Disagree with you on every level, a system that is binary win/lose is much worse, and your solution would mean a close game where you lose on the first round would mean no point in playing your remain games at all.
I've got the lists. Sean and Jason play each other all the time, so they split the bye (Sean) and trophy (Jason) and drove back to Richmond. Jason was running Jerry squadrons. Sean was running a hilarious Cracken Hammerhead swarm with boarding engineers.
Madine is done and buried for me. I'm officially burned out. I think my next experiment will be a Jerry MSU, which I think can better handle squadrons. This seemed to be a very Imp squadron heavy Regional and I got mauled the two times I ran into swarms of bombers. Ironically I would have been fine against Ace Holes. It was the speed of Squall plus TIE Bombers that was my down fall. I just couldn't get away. Imps have more tools (better flak, reliable Flechettes) in my mind to go minimal.
Or I just might go back to Rebel squadrons. I stopped running it because everyone else started doing it, but man I miss the squadron game.
TO just sent a message to FFG. TO posted this in our FB group:
I am the designated TO For the US Nationals being held in Washington D.C. and there is currently a hot debate about ADM Sloane's ability that I'm being asked to make a ruling on in advance of the tournament to provide better clarity for players competing.
The crux of the issue is whether or not ADM Sloane's Spending of the defender's defense token will prevent them from using the same token (or a similar one also equipped) during Step 4 of the attack (defender chooses to spend defense tokens).
I ruled that since Sloane's ability says "spend 1 of the defender's defense tokens" and the Armada Rules reference (ARR) says "The defender cannot spend more than one defense
token of each type per attack" he/she may not elect to spend a similar token for the desired effect (e.g. spend a second brace when one has already been spent by an attacker using Sloane's ability)
However, because i read the token as being spent, and not being spent as part of the cost to produce an effect of an upgrade (Like turbolaser reroute circuits or ADM Darth Vader's ability) that the token produces its normal defense result (e.g. halves the damage in the case of Brace) irrelevant of whether it was the Defender or Attacker who selected to spend the defense token.
To best clarify this issue, I would like to know the following:
1. Does ADM Sloane's ability count as spending for the purpose of allowing the defender to spend the same token (or a similar one) when it becomes his/her turn to elect to spend defense tokens?
2. Do defense tokens only generate their default defense effects when spent by the defender? Or when spent only during step 4 of the attack in the ARR?
I appreciate any assistance you can provide on this issue as my ruling (as written above) and would like to know as soon as possible in order to best alert the coming players the way ADM Sloane should be played.