Jump to content

TheItsyBitsySpider

Members
  • Content Count

    368
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About TheItsyBitsySpider

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

555 profile views
  1. The only times I will play Jigoku against others are with people I know, and we are usually chatting online as well during the game. Nothing is wrong with Jigoku, people just can give the absolute minimal investment in the opponent online with no recourse, so these bad habits just come out.
  2. This^ Mordor's geography is anything but natural. In fact most of the unique natural wonders of that world came from the intervention of the divine. I don't know if Morgoth crafted the mountains of Mordor. His home was farther north west of Beleriand, long sunk beneath the waves at the end of the First Age, but the ancient mountains that surrounded Angband were wrought by his hands until Ancalagon broke them upon his death. The point still stands that Sauron had the power to shape the world, twisting it in his own manner, in similar manners to how Eldrond upkeeps Rivendell and Galadrial locks Lothlorian in its golden beauty. As for Rokugan, the answer that "the kami did it" isn't a cop out, but the actual truth in the setting. Everything is pretty much done by them. Laws of nature are upheld by respect to the kami, not the other way around.
  3. Real talk though, in this setting everything is run technically by the kami, who clearly do what they want when they want. For all we know they want those rivers to move in those directions, **** I almost guarantee that over the 1000 years of the empire the rivers have actually changed directions and flow patterns entirely because the kami wished it or a shugenja asked really nicely. Nature doesn't have the rules that we have in our world.
  4. Woah wait, are these straight rivers or curved rivers?
  5. Well they have shown that they want to make these cycle cards. The Way of cycle The Seal of cycle I am sure they will do other cycles of cards, and in that case I am sure we will see the Swords sooner or later, but yeah, the art for the Armors were really solid in Ivory. I use the Spider armor as a computer background currently.
  6. Ok, now I REALLY want to see this as a province, preferably a flip card that has a normal castle in the art on the front and on the back Kusatte Iru with his art having the castle on his back.
  7. I don't even KNOW how they would translate Kusatte Iru into the new game, Lore wise he was op but his province breaking ability would be INSANE in this game.
  8. If only the Phoenix had a card that let them swing for one ring only to claim it and then swap it for another... If only the Phoenix had a card that allowed you to let your opponent win the earth ring only to steal it from them... Oh, wait. They do. Phoenix has ALL the options for this kind of card. Sure his ability will be limited early game, but late game he becomes a nightmare for the opponent to deal with. Most opponents I play shy away from earth when fighting phoenix due to the chance of me turning on Solemn Scholar by winning a defense. Tadaka only synergizes with that perspective.
  9. I see that now. I always assumed that the opponent was the target but reading over the rulings again. I've been playing that wrong for a while lol.
  10. Above Question specifies that the character cannot be chosen as a target of the event. Court games doesn't target, it simply says that either you do X or your opponent does Y. You are told to select one of those two options. It resolves and if you choose the opponent the opponent now has to choose a character. You and the event never target the character, you make the opponent have to choose a character and they choose the character with Above Question. Its not directly targeting the character, but the opponent.
  11. ACTUALLY, I don't even see hidden game areas in the RR, which does actually make this difficult.
  12. The fact that she is face down and thus the game doesn't see her ability as existing. When in the discard the game sees her there and potentially will allow her to trigger, but a face down card's memory isn't existent. Only Back alley hideaway specifically can recall the card under it at this time.
  13. Nothing on her card states that she ignores the participation clause in skill checks either, it doesn't address the rule of participation at all in any "direct" manner, being home is a requirement to activate her ability which gives a flat statement of "it contributes its skill to your side".This matters because the logic required to get to overruling the Participation clause is important to note, because I think it is related to how to resolve her when she is bowed. You cannot have a rule that works only some of the time after all and the Jade rule should function consistently. This is important, because the statement in the card text is flat out. It is not written as, "it contributes as long as it meets other conditions in the RR", otherwise it would contribute but not be counted due to the skill check rules. Its end result of "it contributes its skill to you side" is a seemingly closed statement in the case of this card. If you meet its requirements you get to contribute it's skill to your side. These requirements on the card are: 1. It is an air conflict 2. You have a character participating 3. Kaito is in the home area When these conditions are met, her ability is active and states that "It contributes its skill to your side". THIS is where all the contradictions need to be addressed and resolved with regards to the Jade rule. There is one thing to note, based on her card text and the requirements given for her ability it is possible to be in a situation where you have a bowed Kaito whose ability is actively telling the game state that she is contributing her skill to your side. Being unbowed is not a requirement to have her ability become active, if it was NONE of this would be a problem. Lets say she is unbowed. Why do we say she can override the participation rule. She doesn't specify she can, infact she doesn't say she is participating at all. All she says is that if she is home and meets the other requirements she contributes. So