Jump to content

Murth

Members
  • Content Count

    33
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Murth

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

341 profile views
  1. Two padawans are talking. The first says "look, I can lift a rock with the force, just like master did." The second responds "the rock master lifted was bigger than we are, that rock is rather small. I can lift a rock as big as master." Both padawans have Force Rating `1, and the same upgrades to the move power. However the first one used one pip, and the second one used 2 pips. Which one probably rolled Light Side pips, and which one probably rolled Dark Side pips. And which one seems more likely to be using the Dark Side from a narrative standpoint? I think we have the same idea as to how it should work narratively, but disagree how that best translates to the mechanics.
  2. The Dark Side should be tempting because it feels more powerful, not because the Light Side failed you. I think that would be better represented if when the dice did come up Dark Side, it was more likely to be 2 pips instead of one. The reason I was searching for statistics on force dice was the Light Side was feeling more powerful to me, and the dark side was feeling more consistent, and I wanted to see if the math backed that up. To me it does, and it feels wrong.
  3. Looking at the numbers, the Dark Side seems relatively reliable and predictable. And the Light side seems relatively spiky and more likely to fail you on something that should be simple for you when you need it most. That seems to me to be the opposite of how the Light Side and the Dark Side work in cannon (and legends).
  4. With cards like Elemental Furry talking about "unclaimed rings" I am wondering if claimed rings might tie into an enlightenment victory.
  5. The Play/Exhaust part of the rule says "If a player exhausts or plays a card that does not change the game state other than that card being exhausted or played, then they are also considered to have passed their turn instead." the action part of the rule does not say anything similar to the emphasis added part.
  6. The action part of the counts as rule doesn't say "other than taking the action" the Play/Exhaust part of the rule says "other than that card being exhausted or played"
  7. Because playing a card is specifically called out, "If a player exhausts or plays a card that does not change the game state other than that card being exhausted or played, then they are also considered to have passed their turn instead." When you play Noble Sacrifice without a blue character, you follow the steps on pg 13 of the RRG under "Play a Card From Hand" that specify that you remove the card from your hand, if it is an event you attempt to resolve it, and then discard it. This is part of playing the card, and the reason you have fewer cards in hand, and more cards in discard is because of the rules for playing a card. When you discard a card from hand to re-roll, you do not play it, and so the Play a card qualification of the counts as passing rule doesn't come into effect.
  8. The only thing I am aware of that I assumed was a change in the game state was discarding a card, and I feel confident in that assumption, given that discarding a card changes the number of cards in the players hand, the number of cards in their discard pile, and the location of the card discarded. Unless someone comes up with a convincing reason to assume that discarding a card doesn't constitute a change in the game state, or FFG says it doesn't, it seems like the only viable assumption. It also seems unlikely to me that FFG will come out with a list of what counts as a change to the game state, because it would likely be prohibitively long, missing things they intend to be a change in the game state, or both. If there is another assumption I made, or a convincing reason to assume discarding a card doesn't constitute a change in the game state, I would like to hear it.
  9. Does discarding to re-roll and getting the same side count as passing? Well lets look at what the Rules Reference actually says an compare it to the situation. Breaking that down, there are three things we need to consider; Did the action change the game state? Did the player Exhaust a card? and Did the player Play a card? The first consideration, Did the action change the game state? Yes it did, they discarded a card. So this part of the rule doesn't specify that it counts as passing. The second consideration, Did the player Exhaust a card? No they didn't. So this part of the rule doesn't specify that it counts as passing. The third consideration, Did the player Play a card? No, they discarded a card. So this part of the rule doesn't specify that it counts as passing. Therefore it does NOT count as passing, the game state changed, and neither of the exceptions (Exhausting o playing a card) took place.
  10. But do you really want to give your opponent a bad experience just because he believes something you don't? If you think he may be cheating it is one thing, but alienating people for no reason is not something we should be doing as a community.
  11. The big factor for me is we want this game to spread, so we don't want to make new players uncomfortable. Picking up someones dice and rolling them for them may leave them with a bad taste, and they may not play again, particularly in tournaments. Large tournaments are a sign of a healthy game, so lets no alienate people from playing in them.
  12. There are cards that are worded as if they are designed for more than 2 players. I would guess that they plan on releasing "multi-player" rules after, or when, the game releases.
  13. X-Wing was recently listed as the biggest miniature game, even bigger than Warhammer 40k. From what I understand a miniature game being bigger than 40k is kinda like a ccg being bigger than MTG, so I'm not worried about the health of FFG. They seem to be doing well.
  14. Heheh I see what you did there. It took me several times reading through to understand what the OP meant.Which is what, exactly? Kylo is whiny, sure. But I don't understand what is making him a princess.EDIT: Is he saying that he doesn't like Rey, thus because Kylo likes Rey (albeit in a disturbing dark-sided way), he doesn't want to play Kylo? No, he's calling Kylo a whiny princess. Being unkind doesn't have to make sense. However, it is a sexist statement because it implies that women are more often whiny than men.
×
×
  • Create New...