Jump to content

thespaceinvader

Members
  • Content Count

    16,858
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Thanks
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from ForceSensitive in Jedi Starfighter and the Hyperspace Ring, and what else is to come down the line   
    That would be a super neat mechanic. Have the hyper ring be a token you can deploy after setup and start 'docked' to.
  2. Thanks
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from JBFancourt in Chewie’s Alternate Wording?   
    There is separate wording to confirm that fleeing cannot trigger abilities except for ones specifically triggered by fleeing.
  3. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Managarmr in Showcase: YV-666   
  4. Thanks
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Sm00thB0r3 in Stealth Device   
    You're not supposed to repair it, you're supposed to not get damaged in the first place.  You put it on 3-green-die ships that can stack focus and evade, ideally multiple times or with Force as well, or other defensive upgrades, and you make it so that ship just... doesn't get hit.
     
    This doesn't work anywhere near as well as it used to in 1e, partly because stacking defensive tokens is a LOT harder, and partly because it gets turned off by damage, rather than by being hit, so it's a lot easier to lose it to incidental effects..
  5. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Stealth Device   
    You're not supposed to repair it, you're supposed to not get damaged in the first place.  You put it on 3-green-die ships that can stack focus and evade, ideally multiple times or with Force as well, or other defensive upgrades, and you make it so that ship just... doesn't get hit.
     
    This doesn't work anywhere near as well as it used to in 1e, partly because stacking defensive tokens is a LOT harder, and partly because it gets turned off by damage, rather than by being hit, so it's a lot easier to lose it to incidental effects..
  6. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Schu81 in “Suffers” means...   
    Suffering a damage means dealing a card (face up or face down depending on whether it's a hit or a crit) unless you hav active shields, in which case you deactivate a shield instead.
     
    Suffering a damage is usually, but not always, the result of damage dice from an attack.
  7. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Ccwebb in “Suffers” means...   
    Correct.  The default behaviour when damage is suffered is to deal a card.  If a ship has active shields, you don't deal a card, and instead remove a shield.
    It's the most efficient and clear way to write the situation, since not all ships have shields, but all ships can be dealt cards.
  8. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Ccwebb in “Suffers” means...   
    Suffering a damage means dealing a card (face up or face down depending on whether it's a hit or a crit) unless you hav active shields, in which case you deactivate a shield instead.
     
    Suffering a damage is usually, but not always, the result of damage dice from an attack.
  9. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in “Suffers” means...   
    Suffering a damage means dealing a card (face up or face down depending on whether it's a hit or a crit) unless you hav active shields, in which case you deactivate a shield instead.
     
    Suffering a damage is usually, but not always, the result of damage dice from an attack.
  10. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from meffo in “Suffers” means...   
    Suffering a damage means dealing a card (face up or face down depending on whether it's a hit or a crit) unless you hav active shields, in which case you deactivate a shield instead.
     
    Suffering a damage is usually, but not always, the result of damage dice from an attack.
  11. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Bucknife in Showcase: YV-666   
  12. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Ccwebb in Coordinate into Linked action   
    It can perform actions while you coordinate it. Coordinate only gives one.
  13. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Coordinate into Linked action   
    The timing of AP5's ability does. It only applies while you coordinate. The putative linked action would happen afterwards.
  14. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Coordinate into Linked action   
    It can perform actions while you coordinate it. Coordinate only gives one.
  15. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Maui. in Cikatro Vizago   
    No.
     
    You pick a Firespray with a Cloaking Device with 1 charge spent, and a G1A with a Contraband Cybernetics with its charge unspent, and you activate Cikatro, and now the G1A has the Cloaking Device with one charge spent, and the Firespray has the Contraband Cybernetics, with the charge unspent.
     
    If the Firespray has used the Cloaking Device and still has the token, it keeps it, and no longer has to roll to see if the oken must be spent each round (this is by far the most common use for Cikatro).

    At the end of the game, the upgrades are swapped back, which is entirely to make the points costs of the ships not change for the purposes of scoring.
     
    What would make you think the charges are regenerated?  Nothing on his card says anything of the sort.
  16. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Cikatro Vizago   
    No.
     
    You pick a Firespray with a Cloaking Device with 1 charge spent, and a G1A with a Contraband Cybernetics with its charge unspent, and you activate Cikatro, and now the G1A has the Cloaking Device with one charge spent, and the Firespray has the Contraband Cybernetics, with the charge unspent.
     
    If the Firespray has used the Cloaking Device and still has the token, it keeps it, and no longer has to roll to see if the oken must be spent each round (this is by far the most common use for Cikatro).

    At the end of the game, the upgrades are swapped back, which is entirely to make the points costs of the ships not change for the purposes of scoring.
     
    What would make you think the charges are regenerated?  Nothing on his card says anything of the sort.
  17. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Lyianx in Cluster Missiles   
    1: No.  The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement.  The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
    2: Yes.  The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.
     
    Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?
  18. Thanks
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Ryfterek in Obstructed Line of Sight   
    Whether it's the best rule or not is irrelevant to this forum which cares whether it IS the rule or not.
    Which it is.
  19. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Cluster Missiles   
    1: No.  The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement.  The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
    2: Yes.  The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.
     
    Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?
  20. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Ysenhal in Cluster Missiles   
    1: No.  The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement.  The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
    2: Yes.  The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.
     
    Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?
  21. Thanks
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Cpt ObVus in Cluster Missiles   
    1: No.  The only thing the bonus attack is exempt from is the lock requirement.  The core rules state that range and arc must be respected, nothing explicit says they're not, so they are.
    2: Yes.  The core rules say all attacks are subject to the obstruction rules, nothing specific says it's not, so it is.
     
    Just to be sure, you are aware of the rule forbidding more than one extra attack per ship per round, right?
  22. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from Yank01 in Obstructed Line of Sight   
    Whether it's the best rule or not is irrelevant to this forum which cares whether it IS the rule or not.
    Which it is.
  23. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Ved Foslo   
    The other issue with Ved is that absent moves you simply couldn't do without his ability...
    You're better off paying less (or more, and getting better initiative and a better ability), and just learning to dial the right move in the first place.  Better players will be doing that.
     
    Choosing the right move is a key skill of the game, and (absent a few very specific cases which usually come with significant other upsides) paying to get some flexibility in it is not typically something people bother with.
     
    Ved also doesn't offer *that* much differentiation, because he onyl affects speed, which in te end typically only makes a small base or so's worth of different in final position - it doesn't change your facing.
     
    All of which conspires to mean that he can feel incredible as a new play, and can be a helpful learning tool, but he'll tend to be more in the vein of training wheels than a racing bike.
  24. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Ved Foslo   
    No.

    Bearing refers to the symbol, not just the direction.
    A turn is a different bearing from a bank, and from a segnor's loop or tallon roll.
     
    You can only increase or decrease speed, not change symbol.
  25. Like
    thespaceinvader got a reaction from nitrobenz in Ved Foslo   
    It's flexible, but his init is relatively low, so it doesn't come with a lot of information, and he relies on getting locks to be effective, so his linked action isn't great, and he still only clears stress from it on banks and straights.  And you can still block basically his entire dial with a single large base.
     
    It's good, but it's not great.
×
×
  • Create New...