Jump to content

Silidus

Members
  • Content Count

    334
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Silidus

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

900 profile views
  1. @redskelton76 I have been running a Terrinoth RPG in Genesys for about 2 years now, and frequently take sections from DnD 5e campaigns (players are currently in a modified Greenest from Lair of the Dragon Queen). Converting campaigns is easy enough to do that it can be done on the fly. Encounter balance is less of a big deal in Genesys, and you will quickly get a feel for how heavy an encounter your players can take. However the combat can move significantly faster and be more deadly in Genesys, so always have a "based on this scene, what would a player KO look like? Capture? Death? Or simply sulking away?" The more difficult part is getting the Genesys rules to be a little crunchier (this may depend on group style, some like more narrative and free form creativity, others like things more gamey). Attatched is a set of house rules my group uses to handle movement, spells, stealth and healing in Genesys that helps handle things like dungeon crawls and miniature combat. https://docs.google.com/document/d/18Qv_2Nzc2FbyV-K2i6z47Ovax_hsUObzdig91IoD6rE/edit?usp=drivesdk
  2. One of the critical hit effects does this (Easy Discouraging Wound). Not a bad option for a player with DeadEye to pick when rolling an easy crit if the party makes heavy use of story points. Although I would kinda discourage doing it as a triumph, as it takes away from the GM pool, which could create deadlock for the GM.
  3. @c__beck && @Direach Response received (already posted in the FAQ threat. Looks like Direach was correct in the interpretation, although I can't say it makes much sense to me (at least from the perspective of an NPC with the spell)): The Reflection attribute as listed in the Genesys core rulebook is correct. It is true that Threat can be spent to cause additional targets to be affected by a spell, which does mean that the one can end up with the same result. This is also correct. The two really shouldn’t be compared side by side because one (the Reflection option) is under the control of the player, while the other (the option in Table III.2—4) is under the control of the GM. The second option also applies to any spell cast (including healing, augmentations, etc), and can target any other character in the encounter (not just the caster or their target). But the player isn’t going to be able to be the one who selects who the second target is going to be under the spending Threat option in Table III.2—4, so it’s not an ability they can count on or control. The Reflection attribute does not work against ranged attacks. The Necromancer’s spell in the Realms of Terrinoth does, but that is a specific spell for a specific NPC, and thus does not necessarily follow the same rules. Hope this helps! Sam Gregor-Stewart RPG Manager Fantasy Flight Games
  4. Silidus

