Jump to content

LeonardDukes

Members
  • Content Count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. There is some flawed logic here. When I TO, my rule of thumb is that if you mess up then you are at the mercy of your opponent. Dice have been rolled. If you forget one (the nice thing to do is to let your opponent roll the missed die), too bad. If you roll too many, your opponent chooses which die to cancel. Are these rules nice? Maybe not, but they are just and mathematically fair to the player who has been wronged. How on earth is that mathematically fair even a little bit? What you're saying is 'if you make a minor mistake in how many dice you grab, you will automatically roll 1 fewer hits or evades'. As A TO, I am not a legislator, the Pope, or an executive power. I'm a judge. I can only judge by the rules given and what is in front of me. Re-rolling (in this case) changes results that are already there. What should be done with the dice that have been rolled? That is the question I must answer. To re-roll is to disavow everything that has already been done. It would not be fair to the person who has been wronged for 3 blank greens and an evade to be re-rolled to 3 evades.Results are already on the table. Just like when a player chooses a red move on their dial with stress, the opposing player chooses which die count and which are the "extra".I'll admit that when I saw the rule for resolving red maneuvers while stressed, I was a little surprised at the potential harshness of the official solution.On reflection, though, I realized that short of random maneuver selection, there's really no fair way to resolve the error, since it's entirely likely that the ship with the erroneous maneuver is activating after at least one other ship, so the game state has already changed since the Planning Phase. In the case of an erroneous roll, though, if it's caught right away then the game state hasn't changed, and I see no reason not to simply "rewind" to the last legal game state, which is when the dice were in the player's hand. "Fairness" of the erroneous roll changing to another result shouldn't enter into it, since the erroneous roll, by definition, can have no effect on the game state.
  2. One could argue (I won't) that it's not a double standard in responding to the problem "I rolled the incorrect number of dice" but, rather, two different answers to two different problems: "I rolled too many dice" versus "I have not yet rolled all of my dice."I've got a friend who likes to roll his dice one at a time, even if he's rolling 5. I guess he likes to build suspense or something. In his case, he hasn't really "rolled his dice" until they're all on the table. The same could be said for someone who rolled 2 dice but should be rolling 3 or more. If the game play hasn't moved on beyond the actual roll (i.e. no dice have been modified/rerolled), what's the difference between rolling the remaining dice and someone who prefers to roll all their dice one at a time, other than intent?
  3. Note that I'm not arguing that rolling a missing die by itself is *better* than rerolling the entire thing, only that it is sufficient and acceptable. Ultimately, the important thing is that you and your opponent agree on a consistent treatment - either *always* roll just the missing dice or *always* reroll the entire thing; don't pick and choose or you'll end up cherry-picking results (or at least giving the appearance of doing so). The same goes for all these little sportsmanship issues that the core rules don't cover: how to determine if a die is cocked, etc.
  4. But why? I'm asking seriously - I'm curious why it isn't more balanced to simply reroll the correct amount in both instances. You don't get to keep the results you like if you rolled too many. Why should you get to if you rolled too few but like the ones you did roll? If I've rolled 4 dice when I should've rolled 3, there's no fair and impartial way to determine which 3 dice "should have" been my actual roll. If I've rolled 3 dice when I should've rolled 4, there is a perfectly fair and impartial way to determine what the fourth die "should have" been: simply roll it. It's functionally no different than if I rolled my 4 dice one at a time, until I had all 4 results.
  5. Maybe I'm missing something obvious, but what's up with the little triangle symbols overlaid on the TIE Advanced's dial squares?
×
×
  • Create New...