Jump to content

NathanH

Members
  • Content Count

    545
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by NathanH

  1. You can use it to prevent damage larger than his health. Frodo's ability should be understood as something like "Response: If Frodo Baggins would take X damage, raise your threat by X instead". Cancellation/replacement effects in this game all work in that sort of way. For archery damage specifically you have to assign the archery damage all together before applying it, so you can't assign more archery to Frodo than his remaining health.
  2. Given that the rules ask you to attempt to resolve abilities to the fullest extent possible, and given that the rules have a specific "then" clause available if the intention was to only attack if it returned, I would attempt to do as much of the sentence as possible even if I can't do it all.
  3. Certainly our strongest fellowship features a turn-1 suicide deck (with Doom Hangs Still in Valour so you don't even have to worry about one turn of questing with the sacrifice deck). But this is a very specific set up. I tend to find 2 decks are more reliable than 1, so if your plan with deck 2 is just to play 2-3 random attachments and then die, I don't think this is clearly stronger than just having 2 decks that work well together for the whole game.
  4. According to the strict reading of the rules, it would not. But according to the strict reading of the rules, the entire effect does nothing because it fails to the uniqueness rule. So it is a difficult card to interpret. I would not count it as being a printed icon. As small compensation, this interpretation protects the added game text from "treat each character's text box as if it were blank" effects.
  5. I think the Bombur ability would get very tedious if playing with actual cards. Whether you expect anyone to play these with actual cards determines whether you should consider this relevant. I also like the idea of doing something with his defending. What I really want him to do is to squash enemies after he defends against them, because that is funny. Ignore this suggestion. I assume Bard has lost Ranged by accident rather than by design. For Dwalin, did you consider making a similar adjustment as you do for Secrecy cards? Dwalin is not really playable outside dwarf swarms. But I suppose that is true of the entire archetype and probably is not worth "fixing".
  6. Technically, Thorongil is "pay 3 to do nothing" thanks to the uniqueness rule.
  7. If the intention is to play these cards along with a mostly-full card pool I think you can leave Glorfindel untouched, especially if you are hitting Asfaloth as well.
  8. On #2, what would we do if Collapsed Tower was at the top of the discard pile but had never actually been in the staging area (e.g it was a shadow card)? I mean, I know the right answer is "add it to the staging area", but technically...
  9. Time for Science! I ranked each quest according to what my response would be if someone asked me to play that quest: 0: I won't play it 1: I don't want to play it 2: I don't want to play it with just any deck 3: I will play it 4: I look forward to playing it 5: I want to play it twice Here are the results: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Average Core 1 3 1 3 4 1 2 1 1 1.89 Khazad 3 4 1 3 2 3 3 5 1 2.78 Heirs 2 2 2 4 3 3 3 4 2 2.78 Voice 3 1 3 2 3 4 0 4 4 2.67 Realm 4 3 2 5 4 3 4 1 4 3.33 Havens 2 3 4 2 4 3 4 5 4 3.44 Harad 4 3 4 4 3 1 3 3 3 3.11 Hob 1 1 1 1 1.00 Hob 2 3 1 4 2.67 Rings 1 2 5 3 3.33 Rings 2 4 4 4 4.00 Rings 3 2 4 3 3.00 Rings 4 3 2 3 2.67 Rings 5 2 3 4 3.00 Rings 6 3 3 1 2.33 Science tells us that Grey Havens and Dreamchaser are the best non-saga, and The Road Darkens is the best saga. I've left Rhovanion and beyond off, because I haven't played with them enough to form an opinion yet, apart from to say Fire in the Night is at best a 1.
  10. And let's not forget that this quest can really throw an outrageous amount of threat into the staging area. We played this week and had something like 28 threat in the staging area at the end of staging on the first quest phase. (2 player).
  11. I think this quest is the only quest where if someone suggested we play it I would always say no.
  12. When you play Love Of Tales on another player's hero, is the intention for you or for the other player to search for the song? Rules timing question: does the second ability trigger off itself? I can't immediately think of another card with the same structure to compare with.
  13. That was addressed in this thread, which amusingly features GrandSpleen 😀
  14. I think you have it right according to that ruling, except that I think that the progress tokens go on the quest before resolving the effects of exploring the active location. Or something similar but mechanically the same. They key point is that if the consequences of clearing the active location themselves cause you to progress the quest, you don't place any progress on the new quest. For example, if Annoying Location is the active location, and Quest 2b says "Forced: When Annoying Location is explored, advance to stage 3A", once you do this, the progress that you were going to place on Stage 2b doesn't end up on Stage 3b.
