Jump to content

Bayushi Shunsuke

Members
  • Content Count

    235
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Bayushi Shunsuke

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

449 profile views
  1. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Restricted List Updated

    Against the Waves coming off is a pretty decent punch in the face to Dragon. They have decent Shugenja running around.
  2. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Starting Value on Honor Dials

    Can you please submit all of your Q&As (https://form.jotform.co/82138997823875), so I can upload to 5RDB.
  3. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Taryu-Jiai and the new dueling rules?

    Previously, Taryu-jiai could be claimed to be falling under the Jade Rule (contradicting the duel/challenge section, which stated the duel's participants needed to be in the conflict). The new ninja edit removes that possibility, IMO. For a card to 'directly contradict' the RRG, so the Jade Rule comes into effect, it would need to have text similar to "...choose a character not in the conflict..." Taryu-Jiai does not have this contradiction, so should now fall under the regular duel requirements on page 25.
  4. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Restricted List Updated

    Three censors in one post. Pretty sure that means we can all ignore anything further you have to say on this matter.
  5. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Hida Kisada vs Feral Ningyo

    No googling involved. All it takes is to memorise the rulings on 5RDB. 😋 That section was cut from Limit X per [period] and added to the new section.
  6. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Hida Kisada vs Feral Ningyo

    https://fiveringsdb.com/card/feral-ningyo I haven't had a chance to read the new Rules Reference to see what changed.
  7. Bayushi Shunsuke

    [Ruling] Honest Challenger

    For the new “initiate a duel” templating, the following conditions are inherently applied to which characters can be chosen:- One character controlled by you (initiating the duel) and one by an opponent.- If the ability is triggered from a character, that character must be chosen for the duel.- If the ability is triggered during a conflict, both characters chosen must be participating in the conflict. As for the Honest Challenger’s composure ability, the +2Mil will modify the skill of the challenger as soon as the dial for her duel is revealed, before resolving the duel. If she duels another Honest Challenger (for example), the player who bids 1 will win the duel against the player who bids 2, as the skill totals will be 5 (skill+composure+bid) vs 4 (skill+bid). [Tyler Parrott, October 10, 2018]
  8. Bayushi Shunsuke

    [Ruling] Honest Challenger

    When the owner activates the ability, Honest Challenger doesn't have to be in the current conflict, but will be the owners character in the duel? Does the owner of the challenger get to pick their opponent's character for the duel? Also does the selected character have to be participating in the battle or can they be at home? Also for honest challenger She would receive her composure +2 Military at D.4 ( reveal honor dials ) if your bid is lower, before Compare Skill Value and Determine Result in D.7?
  9. Bayushi Shunsuke

    [Ruling] Social Puppeteer

    With Court Games/Social Puppeteer, you don’t resolve the option that was not selected. If an opponent plays Court Games and selects“honor a character you control,” then the Puppeteer cannot be chosen (it’s not a character they control). If an opponent plays Court Games and selects “your opponent dishonors one of their characters,” then the Puppeteer must be the one chosen to be dishonored, as it can target her. For Harmonize, the cost of the opponent’s target is based on your target—if you Harmonize with a 2-cost character, Puppeteer cannot be chosen as she does not cost 2 or less. If multiple Puppeteers are in play and a single-target event is played, it must target one of them. It is not able to target the other, as it cannot target both! [Tyler Parrott, October 10, 2018]
  10. Bayushi Shunsuke

    [Ruling] Social Puppeteer

    If a card gives multiple options, only one of which allows Social Puppeteer to be targeted, do you have to take that option? For instance, if SP is participating in a political conflict and I play Court Games, do I have to choose the option where my opponent choose a character to dishonor, as that is the only way to target her? Or am I still free to choose to honor a character I control? If I play Harmonize, do I have to choose her and a 3+ cost character, or am I free to choose a 2 cost character and then a 1-2 cost target? What happens if my opponent has two Social Puppeteer in play and both are valid targets for an event? Can I choose one of them, or can I not play that event?
  11. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Breaking Provinces

    In step 3.2.3, you determine who won the conflict, and by how much. Then in step 3.2.5, any excess gets applied to the province (including any Holding bonus). So, to answer your question, technically Yes, but just in different steps. Eg. You win the conflict X strength to your opponent's Y. If the X-Y is greater than (or equal to) the strength of Province+Holding, the province is broken.
  12. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Breaking Provinces

    3.2.3. Compare skill values¶↑ The conflict type indicates which skill value is used to resolve the conflict. During a military conflict use military skill. During a political conflict use political skill. First, determine the attacking player's total skill in the conflict by adding together the skill (that matches the conflict type) of each ready attacking character and factor in all active modifiers. Then determine the defending player's total skill in the conflict by adding together the skill (that matches the conflict type) of each ready defending character and factor in all active modifiers. The player whose side has the higher total skill wins the conflict. In order to win a conflict, a player must count a total skill of 1 or higher. In the case of a tie, the conflict is won by the attacking player. If both players count 0 skill, the conflict resolves with no winner, and the ring is returned to the pool of unclaimed rings. 3.2.4. Apply unopposed¶↑ If the attacking player won the conflict and the defending player controls no participating characters (in step 3.2.3), the conflict is considered "unopposed." The defending player loses 1 honor and returns it to the general token pool. If the defending player or no player won the conflict, nothing happens during this step. 3.2.5. Break province¶↑ If the attacking player won the conflict by an amount equal to or greater than the strength of the attacked province (in step 3.2.3), the province is broken. Rotate the province 180 degrees to indicate this. If the attacking player wins a conflict and breaks a province, he or she may immediately discard any dynasty card on that province. The card is replaced facedown from its controller's dynasty deck. If the defending player or no player won the conflict, nothing happens during this step.
  13. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Breaking Provinces

    What you want is the Rules Reference document. Page 22 to be exact. https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/95/ea/95eab8a3-1149-4398-bcad-40a2d87be600/l5c01-online_rulesreference_v16.pdf
  14. Bayushi Shunsuke

    Akodo Kage and Contingency Plan

    The key phrase is "set that opponent's honor dial to be equal to yours". "Yours" has to refer to your honor dial. (But maybe someone with an English degree can jump in and use exact grammar definitions to explain 🙂 )
  15. All of the Keeper/Seeker role cards are in the Core Set. (Each element is double sided: Seeker on one side, Keeper on the other.) Info on Role choices/legality can be found here: https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/op/l5r-lcg/roles/
×