Jump to content

TrooperTK422

Members
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About TrooperTK422

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

198 profile views
  1. Yeah, that's pretty much what I was thinking, but I was curious to see if it was just me. I'm pretty sure the intent is that they just want you to be able to barrel roll twice in a turn, but it'd be nice if they could muster enough mastery over the english language and technical writing skills to make that intent more clear.
  2. For reference, Anakin's ability: Before you reveal your maneuver, you may spend 1 force to barrel roll (this is not an action). And here's the line from the RRG on failing a barrel roll: • While attempting to place a ship to complete a barrel roll, the action can fail if any of the following occurs: ◊ All three positions would cause the ship to overlap another ship. ◊ All three positions would cause the ship to overlap or move through an obstacle. ◊ All three positions would cause the ship to be outside the play area (and therefore would cause that ship to flee). So, is it possible for Anakin to perform his non-action barrel roll (aka Spin) to barrel roll onto or through an obstacle? Is it possible to fail something that expressly isn't an action?
  3. From page 4 of the Rules Reference: ACTIVE SHIP: The ship that is currently resolving the Activation or Combat phase is the active ship. So, I think each ship only becomes the "active" ship once during the combat phase, regardless of how many times they shoot. Example: You've got Fenn at PS11 with initiative, your opponent has PS11 Quickdraw. Fenn would shoot first, let's say he deals one damage to QD, and removes a shield. QD then gets to take his revenge shot, because he hasn't become the "active" ship yet, Fenn can't lock his tokens, so if he has a Target Lock or a Focus he can spend it on that attack. Then after that's done, QD becomes the Active ship, and Fenn's ability triggers, and locks any tokens QD has.
  4. Yeah, you would just cancel 0 dice and add 2 hit results. This has been coming up a lot lately now that folks are running a lot of PS10 Nym with Autoblaster Turret and Accuracy Corrector. You can also use this trick to get around the Weapon Failure crit.
  5. Thanks, @ArbitraryNerd hooked me up with a solid google doc that somebody made that had most of the stuff I wanted. I just took that and reformatted it into a PDF that looks closer to the official FFG one (Except that I made sure to put "Unofficial" all over it to avoid confusion). I can pass it on to to others if they want it, but you may not 100% agree with all of my rulings. I guess they really don't plan to release a new FAQ until after Store Championships are over. I get why they'd do that, but on the other hand we need something to help us adjudicate some of the really vague or more complicated cards in the game right now.
  6. Fair enough. I agree, that line of reasoning can cut both ways, and it absolutely needs to be addressed in the next FAQ. I guess it's more that I'm curious about why the majority of people seem to be leaning towards the direction of "No, you can't" when there's at least as much compelling evidence to say that it should be "yes, you can"? Sure, a cloaked Palob with Feedback and Pulse Ray Shield seems annoying, but it's not going to stop the meta in its tracks, so I don't see why people would want to disallow it out of hand based on the fear that it could be abused. Mostly, I need to come up with a stop-gap ruling of some kind on it before running a Store Championship this weekend.
  7. I was unaware of that detail, so thanks for the context on that. However, even considering that to be the case, they didn't bother to specify in the FAQ, which just makes things worse. That also doesn't change the fact that using the logic that "cannot attack" = "no opportunity" means that the TFA Blinded Pilot can't meet the condition to flip itself over. Incidentally, (assuming that the crit functions properly) it would also mean that if you are cloaked and receive a Blinded Pilot crit, you wouldn't be able to flip the crit until you decloak, which is another topic unto itself. Also, the FAQ has this to say with reference to TFA Blinded Pilot: It doesn't specifically mention being Cloaked here, which is where you'd expect to see it if it functions like the other two mechanics mentioned. The Cloak action and the TFA Damage Deck have both been in the game long enough that if they wanted it to prevent your attack "opportunity" due to being cloaked they would have had plenty of time to include that detail in the FAQ.
  8. I tried looking through the threads to see if this already had a thread going, and didn't see it, so if I missed it, my bad. I've seen a few instances now of people claiming that you cannot use Feedback Array while Cloaked. The usual stated logic is that "you have no opportunity to attack, therefore you cannot use Feedback Array". This didn't sit right with me, just because I "can't attack", doesn't mean I don't "have the opportunity". Let's start with what we know. The Blinded Pilot critical damage card, the rules for Obstacles, the Cloak action rules, the rules for the Weapons Disabled token, all use the exact same phrase "You cannot perform attacks" The most recent FAQ states the following with regards to Feedback Array: Ok, so even tho all of those conditions use the same phrase, "You cannot perform attacks", Blinded Pilot still allows you to use Feedback Array, while the others do not. This may seem arbitrary at first, but I think there is logic to it. Here's the full text from Blinded Pilot: The phrase "you cannot perform attacks" can't deny you the "opportunity" to attack. Otherwise Blinded Pilot would never meet the condition for flipping it over. In other words, if I can't use Feedback Array while I'm cloaked, then the Blinded Pilot crit is a permanent condition for the rest of the game. Therefore, I submit that the problem is that these effects are all worded the same, when the intent seems to be different based on what is denying you the ability to shoot. It would seem that FFG is of the opinion that landing on an Obstacle or having a Weapons Disabled token, effectively makes you skip your "opportunity" to attack, while Blinded Pilot and being Cloaked merely prevent you from shooting, while leaving the "opportunity" intact. I realize that there's no small amount of speculation within my logic, but it seems pretty solid to me. Ultimately, we need a FAQ to clear this whole mess up, but since we're clearly not getting one until after Store Championship season is over, I need something to base my ruling on in the meantime. Also, if there's an email from Frank or Alex that I'm not aware of that either confirms or contradicts this, please let me know.