  15. Ok, looks like they changed the rules since last time I learned them.
  16. I think it goes like this: Trigger Hirgon and/or Expert Treasure Hunter Place progress on the location up to its quest points Discard location and Mathom Place progress on the quest. Discard quest and Long Defeat Place new quest Resolve "When revealed" of new quest Flip new quest Resolve "When revealed" of new quest Resolve Forced effect of location Resolve Ancient Mathom Don't know whether Long Defeat gets resolved after 5 or after 9. Edit: got Mathom and Treasure Hunter mixed up
  17. Life would be so much simpler if i) effects like Gandalf's formally trigger before the expiry of "until the end of the round" effects and ii) "until the end of the round" effects have a fixed unambiguous moment in each turn where they expire.
  18. I wouldn't do anything to Love of Tales. I don't think there's a need for a principle that says all cards should be relevant outside niche decks, and Love of Tales performs acceptably in niche decks. The card as proposed would be a bit of a monster in an Elfhelm rainbow mounts fellowship. If I had to make a change it would be to try to make the restriction less strict, because as it stands the character depicted in the art cannot use it. Simplest nerf for Warden would be making it unique, since the book refers to the Warden. Short Cut at cost 0 allows you to play it in Setup against some quests' special locations such as Rhosgobel, so consider whether you want to allow that.
  19. I'd take the four steps in the sentence and then resolve all the responses to the four steps afterwards. If the sentence was split into four different sentences I would resolve the first sentence, resolve all the responses to that sentence, then move on to the next sentence.
  20. I will take a look as soon as I get time! Quick things I noticed about the rules pdf: i) it opens upside down for me; ii) in the rules of the Power of Mordor deck, you reference the Temple of Doom quest instead of the quest that we are actually playing.
  21. Even if the shadow card is in play with the title Gwaihir, the players don't have it so it doesn't trigger the "The players as a group may have only one copy of each unique card, by title, in play" condition, and it isn't a character nor does it enter play from the encounter deck, so it doesn't trigger the "If a unique version of a character enters play from the encounter deck" condition.
  22. 1. A card's rules are active whenever that card is in play. So if there is no caveat, the rules are in play whether it's in the staging area or engaged with you. But the victory display is not in play, so the rules aren't active when the card is in the victory display. Exceptions: i) some cards have text like "when xxx is engaged with a player,..." that are clearly only in effect when you're engaged with them; ii) some card abilities only make sense if the card is out of play, e.g. a card might have "Forced: if xxx is in the victory display at the start of the round, add it to the staging area"---abilities like this are in effect when the card is out of play (there's no specific indication of this, you just have to realise the rule makes no sense otherwise). 2. This is just an oversight on the card, it should probably list "-" as its quest points. In general, if an effect tells you to advance to another quest stage, you do that whether or not you have enough progress. 3. I think it sits in the staging area waiting for a Troll, but cannot be claimed until such a Troll arrives and is then damaged.
  23. Further, I might be having fun with a deck heavily involving a particular hero or ally, but also might want to play such a quest. When the ally is relatively throwaway like Gwaihir or Gildor, you might be happy for them to just go straight to discard and not get their positive effects. Having said that, I think an easier solution is just to bend the rules so that allies like that can't enter play, rather than force the hero to leave play. I think the specific rule to discard the player version is to protect the quests that start off with the objective ally. Amusingly, the rules as written don't protect the quests where Na'asiyah shows up midway through, because she shows up from "Out of play" not the encounter deck. Also if you think this is a silly discussion, I advise you to avoid the legendary "how are cards actually revealed" thread 😀
  24. Hmm, I was going to say he isn't in play during his when revealed effect, but I don't think that's true. I think he would force the discard of Gwaihir hero. The rules are a bit vague around complex timing problems like your bonus question. Ideally I would want the sequence to be i) objective ally enters play ii) Hero gwaihir immediately leaves play iii) response window opens for a character leaving play iv) once this response window closes, objective ally continues resolution. This would stop your trick from working. However, this nice structure has been confirmed not to be true on other occasions, so tbh at this point the answer is "depends what mood the designer is in when you ask".
×
×
  • Create New...