Jump to content

NathanH

Members
  • Content Count

    545
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About NathanH

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

997 profile views
  1. You can use it to prevent damage larger than his health. Frodo's ability should be understood as something like "Response: If Frodo Baggins would take X damage, raise your threat by X instead". Cancellation/replacement effects in this game all work in that sort of way. For archery damage specifically you have to assign the archery damage all together before applying it, so you can't assign more archery to Frodo than his remaining health.
  2. Given that the rules ask you to attempt to resolve abilities to the fullest extent possible, and given that the rules have a specific "then" clause available if the intention was to only attack if it returned, I would attempt to do as much of the sentence as possible even if I can't do it all.
  3. Certainly our strongest fellowship features a turn-1 suicide deck (with Doom Hangs Still in Valour so you don't even have to worry about one turn of questing with the sacrifice deck). But this is a very specific set up. I tend to find 2 decks are more reliable than 1, so if your plan with deck 2 is just to play 2-3 random attachments and then die, I don't think this is clearly stronger than just having 2 decks that work well together for the whole game.
  4. According to the strict reading of the rules, it would not. But according to the strict reading of the rules, the entire effect does nothing because it fails to the uniqueness rule. So it is a difficult card to interpret. I would not count it as being a printed icon. As small compensation, this interpretation protects the added game text from "treat each character's text box as if it were blank" effects.
  5. I think the Bombur ability would get very tedious if playing with actual cards. Whether you expect anyone to play these with actual cards determines whether you should consider this relevant. I also like the idea of doing something with his defending. What I really want him to do is to squash enemies after he defends against them, because that is funny. Ignore this suggestion. I assume Bard has lost Ranged by accident rather than by design. For Dwalin, did you consider making a similar adjustment as you do for Secrecy cards? Dwalin is not really playable outside dwarf swarms. But I suppose that is true of the entire archetype and probably is not worth "fixing".
  6. Technically, Thorongil is "pay 3 to do nothing" thanks to the uniqueness rule.
  7. If the intention is to play these cards along with a mostly-full card pool I think you can leave Glorfindel untouched, especially if you are hitting Asfaloth as well.
  8. On #2, what would we do if Collapsed Tower was at the top of the discard pile but had never actually been in the staging area (e.g it was a shadow card)? I mean, I know the right answer is "add it to the staging area", but technically...
  9. Time for Science! I ranked each quest according to what my response would be if someone asked me to play that quest: 0: I won't play it 1: I don't want to play it 2: I don't want to play it with just any deck 3: I will play it 4: I look forward to playing it 5: I want to play it twice Here are the results: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Average Core 1 3 1 3 4 1 2 1 1 1.89 Khazad 3 4 1 3 2 3 3 5 1 2.78 Heirs 2 2 2 4 3 3 3 4 2 2.78 Voice 3 1 3 2 3 4 0 4 4 2.67 Realm 4 3 2 5 4 3 4 1 4 3.33 Havens 2 3 4 2 4 3 4 5 4 3.44 Harad 4 3 4 4 3 1 3 3 3 3.11 Hob 1 1 1 1 1.00 Hob 2 3 1 4 2.67 Rings 1 2 5 3 3.33 Rings 2 4 4 4 4.00 Rings 3 2 4 3 3.00 Rings 4 3 2 3 2.67 Rings 5 2 3 4 3.00 Rings 6 3 3 1 2.33 Science tells us that Grey Havens and Dreamchaser are the best non-saga, and The Road Darkens is the best saga. I've left Rhovanion and beyond off, because I haven't played with them enough to form an opinion yet, apart from to say Fire in the Night is at best a 1.
  10. And let's not forget that this quest can really throw an outrageous amount of threat into the staging area. We played this week and had something like 28 threat in the staging area at the end of staging on the first quest phase. (2 player).
  11. I think this quest is the only quest where if someone suggested we play it I would always say no.
  12. When you play Love Of Tales on another player's hero, is the intention for you or for the other player to search for the song? Rules timing question: does the second ability trigger off itself? I can't immediately think of another card with the same structure to compare with.
  13. That was addressed in this thread, which amusingly features GrandSpleen 😀
  14. I think you have it right according to that ruling, except that I think that the progress tokens go on the quest before resolving the effects of exploring the active location. Or something similar but mechanically the same. They key point is that if the consequences of clearing the active location themselves cause you to progress the quest, you don't place any progress on the new quest. For example, if Annoying Location is the active location, and Quest 2b says "Forced: When Annoying Location is explored, advance to stage 3A", once you do this, the progress that you were going to place on Stage 2b doesn't end up on Stage 3b.
  15. Ok, looks like they changed the rules since last time I learned them.
×
×
  • Create New...