Jump to content

deraforia

Members
  • Content Count

    212
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by deraforia

  1. You need to be Compromised before you can Unmask, but you do have some control over when you become Compromised, by keeping more Strife symbols. You might also suggest to your GM that something an NPC said or did would have caused you to acquire Strife. Otherwise, you can always choose to act dishonorably, but it doesn't clear your Strife unless you were already at the breaking point.
  2. You know, I'm not certain. I know the core book had a lot of errors in school curricula that got cleared up in the PDF, and Shadowlands I believe had some clarifications as well. I don't have a physical book to compare to, so I'm not sure what changes were made. I do know the released a version with better maps, at least.
  3. Because he doesn't need to stay at rank 1 to learn rank 1 invocations. ETA: And rising in rank faster means he gets access to better invocations. It also allows him to prepare more invocations.
  4. Yeah, there's a misunderstanding somewhere. If the intent is to power game, he's failing.
  5. I guess I'm a little uncertain why they're doing it that way. They can still purchase rank 1 earth invocations at rank 2, they just only contribute half xp to the next rank. Are they just disinterested in the Emerald Magistrate curriculum? If so, they can absolutely do it that way. It just seems like a waste. Once they complete it they won't have privileged access to all of those Kata, only able to pick up Open Hand in rank 3. Again, if they don't have any interest in Trade Skills, Martial Arts, Fitness, Performance, Kata, or Shallow Waters, that's fine. But I'd think they'd find a few things in there that they would want.
  6. No one who can answer that posts on the forums. This wait does seem longer even than the previous ones. Generally they seem to do a bit of errata before posting the PDFs. Hopefully they will be up soon. If you really need an answer, you can always try contacting Customer Service.
  7. I don't see anything unbalancing about that. Keep in mind Kuni Purifiers already have both tags and access to Invocations and Kata.
  8. I heard back today on the questions I sent. Here they are for context: Hello, I had two questions regarding timing around Iaijutsu Cut: Rising Blade: 1) If I spend an opportunity from IC:RB to draw a second weapon and then spend an opportunity for the Mirumoto Two-Heavens Adept mastery ability Heart of the Dragon to perform a strike action with the second weapon, does the strike action resolve before finishing resolution of Rising Blade, or does Rising Blade finish resolving before the strike action is performed? 2) Let's say my opponent has a Vigilance of 3. If I use Rising Blade in fire stance, and I keep one success and one opportunity, and I use that opportunity to inflict strife on my opponent making them Compromised and setting their Vigilance to 1, does the TN change to 1 (meaning the attack succeeds), or does it remain at the initial TN of 3 (meaning the attack fails)? I received this response:
  9. Earth stance does prevent your opponent from spending opportunities to inflict a critical strike. It applies to all Attack action checks and all Scheme action checks. They cannot spend opportunities to inflict critical strikes or conditions.
  10. For an example duel, here's one I wrote. It was me testing the system rather than trying to show off how to use the system, so I'm not certain how well it will work for learning. Warning: it's pretty long.
  11. I'm okay with allowing players to choose an option that best fits their character.
  12. As @AtoMaki says, Wandering Rōnin has pretty good strife negation as it is, and I don't think rōnin should otherwise get a free pass from strife. They're still living in the same world as Clan samurai, and in many ways have stressors most other samurai never have to deal with. Strife definitely still has its place.
  13. So, I'm pretty sure that while you spend opportunities for a critical strike before you check for success, the actual critical strike doesn't resolve until the requirement is met, i.e. after you determine success. This makes sense to me, as we have other examples of opportunities having effects after the check resolves (providing assistance, for example).
  14. I don't see anything that specifies one or the other in the book or the FAQ/Errata document. The ability only seems to require having a readied weapon that has not already been used for an attack action. It does not require having two weapons readied.
  15. I sent off a couple of questions to the devs for clarification. We'll see if/when they get back to me.
  16. In this case, the relevant entry is on page 133, under the Ferocity anxiety that begins on the previous page: This would override the normal rules for defeating minions.
  17. Do you mean this bit?: That means, for example, a character using the strike action cannot use four opportunities to inflict two critical strikes. The opportunity use to draw a second razor-edged weapon (from Iaijutsu Cut: Rising Blade) is different from the one that you then spend to strike with said second weapon (from Heart of the Dragon). What's really fun, as @Ultimatecalibur pointed out, is that this second strike interrupts your first attack and resolves completely before you resolve the successes from the first attack. If you're in fire stance, you might use opportunities on the second attack to inflict strife and push your opponent into compromised, dealing a critical strike with the initial Rising Blade attack.
  18. The Emperor is separate from the 7 Great Clans, but the Imperial Families are basically a miniature clan in their own right. Hantei is the Emperor, as well as the name given to his children including the crown prince/princess and any other pre-gempukku children. The Otomo family are the major courtiers of the Imperial Families and often act either as administrators or as ambassadors in the courts of other clans. Most children of emperors who won't go on to become emperors themselves join this family at their gempukku, disavowing any claim to the throne (unless something terrible happens). The Seppun family is charged with protecting the Hantei from threats both physical and spiritual. They are the shugenja family and the bushi family of the Imperial Families. Some children of emperors join this family instead. The final family is the Miya. They are heralds, bringing news and Imperial decrees all across Rokugan. One of the most beloved families in all of Rokugan, among both samurai and peasants.
  19. Looks right to me, and seems like exactly the move a Niten Master would use.
  20. Minions are defeated once incapacitated, and if the attack that put them over dealt at least 7 damage, they are dead. Most of the time you'll need to spend bonus points to get that level of damage, but a tetsubo or an otsuchi could simply be a death sentence against an unarmored foe. Adversaries act like PCs, which means they can calming breath their fatigue back inside their endurance. Once incapacitated, you will need to work fast to restrain them, or risk letting them get away or even attack you again. Any further attacks against an incapacitated foe will be critical strikes, so there's definitely danger of death. Duels can very easily turn deadly even if you don't want them to. A finishing blow with a katana in a two-handed grip, if it does not get reduced by the fitness roll, is an agonizing death. I rather like that PCs have to work to get the kill. It gives the player choice, and gives important Adversaries a better chance to turn up again later, seeking revenge.
  21. Yeah, I knew when I wrote that it was going to be taken the wrong way, I was just pressed for time and didn't have a chance to fix it.
  22. Ikoma get all Rank 1 Fire Shuji in their curriculum at Rank 1. They also start with Fanning the Flames. They have early access to Dazzling Performance at Rank 2, they have Rallying Cry at Rank 3, early access to Sear the Wound at Rank 4... I believe, currently, all they are missing from their curriculum is Bravado and Lightning Raid, as far as Fire Shuji are concerned. Not too bad if they want to pick those up for a little less toward their next rank. I was worried about this sort of thing at first too, but you really have to look at the whole curriculum, not just what Technique Groups you get at a particular level.
  23. Pretty sure on Pin the Fan the you double first, then add successes. If you doubled everything, it would have to include language such as "twice the sum."
  24. Your entire post is picking nits. Clan Wars has been dead for a long time, while the CCG and RPG were both still being published up to the sale. "Trickle" is a subjective term. "Regular fantasy dice" is maybe a weird way to word it, but perfectly valid considering this is a fantasy game. And the last one is a specific example of a broader rule. None of these are factual errors.
×
×
  • Create New...