Jump to content

KrisSherriff

Members
  • Content Count

    438
  • Joined

  • Last visited

2 Followers

About KrisSherriff

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday 02/13/1983

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://dicehate.com

Profile Information

  • Location
    Calgary, AB

Recent Profile Visitors

895 profile views
  1. This thread is specifically being linked to in the other discussions as proof that you don't receive the Disarm token. Trust me, I would rather it went away but when people are just using this post as an Official FFG Thread saying that you don't take it, it probably needs to be addressed. Nothing personal and I would rather have not Necro'ed but this is the one people are linking Kris
  2. I accept the premise of your argument that you are not performing a Reload action. Let us quantify what this means given the rules reference you have quoted. If the ship had access to both a 2nd Action and a True [Reload] Action on it could perform the [Reload] Action in addition to the Action on the Energy Shell Charge. Given that we know that Hyenas have a Reload Action (You can make out the Red Reload on the Wave 4 Spoiler article) and that the Faction has access to Coordinate (through Palpatine) this seems like a logical reason to word the card the way it is to define it as not the Reload Action. Moving on to address the assertion you make that because you are not doing a Reload Action that you do not need to perform the steps for Reload in the RRG. You give no support to why Reloading is different from the [Relaod] Action other than for the reason I stated, you just state it as a given. There is nothing anywhere in the rules to imply that you can Recover a Charge through a Reload outside of the 2nd Step of a 3 Step Process and so for that interpretation to hold any merit you would need to present a case for why you would skip other steps, given what is written on either the card or any other supporting rules documentation. As an example, I will put forwards that we can Skip Step 1 of the Reload process, this is because it is written on the card that the Action only Reloads that card. I am yet to find any written evidence that you can stop at Step 2 or that there is any other way for Reload to mean Recover One Charge without performing Step 2 at all. If you can't make a case for either being able to stop at step 2 or recovering without performing it, then there is no case for not gaining a Disarm Token.
  3. Even reading just the rules reference you have to, ignore parts of the advanced maneuvers section, not understand the function of the comma, and extrapolate rules form the descriptive text. It was the wrong call, it happens, I have made them, every TO has made an incorrect call at some point I am sure. My only concern is making sure we get it correct moving forwards. Kris. n.b. Had I been playing at the event, or any other event, I would have respected the TO Ruling and gotten on with my life, after the event had finished I would have taken the time to calmly explain that I think they called that the incorrect way and asked them to take some time to look at it again without the stress of running an event and then left it there. being an *** to a Judge, TO or Marshal does no one any good.
  4. OK, here it goes. Exert from the Rules Reference Guide for Advanced maneuvers Page 6 " Advanced Maneuvers The following bearings are for advanced maneuvers. These have exceptions to the standard rules for executing a maneuver. • Koiogran Turn: The 󲁤 (Koiogran turn) bearing advances a ship straight forward, changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁞 maneuver. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, the player slides the ship’s front guides into the end of the template instead of the rear guides. • Segnor’s Loop: The 󲁣 (left Segnor’s Loop) and 󲁥 (right Segnor’s Loop) bearings advance a ship at a shallow curve to one side, then reverses its facing. This uses the same template as the 󲁝 and 󲁟 maneuvers. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, the player slides the ship’s front guides into the end of the template instead of the rear guides. • Tallon Roll: The 󲁢 (left Tallon Roll) and 󲁦 (right Tallon Roll) bearings advance a ship at a tight curve to one side, sharply changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁜 and 󲁠 maneuvers. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, before the player places the ship at the opposite end of the template, the ship is rotated 90º to the left for a 󲁢, or 90º to the right for a 󲁦. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll). If a ship overlaps another ship while executing a Koiogran turn, Segnor’s Loop, or Tallon Roll, the ship partially executes the maneuver by using the rear guides as though it was executing the basic maneuver that uses the same template." I will break down the entire section to show why Tallon Rolls DO NOT require you to complete a Hard Turn before placing the ship. "The following bearings are for advanced maneuvers. These have exceptions to the standard rules for executing a maneuver." The opening paragraph for this section is actually important as we will refer back to this later. "• Tallon Roll: The 󲁢 (left Tallon Roll) and 󲁦 (right Tallon Roll) bearings advance a ship at a tight curve to one side, sharply changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁜 and 󲁠 maneuvers." The key part from this is that it is a descriptive text about the maneuver, not instructions on how to execute it, this is included to make clear the intent of the maneuver. "◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, " This preface to the Tallon Roll is not exclusive to the Tallon Roll but is in fact included in all 3 Advanced Maneuvers and is included to give a trigger to the last paragraph, i.e. If the ship [does not] fully execute the maneuver do this instead. It is important to note that a comer is used here not a full stop, a dependency clause exists here where it is impossible for you to fully execute the maneuver without placing the ship in its final position and rotating it 90 degrees. "before the player places the ship at the opposite end of the template, the ship is rotated 90º to the left for a 󲁢, or 90º to the right for a 󲁦. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll)." We are now into the real meat of the wording now so I may have to break this down into subsections but anyway. Before we place the ship at the opposite end of the template we rotate it 90 degrees in the relevant direction (paraphrasing), this is referencing back to point 1. where we have exceptions to the standard rules for executing maneuvers, at no point when executing a Tallon Roll do we have to place the rear nubs into the maneuver template because of this wording and point 1. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll), [this section is actually more interesting then you would think, but I will get in to that] so we now place our rotated ship in one of the three positions stated here, like we would for a barrel roll. The interesting point is that because it references "similar to a barrel roll" we have to complete the Tallon Roll if we can, you can not choose a position on the template that would make you bump thereby failing to fully execute the maneuver, if you can complete, you have to, like a barrel roll. "If a ship overlaps another ship while executing a Koiogran turn, Segnor’s Loop, or Tallon Roll, the ship partially executes the maneuver by using the rear guides as though it was executing the basic maneuver that uses the same template." This is the text that is triggered by step 3. not being able to exist mutually with step 4. if you can not simultaneously (due to the comma dependency) have both conditions met, then you go here and it is a bump. Hope that makes it clear for people! Thanks Kris
  5. OK, here it goes. Exert from the Rules Reference Guide for Advanced maneuvers Page 6 " Advanced Maneuvers The following bearings are for advanced maneuvers. These have exceptions to the standard rules for executing a maneuver. • Koiogran Turn: The 󲁤 (Koiogran turn) bearing advances a ship straight forward, changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁞 maneuver. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, the player slides the ship’s front guides into the end of the template instead of the rear guides. • Segnor’s Loop: The 󲁣 (left Segnor’s Loop) and 󲁥 (right Segnor’s Loop) bearings advance a ship at a shallow curve to one side, then reverses its facing. This uses the same template as the 󲁝 and 󲁟 maneuvers. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, the player slides the ship’s front guides into the end of the template instead of the rear guides. • Tallon Roll: The 󲁢 (left Tallon Roll) and 󲁦 (right Tallon Roll) bearings advance a ship at a tight curve to one side, sharply changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁜 and 󲁠 maneuvers. ◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, before the player places the ship at the opposite end of the template, the ship is rotated 90º to the left for a 󲁢, or 90º to the right for a 󲁦. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll). If a ship overlaps another ship while executing a Koiogran turn, Segnor’s Loop, or Tallon Roll, the ship partially executes the maneuver by using the rear guides as though it was executing the basic maneuver that uses the same template." I will break down the entire section to show why Tallon Rolls DO NOT require you to complete a Hard Turn before placing the ship. "The following bearings are for advanced maneuvers. These have exceptions to the standard rules for executing a maneuver." The opening paragraph for this section is actually important as we will refer back to this later. "• Tallon Roll: The 󲁢 (left Tallon Roll) and 󲁦 (right Tallon Roll) bearings advance a ship at a tight curve to one side, sharply changing its facing by 180º. This uses the same template as the 󲁜 and 󲁠 maneuvers." The key part from this is that it is a descriptive text about the maneuver, not instructions on how to execute it, this is included to make clear the intent of the maneuver. "◊ If the ship fully executes the maneuver, " This preface to the Tallon Roll is not exclusive to the Tallon Roll but is in fact included in all 3 Advanced Maneuvers and is included to give a trigger to the last paragraph, i.e. If the ship [does not] fully execute the maneuver do this instead. It is important to note that a comer is used here not a full stop, a dependency clause exists here where it is impossible for you to fully execute the maneuver without placing the ship in its final position and rotating it 90 degrees. "before the player places the ship at the opposite end of the template, the ship is rotated 90º to the left for a 󲁢, or 90º to the right for a 󲁦. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll)." We are now into the real meat of the wording now so I may have to break this down into subsections but anyway. Before we place the ship at the opposite end of the template we rotate it 90 degrees in the relevant direction (paraphrasing), this is referencing back to point 1. where we have exceptions to the standard rules for executing maneuvers, at no point when executing a Tallon Roll do we have to place the rear nubs into the maneuver template because of this wording and point 1. Then the player places the ship with the hashmark on the side of the base aligned to the left, middle, or right of the end of the template, (similar to a barrel roll), [this section is actually more interesting then you would think, but I will get in to that] so we now place our rotated ship in one of the three positions stated here, like we would for a barrel roll. The interesting point is that because it references "similar to a barrel roll" we have to complete the Tallon Roll if we can, you can not choose a position on the template that would make you bump thereby failing to fully execute the maneuver, if you can complete, you have to, like a barrel roll. "If a ship overlaps another ship while executing a Koiogran turn, Segnor’s Loop, or Tallon Roll, the ship partially executes the maneuver by using the rear guides as though it was executing the basic maneuver that uses the same template." This is the text that is triggered by step 3. not being able to exist mutually with step 4. if you can not simultaneously (due to the comma dependency) have both conditions met, then you go here and it is a bump. Hope that makes it clear for people! Thanks Kris
  6. Вы не знаете английскую коммунистическую свинью
  7. You're welcome world! Also, in this instance the Judge is 100% correct because he said so, respect your TO's people, but in the real world, no, that is not how Tallon Rolls work.
  8. The Tallon Roll fits, a judge is called to check if the 3 hard fits, it does not so the Tallon Roll is judged to not fit. Makes total sense.
  9. But did they tell you how Tallon Rolls really work? Too soon to joke?
  10. If the underlined section in Green is relevant, it is literally impossible to complete a Tallon Roll as you can only rotate the ship before placing which it can't do as you have already fully executed the maneuver. All of the special maneuvers that change your ships facing have that caveat to lead into the bit circled in green about only rotating at the end, not at the start.
  11. New should I fly it is up, definitely a fun list to fly in to.
×
×
  • Create New...