now we logically try to apply her active effect to the game state. The RRG comes up, saying that "participating characters contribute to conflicts", in response we then acknowledge that, because she tells us she is contributing and the rule book is showing her not meeting the condition that a contradiction now exists. This is a direct contradiction, the card says "yes, she is contributing" and the rule reference says "No, because she is not participating". The Jade rule comes into play at this time. It looks at the game state and see Kaito's ability contradicting the Rules Reference and sides with the card effect over the RRG requirements. The Jade rule lets Kaito contribute despite her not participating as her ability overrules the requirement to be participating. Now that the contradiction is resolved logically the game continues. So her ability, state and location are important to help us understand where a contradiction is coming from and logically work out what overrides what due to the Jade Rule. We end up with something like: "Her ability is actively telling the board state she contributes, and she is home which should exclude her normally from contributing due to only participating characters being able to contribute skill, therefor she will overrule the participation clause in the skill check rules due to the Jade Rule specifying that card abilities override Rules Reference Rules." So now we have a framework of what is happening here. Now lets make her bowed, all the other conditions the same, all requirements met, everything else the same. We are left with a bowed Kaito telling the game state that she is contributing to your side due to her ability. Unlike the unbowed scenerio, where the only contradicting RRG rule is that participating characters contribute, this time we have that one and a new one, bowed characters do not contribute to conflicts. So we logically try to apply her active effect to the game state. The RRG comes up, saying that "participating characters contribute to conflicts" and then saying that "Bowed characters do not contribute". So first we can resolve the first contradiction the same way we did above. Her location and her ability tell the table what she is doing and the Jade rule is allowing her to overrule rules that would prevent it. We end up with the same conclusion. "Her ability is actively telling the board state she contributes, and she is home which should exclude normally her from contributing due to only participating characters being able to contribute skill, therefor she will overrule the participation clause in the skill check rules due to the Jade Rule specifying that card abilities override Rules Reference Rules." Ok NOW the bowed contradiction. We acknowledge that right now we have a bowed character who's ability is telling us she is contributing and the rule book is showing her not meeting the condition to contribute, her being bowed. The card says "yes, she is contributing" and the rule reference says "No, because she is bowed," showing us that a contradiction now exists. This is a direct contradiction, the card says "yes, she is contributing" and the rule reference says "No, because she is bowed". Now, if rules are consistent in this game, the The Jade rule comes into play at this time. It looks at the game state and sees Kaito's ability contradicting the Rules Reference and sides with the card effect over the RRG requirements.The Jade rule lets Kaito contribute despite her bowed state as her ability overrules the rules stating that bowed characters do not contribute. Now that the contradiction is resolved logically the game continues. So again her ability, state, and location are important to help us understand where a contradiction is coming from and logically work out what overrides what due to the Jade Rule. We end up with something like: "Her ability is actively telling the board state she contributes, and she is bowed which should exclude her normally from contributing due to only ready characters being able to contribute skill, therefor she will overrule the readied clause in the skill check rules and the Bowed characters rules due to the Jade Rule specifying that card abilities override Rules Reference Rules." The Reason why the answer by the developer is a problem is that both of these are contradictions that occur, with rules that the card itself does not directly reference, rather infir due to the state and location of the card in relation to its abilities being active. Both can be analyzed and worked out the same way using the same Jade Rule, yet in his response the developer states that it overrides one specific contradiction stated in the book and not others, but that isn't mentioned on the card, nor something that the Jade rule would seemingly differentiate against. If this is to be errata to Kaito, them adding a "must be unbowed" requirement to activate her ability, then this problem goes away. But without that then the logic for why only applying the Jade Rule at one situation where the card contradicts the rules, but not at another isn't actually resolved. You have a rule being inconsistently applied. THIS is what I am talking to them about.
  14. Everything you say here is actually incorrect and unsupported by the Rules Reference of the game. Please read it.
  15. Bolded is the big mistake. There is one word specified by the RRG that is unable to be overruled by a card ability, "Cannot", all other are met by the Jade Rule. When you have a card that can have an active ability while it is bowed telling you that it contributes, and a rule book rule telling you she cant the Jade Rule, literally the FIRST rule in the rule reference, tells you that when a contradiction occurs the cards ability always trumps the rule reference. I mean, its literally the first thing you read in that document. She says that if you meet conditions X,Y, and Z she contribute. Being unbowed is not a listed restriction for that ability, as a result a bowed Kaito can have an ability literally telling you she is contributing while she is bowed. The rules then contradict that because "bowed characters cannot contribute" and so you use the literal words of the Jade Rule.
×
×
  • Create New...