Jump to content

ryryak

Members
  • Content Count

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  1. Very nice! You've got me thinking about how to better build a carrier fleet now.
  2. http://www.sirwillibald.com/?lang=en Surprised no one has mentioned this yet. Cheap, they are made for the entirety of wave 1 now (yay!) and I've managed to fit the starter box and two of every wave1 release (minus the corvette and the neb, only one each of those) inside the box that this game came with.
  3. I'm more excited for the Raider than anything else, finally a cheap ship to bolster my numbers and prevent those Rebel activation shenanigans! The ISD will be fun too...
  4. Here are the relevant entries from the rules: Hull Zones A hull zone is a section of a ship token delineated by the two firing arc lines that border it. It does not include any part of the plastic base. (pg 6) Measuring Firing Arc and Range To measure attack range from a ship, measure from the closest point of the attacking hull zone. To measure attack range to a ship, measure to the closest point of the defending hull zone. To measure attack range to or from a squadron, measure to or from the closest point of the squadron’s base. (pg 7, emphasis mine) Overlapping A ship’s shield dials and the plastic portions that frame them count as part of the ship’s base for the purposes of overlapping, but squadrons’ activation sliders are ignored.(pg 8) It seems clear to me then that since you measure to and from hull zones when figuring out range, you measure to and from the cardboard, NOT the plastic base. With regards to overlapping, while it does not say crystal clear that the plastic counts, it does mention that the shield dials and the plastic hangars DO count, and so I would deduce that if those count when determining overlapping, then so would the plastic base that those shield hangars are attached to. Hope this helps, discussion welcome! EDIT: Fixed some wording
  5. I disagree, the only plastic portion that it says to ignore is the "plastic portions of the base that frame the shield dial." That means specifically the little inverse circularish portion on each shield facing that supports the cardboard shield dial. The rest of the plastic frame that makes up the base in general is not listed, therefore is included in measurements. So in answer to the original post - yes the plastic base counts, just not the sticky out sheild dial bits of plastic. You are right! For some reason I forgot about the little blips that the shield dials attach to and my brain made the connection "plastic that frames the cardboard ship base". I am wrong.
  6. Clarifying this: A ship’s shield dials and the plastic portions that frame them count as part of the ship’s base for the purposes of overlapping, but squadrons’ activation sliders are ignored. So yes, shield dials and surrounds count for overlapping. However, for other measurements - range/distance etc, the shield dials and the plastic directly supporting them are ignored (that funny little shape that sticks out), but the rest of the plastic base still counts. So I disagree that you "ignore the plastic base surrounding the ship's card" as that is not in the list of things specified to ignore when measuring. You are right! For some reason I forgot about the little blips that the shield dials attach to and my brain made the connection "plastic that frames the cardboard ship base". I am wrong.
  7. This means that you ignore the plastic part that frames the cardboard base for determining range. The ONLY time that you don't ignore shield dials and the plastic frame is when determining whether or not ships overlap each other.
  8. The only reason that the standard crit only works when shields are down is because it relies on you dealing damage to the hull (in which case the first one is dealt face-up) to the enemy ship. Because other crit effects don't stipulate that damage must be dealt to the [hull of the] ship then they can trigger even if you only hit shields. Hope that helps
  9. How do you guys premeasure movement? Do you just set the maneuver tool down next to the ship without slotting it in to the base? It seems like it's almost the same thing as slotting it in but still allowed by the rules?
  10. From page 8 of the rules: A ship’s shield dials and the plastic portions that frame them count as part of the ship’s base for the purposes of overlapping, but squadrons’ activation sliders are ignored For other purposes (range, running off the table, etc...) you ignore the plastic base surrounding the ship's card, but exclusively for overlapping, you do not. EDIT: This is good to know as I've been playing this wrong up until now
  11. You can only perform one of each command a turn. You cannot perform two concentrate fire commands in a turn. EDIT: And saw below, guess I mighta misread that. Yes, you can certainly concetrate fire on the second attack. Thanks, yeah I meant concentrate fire either attack, but whichever attack you choose if you're going to use the token then you have to use dial and token together
  12. You make it seem like you're forced into using them both in the first attack. Can't you also declare the command for the second attack? Isn't the only stipulation that when you declare the command that both get used? Therefore: (dial + token or dial ) on 1st or 2nd attack?
  13. ryryak

    Ramming

    INTENSIFY FORWARD FIREPOWER!!!
  14. There's also the possibility of if it's still alive at the end allowing the game to be played another turn if the imperial player wishes as it "prevents" the rebels from escaping in time. Something like that
  15. I know that, it's just the easiest way for me to think of it, it just unfortunately happens to have the same wording as another rule in this game
×
×
  • Create New...