do a real neat combo with that card though: You can move your big Rebel fleet with Lando, then when your opponent attempts a mission you can use Undercover to move Lando there (I think you can even add another leader from your pool, meaning lots of resistance!), and then you can move your fleet again because it's no longer pinned! I surprised an unprepared Imperial fleet that way the other day. Very satisfying.
  4. Like
    Tract got a reaction from NukeMaster in Undercover Action Card   
    It's my understanding that you'd need them to be on the board, because the Leader pool is not a system, nor is it considered the Rebel Base space. 
     
    You can do a real neat combo with that card though: You can move your big Rebel fleet with Lando, then when your opponent attempts a mission you can use Undercover to move Lando there (I think you can even add another leader from your pool, meaning lots of resistance!), and then you can move your fleet again because it's no longer pinned! I surprised an unprepared Imperial fleet that way the other day. Very satisfying.
  5. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Hersh in Undercover Action Card   
    I'm pretty sure it is. The rule is that a fleet cannot be moved out of a system where one or more of your leaders is present. If you're able to remove that leader for whatever reason, then you should be free to move again. It would be the same thing if you moved your fleet, then the Boba Fett mission (capture bounty or something) was done on your leader, which pulled them back to the nearest Imperial system. You no longer have a leader there, so go ahead.
  6. Like
    Tract got a reaction from games in Undercover Action Card   
    It's my understanding that you'd need them to be on the board, because the Leader pool is not a system, nor is it considered the Rebel Base space. 
     
    You can do a real neat combo with that card though: You can move your big Rebel fleet with Lando, then when your opponent attempts a mission you can use Undercover to move Lando there (I think you can even add another leader from your pool, meaning lots of resistance!), and then you can move your fleet again because it's no longer pinned! I surprised an unprepared Imperial fleet that way the other day. Very satisfying.
  7. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Stone37 in Rebellion first game impressions and questions   
    1. You're right, there's no reason you can't do multiple missions in the same system. This can be a good thing, because it allows you to stack symbols for later missions. All present leaders contribute their symbols to the roll, so for example if you use Mon Mothma's starting action card to put Utapau's ships on the build queue and then assign Leia to Utapau with Build Alliance, you'd be rolling 5 dice (3+2), if the Empire even bothers to oppose that.
     
    2. Yes, the Rebels still have a chance with leader disparity. The game is practically designed with Rebel leader disparity in mind, since the Empire has so much chance to capture. The trick with the Rebels is that you need to figure out if rescuing that leader is going to be worth the investment it will take, whether that's a couple leaders this turn, or sending in the fleet to take out the Imperial presence in the system. Sometimes it's worth it, sometimes you just let it go.
     
    3. Structures cannot win battles. As soon as there are no other Rebel ground units left in a battle, structures are immediately destroyed and the Empire wins the battle. Structures can be destroyed early if it's important to your strategy, but often they're just left alone and the rest of the enemies are taken out. 
     
    4. The Rebels are forced to retreat, unless they have the Death Star Plans objective (since they can then destroy the DS). If the Rebels don't have a leader there allowing them to retreat, then I believe their ships are automatically destroyed.
  8. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Stone37 in Rules question: Leader on a mission card that can't complete   
    To answer the unspoken question, you don't get to assign the leader to a different task that round. They are "wasted".
  9. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Hersh in Unit cap at reb base?   
    As a result, 7 is typically an ideal number of units to keep at the Rebel base. With 7 units, your presence will be far from nothing, but the Empire will still be drawing only 1 Probe card for playing Gather Intel. Remember, Ion Cannons and Shield Generators count toward this limit!
  10. Like
    Tract reacted to Ou1975 in Anyway to escape the Deathstar   
    The Empire can't retreat from a system with the death star, the rebels can though
  11. Like
    Tract got a reaction from cvtheoman in Naming the Regions   
    Ugh. Star Wars has always been really bad for consistency with scale and how long it takes to get places but... how the **** did Starkiller shoot Hosnian Prime, and it was seen from Takodana? Absurd. A distance like that should have taken weeks in hyperspace.
  12. Like
    Tract got a reaction from cvtheoman in Captured leader Ring + Carbonite Ring   
    I'm under the impression that this has been clarified to state that you can have two captured leaders at once, but only one Captured Leader, that is, using the ring. The Carbonite ring allows you to have a second captured leader.
     
    3. A leader with the captured ring and a leader with the carbonite ring at the same time?

    Craig S. posted:
    "I got a response from Corey that I cannot quote directly, but it confirms what most of us suspect: one leader can have the Carbonite ring while another has the captured ring, for a total of two leaders captured at one time."
    From: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1558827/official-rules-clarifications-ffg
  13. Like
    Tract got a reaction from Nazull in Captured leader Ring + Carbonite Ring   
    I'm under the impression that this has been clarified to state that you can have two captured leaders at once, but only one Captured Leader, that is, using the ring. The Carbonite ring allows you to have a second captured leader.
     
    3. A leader with the captured ring and a leader with the carbonite ring at the same time?

    Craig S. posted:
    "I got a response from Corey that I cannot quote directly, but it confirms what most of us suspect: one leader can have the Carbonite ring while another has the captured ring, for a total of two leaders captured at one time."
    From: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1558827/official-rules-clarifications-ffg
×
×
  • Create New...