Dereksson got a reaction from skotothalamos in Maarek Stele Ability and I'll show you the dark side condition card interaction
I'm not sure how Maarek Stele's ability interacts with the 'I'll show you the dark side' condition.
I have Kylo in the Upsilon and Maarek in the TIE Advanced.
Maarek is set up like this to help get crits...
Maarek Stele (TIE Adv)
A Score to Settle
Advanced Targeting Computer
The second part of 'I'll show you the dark side' says this...
'When you suffer critical damage during an attack, you are instead dealt the chosen faceup Damage card.'
Maarek Stele's ability says this...
When your attack deals a faceup Damage card to the defender, instead draw 3 Damage cards, choose 1 to deal, and discard the others.
So is this how things happen?
1) Maarek's attack lands a crit result on a defending ship (which has the 'I'll show you the dark side' condition card assigned to it)
2) The crit result isn't evaded so the defending ship suffers critical damage.
3) The 'I'll show you the dark side' condition activates so the defending ship gets dealt the chosen faceup Damage card (bypassing any shields the defending ship may have)
4) Instead of dealing that card I want to use Maarek's ability. I draw 3 Damage cards and choose 1 to deal, and discard the others.
5) The now 'un-dealt' Damage card on the 'I'll show you the dark side' condition card remains on the card.
Is this right?
Dereksson got a reaction from Rinzler in a Tie in Maarek Stele Ability and I'll show you the dark side condition card interaction
Thanks for the replies.
I might just fly something else to avoid any headaches
Dereksson got a reaction from Moneyinvolved in The Bossk double attack
So are you saying that this is legal?...
Shot 1 from Bossk does not hit, this triggers the IG88B ability for...
Shot 2 from a secondary weapon which hits, Gunner has also been triggered by Shot 1 not hitting resulting in...
Shot 3 from a primary weapon.
I'm asking because Gunner says this...
'After you perform an attack that does not hit, you may immediately perform a primary weapon attack. You cannot perform another attack this round'
and the IG88B ability says this...
'Once per round, after you perform an attack that does not hit, you may perform an attack with an equipped secondary weapon.'
How immediate is 'immediately'?
To me the gunner shot would have to take place immediately after Shot 1 not hitting, so this would be before the IG88B ability shot.
If this is the case and Shot 2 was the gunner shot and it hit the IG88B ability wouldn't trigger.
EDIT... in fact you could never do the IG88B ability shot as the gunner shot has to be the last attack this round.
Please prove me wrong as I'd like to give a similar build with Moralo instead of Bossk a run out.
Dereksson reacted to Raven19528 in The Bossk double attack
Yeah, both would trigger in Step 9 of the Timing Chart for attacks, and the rule of you can choose the order of effects when things activate at the same time means both effects would activate in step 9 of the first attack. As far as tweaks, you could use adaptability to drop Bossk's PS to 6, allowing for the interaction you are looking for. Bossk tends to go down fast (I'd imagine once the opponent realizes he's doing 3 attacks a turn, he'll be even more of target) so I worry about IG-88B after Bossk goes down. If you use adaptability to drop the PS instead, and you drop GlitterStim, you can fit HLC instead of Mangler Cannon. That allows B to be a threat even after Bossk bites the bullet.
Dereksson reacted to dukewolf in The Bossk double attack
Because of the timing chart you can chose the IG second shot or the gunner second shot to go second. So you just have to specify that the IG second shot is going by using the mangler, then shoot your primary weapon. The redit article lays out the timing and he cut and pasted the email response from FFG confirming it works that way. It is a very ugly combo, but it would require you to be good at flying the YV-666 as if anyone gets behind you, your done.
Dereksson reacted to Rear Admiral Nerf in Sell me on a non X/7 or non Defender Imperial Build
I can definitely understand wanting to be the special snowflake. I suffer from that myself quite a bit. However I wouldn't let what other people say about your wins bother you. How many other people were flying a double defenders list that didn't make top 16.
Here is my suggestion!
Rear Admiral Chiraneau
The Admiral flys around at ps 10 stripping focus tokens from your target while handing out a focus to Rexlar. Who is then free to TL all day long and turn all those eyeballs he rolls to hits and spend that focus to turn them all to crits. Oh and he might Ion someone too cause why not!
You could also switch out fleed officer for systems officer to free up the Admirals action but that would require he stay at r1 of Rexler which wouldn't be too hard since he goes after him.
Dereksson reacted to Goseki1 in Palp Shuttle with Defenders using 'A Score To Settle'
I'd likely give it to whatever I was going to point all my ships at and focus down ASAP. Otherwise I'm not sure what would be the best thing between a low shield or low attack ship.
Dereksson reacted to Raven19528 in Palp Mini Swarm
What saves you is the Palp-Wampa combo. Maybe see if you can do something like this:
Omicron Group Pilot — Lambda-Class Shuttle 21
Emperor Palpatine 8
Ship Total: 29
"Wampa" — TIE Fighter 14
Ship Total: 14
Lieutenant Colzet — TIE Advanced 23
Advanced Targeting Computer 1
Ship Total: 24
Black Squadron Pilot — TIE Fighter 14
Crack Shot 1
Ship Total: 15
Black Squadron Pilot — TIE Fighter 14
Crack Shot 1
Ship Total: 15
Gives 3 points to work with. Palp+Wampa+Colzet means you can push 1 crit through shields while all pieces live. You could add Prockets or Advanced Homing Missiles (I prefer Homing with this lineup) to Colzet, or Baffle to the shuttle, or a few other things as well. Those 3 points have a lot of utility on this list. I've been really interested in the Palp+Wampa+Colzet combo lately, and I'd love to see it used competitively.
Dereksson reacted to ObiWonka in Palp Mini Swarm
Off the top of my head, there are a couple things that Aces do better. First, more ships means more rolls means Palpatine's single die change has less of an impact overall; damage is just as likely to get through or not on a different roll. Second, or to put it another way, Aces tend to have such good efficiency, arc-dodging, and other abilities, that they really only need that one die changed per round to make all the difference between getting hit (or pushing damage through) and not.
That's not to say the idea is completely without merit, though. Try it out; I've been curious myself!
Dereksson got a reaction from AEIllingworth in What will this do for me?
I've been trying to come up with a decent Palp-mobile mini swarm to try.
(I'm interested to find out why they're not flown)
I ended up with this...
Omicron Group Pilot (29)
(Lambda-Class Shuttle (21), Emperor Palpatine (8))
Black Squadron Pilot (15) x 3
(TIE Fighter (14), Crack Shot (1))
Academy Pilot (12)
(But I think I like your squad better AEllingworth)