  9. I didn't want to create a whole new thread for this, but has anybody made a stop-gap FAQ in PDF form that I could steal for my upcoming Store Championship? I'd like to let players know ahead of time how we'll be ruling on some of this stuff, so nobody feels like they got ambushed on a ruling.
  10. With the C-ROC finally out, we decided to play some Epic for the first time in a while at my local store. During the course of the game, my C-ROC picked up the Deck Breach crit which reads: "Place 1 of the Upgrade cards equipped to this section under this card. You cannot use that Upgrade card while this card is faceup. Energy: Spend 2 energy to flip this card facedown." I had the title Merchant One equipped, so my first choice was to slip the title under the crit, presuming that it would work like Integrated Astromech and R2-D6, in that "losing" the title would not affect the upgrades I'd taken in the slots the title provided. My opponents didn't see it that way, and to keep things moving I just chose another upgrade to get hit by the crit. After the game I looked around online and didn't see any kind of official ruling on this, but with the IA+R2-D6 thing as precedent it would seem like you could just assign the title to the crit and not really lose anything, is that right? I seem to remember there being an argument about this same crit back when the CR-90 came out, but I don't think it ever got an official ruling.
  11. Reading over the new tournament rules it seems like FFG has decided to change the way half points for large ships works. The "End of Match" section used to say: "When calculating a score, each player receives half the total squad point value (rounded down) of each enemy large ship whose combined total hull and shields, including any Hull Upgrades or Shield Upgrades, have been reduced to half or below." It now reads: "When calculating Margin of Victory (see “Margin of Victory” below), each player receives half the total squad point value (rounded down) of each enemy large ship whose combined total hull and shields, including any Hull Upgrades or Shield Upgrades, have been reduced to half or below." If I'm understanding this correctly that means that your "score" does not necessarily equal your MoV for the match. Here's an example. Player-A is flying Han Solo (55 points) and Corran Horn (35 points) against Player-B who is flying Vader (35 points), Fel (35 points) and an Omicron Group Pilot with Palpatine (29 points). Their match goes to time, and at the end of the game Corran, Fel and the OGP are all dead, while Han is at 1 hull remaining. Player-A "scores" 64 points for destroying Fel and the OGP. Player-B "scores" 35 points for destroying Corran Horn. Player A wins the match. However, the MoV for that round would be Player-A 129 and Player-B 98. Is this correct? Edit: oops, I didn't see that there was already a thread on this topic (with a better example), sorry!
  12. Thanks fellas. I love the idea that you have to keep killing Biggs even though he's already dead. Follow up clarification; the destroyed ship stays on the board and it's game effects remain in play until it has had "the opportunity" to attack. That means that the ship and all its effects remain in play even if it didn't have a shot that turn (nothing in arc/range), correct? For example with Biggs, say he's within range 1 of another friendly ship, and he gets killed by another PS5 ship before he's had his chance to shoot. However he doesn't have an enemy ship in arc. He still remains in play until he gets his turn to shoot, meaning that other enemy ships shooting at PS5 would have to shoot him if they could, right? Some folks were arguing that having "the opportunity" to attack requires that you could actually attack something within that combat round. But I'm fairly certain it just means that they stick around until it's their turn to shoot, regardless of if they actually have a shot or not.
  13. Can you continue to fire at a ship that has been reduced to 0 Hull, but has not yet taken its Simultaneous Fire attack? For example, player one has the Initiative and has 2 ships that are PS8, player 2 has one remaining ship at PS8. Player 1 attacks with the first of his two ships and manages to kill player 2's last ship. Player 2's ship remains in play because it will get its Simultaneous fire attack before it is removed from play. Can Player 1's second ship shoot Player 2's ship in the hopes that he'll force player 2 to draw a crit like Blinded Pilot or Weapons Failure?
  14. Something I recently noticed about the Rules Reference guide is that there is an inconsistency in the language regarding spending Focus tokens. In the section about the Focus action it says "Ships with the focus icon in their action bar may perform the focus action. To perform the action, assign one focus token to the ship. When attacking or defending, the ship may spend that token to change all of its (focus) results to (hit) results (on attack dice) or (evade) results (on defense dice). All unspent focus tokens are removed from ships during the End phase." However on the back cover of the same book under the Quick Reference Guide it says the following: "Focus: Place 1 focus token on the ship. During the Combat phase, spend it to change all of the ship’s (focus) results to (hit) results (when attacking) or to (evade) results (when defending)." The difference is minor, but it is significant for Corran Horn, who makes his "Double Tap" attack during the End phase. If the Quick Reference guide is the correct interpretation then Corran can't spend any Focus tokens on his attack and his target wouldn't be able to spend any Focus or Evade tokens in defense. My guess is that the version found in the actual Reference Guide is the correct one, but as of now they are inconsistent.
×
×
  • Create New...