Jump to content

deraforia

Members
  • Content Count

    214
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About deraforia

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday October 8

Recent Profile Visitors

871 profile views
  1. Let's change it up a bit, then. Still using Crab Clan, Kuni family, and Purifier, but this time in Q2 we choose Earth. That brings Earth up to 3 before we get into the choice for School. With Purifier, there is no choice, Earth is a required increase. With my interpretation of the rules, you simply pick another ring to increase. How would you handle it? Can the player not choose the Purifier or any school with an Earth increase? Or would you make them retroactively change their choice in Q2? That would be more limiting than I think the developers intended.
  2. Core rulebook, page 41, under Limits on Skills and Rings: "You cannot raise a ring or skill above rank 3 during character creation. If a choice would result in a ring rising above rank 3 during character creation, then you must choose a different ring to increase instead, as long as that ring would also not be increased above rank 3." So in the example in the OP, if you choose to stand out in the Kuni Purifier school by your extreme thoroughness, the increase that would go toward Earth instead has to go somewhere else. You still get your characterization, but another ring has to increase instead. I will say, Question 4 is a weird one to choose a ring you already have at 3, since you can already choose any ring. Moreover, the question is how you stand out in your school. I don't think any Kuni stands out by being patient, thorough, or calm. By RAW, though, it works.
  3. You need to be Compromised before you can Unmask, but you do have some control over when you become Compromised, by keeping more Strife symbols. You might also suggest to your GM that something an NPC said or did would have caused you to acquire Strife. Otherwise, you can always choose to act dishonorably, but it doesn't clear your Strife unless you were already at the breaking point.
  4. You know, I'm not certain. I know the core book had a lot of errors in school curricula that got cleared up in the PDF, and Shadowlands I believe had some clarifications as well. I don't have a physical book to compare to, so I'm not sure what changes were made. I do know the released a version with better maps, at least.
  5. Because he doesn't need to stay at rank 1 to learn rank 1 invocations. ETA: And rising in rank faster means he gets access to better invocations. It also allows him to prepare more invocations.
  6. Yeah, there's a misunderstanding somewhere. If the intent is to power game, he's failing.
  7. I guess I'm a little uncertain why they're doing it that way. They can still purchase rank 1 earth invocations at rank 2, they just only contribute half xp to the next rank. Are they just disinterested in the Emerald Magistrate curriculum? If so, they can absolutely do it that way. It just seems like a waste. Once they complete it they won't have privileged access to all of those Kata, only able to pick up Open Hand in rank 3. Again, if they don't have any interest in Trade Skills, Martial Arts, Fitness, Performance, Kata, or Shallow Waters, that's fine. But I'd think they'd find a few things in there that they would want.
  8. No one who can answer that posts on the forums. This wait does seem longer even than the previous ones. Generally they seem to do a bit of errata before posting the PDFs. Hopefully they will be up soon. If you really need an answer, you can always try contacting Customer Service.
  9. I don't see anything unbalancing about that. Keep in mind Kuni Purifiers already have both tags and access to Invocations and Kata.
  10. I heard back today on the questions I sent. Here they are for context: Hello, I had two questions regarding timing around Iaijutsu Cut: Rising Blade: 1) If I spend an opportunity from IC:RB to draw a second weapon and then spend an opportunity for the Mirumoto Two-Heavens Adept mastery ability Heart of the Dragon to perform a strike action with the second weapon, does the strike action resolve before finishing resolution of Rising Blade, or does Rising Blade finish resolving before the strike action is performed? 2) Let's say my opponent has a Vigilance of 3. If I use Rising Blade in fire stance, and I keep one success and one opportunity, and I use that opportunity to inflict strife on my opponent making them Compromised and setting their Vigilance to 1, does the TN change to 1 (meaning the attack succeeds), or does it remain at the initial TN of 3 (meaning the attack fails)? I received this response:
  11. Earth stance does prevent your opponent from spending opportunities to inflict a critical strike. It applies to all Attack action checks and all Scheme action checks. They cannot spend opportunities to inflict critical strikes or conditions.
  12. For an example duel, here's one I wrote. It was me testing the system rather than trying to show off how to use the system, so I'm not certain how well it will work for learning. Warning: it's pretty long.
  13. I'm okay with allowing players to choose an option that best fits their character.
  14. As @AtoMaki says, Wandering Rōnin has pretty good strife negation as it is, and I don't think rōnin should otherwise get a free pass from strife. They're still living in the same world as Clan samurai, and in many ways have stressors most other samurai never have to deal with. Strife definitely still has its place.
  15. So, I'm pretty sure that while you spend opportunities for a critical strike before you check for success, the actual critical strike doesn't resolve until the requirement is met, i.e. after you determine success. This makes sense to me, as we have other examples of opportunities having effects after the check resolves (providing assistance, for example).
×
×
  • Create New...