Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Tract

  1. There could be only one faction of Space Marines and 40k would still have tons of diversity, so pointing to there being many SM factions doesn't detract from the diversity of that game and the lack of it in Star Wars. Old Republic, Empire, and First Order would just about all be the same thing. Rebellion and Resistance, same thing. That takes your 6 factions down to 3.
  2. One of the things I love about this game (and miniature hobbies in general) is that the lore is flexible enough to enable you to make your own things. There are no rules in this game as to what your Daqan troops are "supposed" to look like, or whether Waiqar has colors his troops normally wear. Your elves don't even have to be Latari, per se. You can paint them as Drow or anything you want. The place where this freedom really falls apart for me though, is the unit cards! For one thing the art is all in the "standard" colors, but more importantly, the heroes are all named the same thing. It doesn't matter that my humans are from the country of Aegoran, wearing the colors of Dol Turath, Urgon, and Sirion; they're still being led by Kari Wraithstalker and Lord Hawthorne. All that to say, how awesome would it be if FFG made the templates for the unit cards available, so we could fill in the names with whatever we wanted, and even have them colored the way we wanted?
  3. Hey all, I'm a Daqan player looking to get myself some of that sweet sweet ranged action. Now obviously, my question is a little bit skewed in terms of release dates, but let's not get distracted with that. My question is, are you better off taking Heavy Crossbows or Deepwood Archers? For 31 points you can take a 3x1 unit of Crossbows with Rank Discipline (Precise 1), rolling a red and a blue at range. For 30 points you can have a 2x2 unit of Elves which come with Precise 1 already, and using Hawthorne you can turn it into a 4x1, rolling two blues. I recognize that in order to make the Elves work you need to have both Daqan heroes on the field, but at this point of the game that seems to be a given for me anyway. There's no difference in terms of money cost; both set ups would require buying two unit boxes. Discuss!
  4. The thing is, moving between systems already requires a hyperspace jump. It's not unusual for hyperspace jumps to happen in multiple "legs", where you jump to this place, then that place, and make your way to your destination. So thematically you'd have no grounds for this rule, but also you'd really really be messing up the tactics of the game. The Empire would win every time, I think, since it would be so easy to get all the way across the map. 5 systems holy smokes you could go from Coruscant to Mon Cal.
  5. Offhand, I don't see why not. Unless there's a rule that states only one action card can be played in the window or something, but I don't recall that being the case.
  6. It depends. Sometimes a new Imperial player gets so caught up in things like projects and missions that they forget to explore in the first game, and the Rebel base doesn't get found. My experience though is that people sitting down to play a game like this go "ooooh Star Destroyers! I wanna invade that one!", which is the essential Imperial motto, and the Rebel method is much more subtle and difficult to grasp immediately.
  7. To OP: 1. Yes, it is simply damage dealt. That it is equivalent to the red damage of your ship in orbit is inconsequential; you may assign the damage among eligible units as you see fit. 2. The Rebels sending a leader to defend combat initiated by Catch Them By Surprise is only contingent on them having a leader in their pool. It is a combat like any other, and one of those steps is the option to send a leader to the combat. To NathanBeitler: The order those events would need to happen is: Catch Them By Surprise Resolve Combat that results Assignment Phase ends, Command Phase Begins Rebels reveal Rapid Mobilization ENTIRE COMMAND PHASE HAPPENS Rapid Mobilization resolves. That's how the Rapid Mobilization card reads: it happens at the end of the phase after revealing it.
  8. I gotta necro-post here because it doesn't seem this was totally resolved. Scenario is: 1) Rieekan is captured in Naboo 2) Han Solo (with Millenium Falcon ring) performs Infiltration in Naboo 3) Darth Vader opposses Infiltration 4) Han Solo succeeds 5) Millenium Falcon ring is discarded, Rieekan is rescued 6) Darth Vader plays It Is Your Destiny to capture Han Solo. Legal? I think it comes down to resolution steps, as in, where does the text of Infiltration actually come into play ("if you succeed...")? In my estimation (without the rules in front of me) the Mission resolution order looks like this: A) Reveal mission B) Place leader in system C) Opportunity to oppose C-a) if opposed, roll dice D) Determine success or failure (compare results) E) Trigger reactions to success of mission (like, for example, Millenium Falcon) F) Resolve remainder of text on mission card If that's the order, then my scenario should be legal. If the order is instead: D) Determine success or failure (compare results) E) Resolve remainder of text on mission card F) Trigger reactions to success of mission (like, for example, Millenium Falcon) Then we might be able to argue that the mission has resolved, and so It Is Your Destiny can't be used. But that's ridiculous, because then how would It Is Your Destiny ever resolve? Think about For the Greater Good or Daring Rescue. Those cards actually require the resolution of the "If successful" clause for the leader to be rescued, which *should* end the mission in this thinking. But then It Is Your Destiny couldn't be played, because it's no longer "during a mission". I think we have to conclude that "during a mission" means "during a player's command phase turn in which they've attempted or resolved a mission". But I really want to make sure I'm getting this right.
  9. I'm pretty sure it is. The rule is that a fleet cannot be moved out of a system where one or more of your leaders is present. If you're able to remove that leader for whatever reason, then you should be free to move again. It would be the same thing if you moved your fleet, then the Boba Fett mission (capture bounty or something) was done on your leader, which pulled them back to the nearest Imperial system. You no longer have a leader there, so go ahead.
