Jump to content

brettpkelly

Members
  • Content Count

    513
  • Joined

  • Last visited

2 Followers

About brettpkelly

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Profile Information

  • Location
    Baltimore, MD

Recent Profile Visitors

1,205 profile views
  1. So grenadier reads -> choose a space within 3 spaces. You're saying you count that out from the figure and not from the figure's space? That's a very subtle distinction.
  2. What about for a 1x1 blocking space? or from one of the edge spire spaces? You'd still not be able to count spaces out right?
  3. Good catch, that seems fairly definitive
  4. If Sabine is on a blocking space, can she throw a grenade off onto a non-blocking space? Why I'd argue no: for this to work you'd have to count spaces from your blocking space to a non-blocking space. Since these spaces are not adjacent you shouldnt be able to count spaces this way. Why I'd argue yes: Counting spaces says you count the number of movement points a figure would have to use. F.A.Q. v30 says "If a figure or object without mobile occupies a space containing blocking terrain, apply the rules for mobile to that figure or object". From that viewpoint a figure moving off of blocking terrain ignores the terrain, and by extension counting spaces off of blocking terrain should ignore the terrain as well.
  5. brettpkelly

    State of the Meta 1-29-19

    It's quite possible, but I don't know for sure.
  6. brettpkelly

    State of the Meta 1-29-19

    they were running this card with Drokkatta and Sabine. Han and RCP was in the list too.
  7. Here are my thoughts on the state of the current Imperial Assault meta. No surprise Spectre is dominating. http://rollfordamage.net/index.php/2019/01/29/state-of-the-meta/
  8. I get it it's just giving me a headache. "After an action resolves" and "after an attack resolves" even if that action was an attack being different timing windows is not something I was aware of and it seems overly complicated to me.
  9. Does the FAQ apply in this case? The latter part of To the Limit isn't explicitly an "after resolving an action" ability. Hit and Run is seems like it should be fully resolved in the "after an attack is resolved stage". Perform an attack. After the attack is resolved gain 3 movement points. How are you not stunned immediately after spending the movement points? Seems like the defender is interrupting instant effects to fit the defender's timing window in. Not saying your interpretation of the rules is wrong, but this seems super counterintuitive to me.
  10. If you want a seat get in there ASAP: http://www.cvent.com/events/adepticon-2019/event-summary-7822dab492fa4ed0bde10d960366d97c.aspx
  11. Fair enough, So you're saying since you can count spaces to a figure on blocking terrain, that means the figure must be adjacent to the space you counted from? Starting to make more sense but I still feel like this is abstracting the definition of adjacent
  12. Nowhere in the counting spaces or adjacency sections of the RRG does it say that adjacent = distance 1. Adjacent being 1 counted space in practice doesn't mean adjacent = distance 1 by definition. The crux of the argument is "does the rules for mobile override the definition of adjacent", specifically "two spaces that share only a blocking edge are not considered adjacent." There's nothing that I can see in the rules that states that a space that is not adjacent to a blocking space, can be adjacent to the figure in that space. I can see that figures or objects can be adjacent to figures or objects in blocking terrain, but it seems to me that the space is not adjacent by definition.
  13. "Blocking terrain spaces are not adjacent to entities. Entities can be adjacent to each other when at least one of them is in a space with blocking terrain. Neither entity is adjacent to the space the other entity occupies. An entity is not adjacent to the space it occupies. (Allowing adjacency between a non-blocking space and an entity on blocking space would make the rules unnecessarily complex to remember and use.)" So here you say that an entity occupying a blocking terrain space is not adjacent to the space targeted by grenadier, aren't you? Deriving a definition for adjacent from the companion rules is a stretch, especially when the rule you quoted is stated to be an exception to normal rules ("A companion follows all normal rules for figures with the following exceptions:"). Just because companions in the same space are defined to be adjacent and require 1 accuracy doesn't mean 1 accuracy = adjacent. The fact the rules state separately that companions are both adjacent AND require 1 accuracy means that those things are not equal. Finally "adjacent is 1 distance" is clearly not always true, as stated in the definition of adjacency "Two spaces that share only an edge that is a wall, blocking terrain, or a door are not adjacent."
  14. Here are the relevant rules: Adjacent: "Two spaces that share only an edge that is a wall, blocking terrain, or a door are not adjacent.", "Two figures that are in adjacent spaces are adjacent figures." Mobile: "If a figure with mobile occupies a space containing blocking terrain, line of sight can be traced to that figure, spaces can be counted to that figure, and adjacent figures can attack that figure." Your argument is basically: "since you can count spaces to a mobile figure on a blocking terrain, that figure is adjacent to spaces surrounding the blocking terrain" but while that is sound logic, it's not explicitly stated in the rules that counting spaces overrides the definition of adjacency. Can you give me a more in depth explanation?
  15. Just to be clear you're saying that if I target a space next to a blocking space with grenadier, a mobile figure on the blocking space will get damaged?
×