    FAQ

    Reply: The Reflection attribute as listed in the Genesys core rulebook is correct. It is true that Threat can be spent to cause additional targets to be affected by a spell, which does mean that the one can end up with the same result. This is also correct. The two really shouldn’t be compared side by side because one (the Reflection option) is under the control of the player, while the other (the option in Table III.2—4) is under the control of the GM. The second option also applies to any spell cast (including healing, augmentations, etc), and can target any other character in the encounter (not just the caster or their target). But the player isn’t going to be able to be the one who selects who the second target is going to be under the spending Threat option in Table III.2—4, so it’s not an ability they can count on or control. The Reflection attribute does not work against ranged attacks. The Necromancer’s spell in the Realms of Terrinoth does, but that is a specific spell for a specific NPC, and thus does not necessarily follow the same rules. Hope this helps! Sam Gregor-Stewart RPG Manager Fantasy Flight Games
  5. Targeting would take place before the combat check, but the check needs to happen first, otherwise there is no threat/despair rolled. Once the roll has been made, and the new target selected, there is no re-roll even if the new targets defense is higher than the initial target, or the new target has talents that would have upgraded the difficulty. The soak however, would be applied after the retarget, and so would be applied based on the new targets stats.
  6. Just a few points. To my knowledge whenever another character is targeted, or affected by the attack, the attack is never re-rolled. So if the attack it the initial target, then it hits the new target, regardless of the new targets defense or abilities. Also, whenever the book discusses spending advantage, threat or despair, it is always from the perspective of the player making the roll. So the GM spends the negative dice, and the players spend the positive dice. If the GM were to make the magic attack, the players would choose the additional target.
  7. @FFG I have a question regarding the Barrier Magic Attribute "Reflection" on page 219 of the Genesys Core Rulebook. Reflection reads: If an opponent makes a magic attack against and effected target and generates 3 threat or 1 despair on the check, after the check is resolved, they suffer a hit dealing damage equal to the total damage of the attack. However, on page 211, under 'Spending threat and despair on magic skill checks', the options for 3 threat read 'The spell is slightly more powerful than expected, one character of the GMs choice is targeted or otherwise affected by the spell as well' So, isn't the default effect of 3 threat already more powerful than the benefit of the barrier reflection? If the GM were to select the 'caster' as the additional target, the effects seem identical. Alternatively the GM could select another target, making the default 3 threat option less restricted than the benefit afforded by Barrier Reflect. Is this correct? Should barrier reflect be applying to non-magic attacks instead? Note: On page 166 of the Realms of Terrinoth book, the Necromancer 'Wall of Bones' spell has a Reflect component that applies to both magic and non-magic attacks.
  8. I use 2 house rules at my table to even out the damage and allow for some different builds with my players. 1. Bow (and Crossbow) damage is HALF base damage (round up) as damage, and gains HALF base damage (round down) as Pierce. This has almost no effect in the standard case (vs soak of 3-4), but allows bows exceed melee weapons in damage against armored targets (by virtue of having higher base damage as noted in OP), and allows melee weapons to be more devastating against un-armored targets (like mages). It has the added effect of having Block (shield) and Barrier spells become more against ranged weapons, which stops the Ranger in the group from one shoting the necromancer NPC at the start of every combat. 2. Bladed weapons (sword, Greatsword, etc) apply a minimum BRAWN rating of 4 when determining damage. This is to normalize their damage and allow builds that make use of Finesse to make better use of melee weapons.
  9. @Watercolour Dragon Not sure if this will help, but I have compiled a set of rules I use with my group to adapt Genesys to a more tactical play setting (and some general rule clarifications, magic and skill balances, etc) that may be helpful. https://drive.google.com/open?id=17drzBfqitzSRTfRkupOuDITVxuSFYiaR
  10. One thing to note about the Bane spiders. I believe the intention of BURN is that it includes any passive effects of the original hit. So with Bane Spiders, the burn trait on their acid spit and venom is intended to include Pierce. However, at some point one of the designers answered a SWRPG question in an email stating that traits like Breach (and presumably Pierce) do not apply to burn, which makes the Bane Spider as written pretty lame (even basic stats or armor are enough to completely cancel the burn value). I would recommend either having BURN include the Pierce trait, or house-ruling burn to deal half damage, but ignore soak in all cases.
  11. True, but as per the rules summons act immediately after the casters turn, and concentrate allows the spell to continue to the end of the players next turn, so unless they are able to break the ensnare, the summons will not be able to act before being removed.
  12. Probably not. The current cards include the talents for from the Genesys core book that are relevant to the Terrinoth setting, and since my group tends to stick to the fantasy settings I will probably leave it at that.
  13. The book makes no distinction between Maneuvers (for movement) and Magic Maneuvers. So would using a net, hamstring, or ice attack, and adding the ensnare trait prevent a caster from using 'maneuvers' for concentrate? Effectively un-summoning barriers/minions etc?
  14. Thanks for the shout out! Yeah I had completely forgotten I had put the homebrew cards in there. Nemesis/Rival/Minion parts were just a way to get some valuable items out of something that doesn't normally carry pocket change and allows the alchemist in the group to take advantage of his skills and get some value out of making his own potions rather than always paying market value for potions or ingredients. Tiondir is one of my players signature weapon (Terrinoth Heroic Feat), so we keep that card up to date as she adds runes and attachments to it. Anyway, Glad to hear you guys liked them!
×
×
  • Create New...