  10. It's my understanding that you'd need them to be on the board, because the Leader pool is not a system, nor is it considered the Rebel Base space. You can do a real neat combo with that card though: You can move your big Rebel fleet with Lando, then when your opponent attempts a mission you can use Undercover to move Lando there (I think you can even add another leader from your pool, meaning lots of resistance!), and then you can move your fleet again because it's no longer pinned! I surprised an unprepared Imperial fleet that way the other day. Very satisfying.
  11. Not to be a jerk, but what did you think they were for? And how have you been building units till now? I'm genuinely curious in what other ways that could have been interpreted.
  12. 1. You're right, there's no reason you can't do multiple missions in the same system. This can be a good thing, because it allows you to stack symbols for later missions. All present leaders contribute their symbols to the roll, so for example if you use Mon Mothma's starting action card to put Utapau's ships on the build queue and then assign Leia to Utapau with Build Alliance, you'd be rolling 5 dice (3+2), if the Empire even bothers to oppose that. 2. Yes, the Rebels still have a chance with leader disparity. The game is practically designed with Rebel leader disparity in mind, since the Empire has so much chance to capture. The trick with the Rebels is that you need to figure out if rescuing that leader is going to be worth the investment it will take, whether that's a couple leaders this turn, or sending in the fleet to take out the Imperial presence in the system. Sometimes it's worth it, sometimes you just let it go. 3. Structures cannot win battles. As soon as there are no other Rebel ground units left in a battle, structures are immediately destroyed and the Empire wins the battle. Structures can be destroyed early if it's important to your strategy, but often they're just left alone and the rest of the enemies are taken out. 4. The Rebels are forced to retreat, unless they have the Death Star Plans objective (since they can then destroy the DS). If the Rebels don't have a leader there allowing them to retreat, then I believe their ships are automatically destroyed.
  13. In general, I'm very thorough as the Empire. That means I'm leaving stormtroopers everywhere, especially on Remote planets, and doing my best to build up loyalty. I usually open with Rule by Fear and R&D, and 2 fleet movements, unless I get a really killer starting hand like Fear Will Keep Them In Line, or something similar. I think the turn 4 victory was somewhat luck, where not only did I find the base but had enough around to be able to drop it in one assault.
  14. I think the Rebels are more forgiving of mistakes, but it still seems to be the Empire's game to lose. I won on Saturday night as the Empire. On turn 4. That wasn't the first time, either. My friend group is at the point where the big question is "how does the Rebellion fight back", which is weird because it makes everyone want to play the Rebels! I think that moving the Reputation marker's starting position is a perfect way to give a handicap to either side. I've considered pushing it to 15 when teaching, since it makes a lot of sense to put the newbie on the Empire.
  15. To answer the unspoken question, you don't get to assign the leader to a different task that round. They are "wasted".
  16. As a result, 7 is typically an ideal number of units to keep at the Rebel base. With 7 units, your presence will be far from nothing, but the Empire will still be drawing only 1 Probe card for playing Gather Intel. Remember, Ion Cannons and Shield Generators count toward this limit!
  17. Because Vader is shown on the Action card, he needs to be in the system in order for you to use it. Vader may not oppose the rescue mission, because if memory serves they're often Intel missions and he doesn't have any of those symbols; however he still needs to be present in order to use that Action card.
  18. Hmm I'm not sure you can retreat forward like that unless there really were no other options. It'd be good to check the rules. My shortest game was also 4 rounds. Rebel base was on Endor and I (the Imperials) was being thorough. 6-8 seems pretty typical for a Rebel win, though the Empire can also win at that point.
  19. MC *can* be a great location. If you had it dealt as a starting planet, and if the Empire didn't get dealt Saleucami, and especially if they *also* didn't get dealt Mandalore, then MC is suddenly 3 jumps from the nearest system, Mygeeto. However, you're still likely to get the Imps playing a "gain loyalty" card on it and stripping yours, which though it won't reveal the base, will make you have to get it back in order to protect the planet. I'd still expect the Imperial player to bee-line for it.
  20. He's referring to the initial gaining of Imperial loyalty that caused the base to be revealed. Rule by Fear, the starting Imperial mission, can only be conducted in a system that contains Imperial units.
  21. ^What he said. Your premise is flawed. There are only 5 4 planets which are 2 jumps from a starting Imperial system: Yavin, Nal Hutta, Ryloth, Utapau, and Endor. There can be more depending on what the Empire draws as their start, but I mean you get to know where their units and stuff are before you have to pick your base anyway. Edit: Went and checked the map, and it turns out Yavin shouldn't be on that list either.
  22. It's a very common mistake to misunderstand the timing of the Action cards. When something has the heading Assignment, it's resolved during the Assignment phase, not during the Command phase. So when you're putting your leaders on missions or leaving them in the pool, at that time, you get to trigger that mission.
  23. Ugh. Star Wars has always been really bad for consistency with scale and how long it takes to get places but... how the **** did Starkiller shoot Hosnian Prime, and it was seen from Takodana? Absurd. A distance like that should have taken weeks in hyperspace.
  24. What you're calling Death Star Troopers are just Imperial Gunners. http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Imperial_gunner They're no more exciting than Stormtroopers - in fact they're likely worse in combat, since they're Imperial Navy soldiers whose primary task is the firing of weapons like Turbolasers.
  • Create New...