Jump to content

B2000

Members
  • Content Count

    26
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About B2000

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

193 profile views
  1. I see your point and agree. The Thrawn dial is revealed during the start of the Ship Phase which is an exception to when command dials are normally revealed. When a ship does activate, it reveals it's own command dial and gains the Thrawn dial, which has already been revealed. Since, Grint does state when "you" reveal a command dial, it is referring to Grint's ship and that ship only revealed one dial, its own, and gained a Thrawn dial. Therefore, I too believe Grint doesn't grant a Thrawn dial token. Grand Moff Tarkin (Core Set) upgrade states: "At the start of each Ship Phase, you may choose 1 command. Each friendly ship gains a command token matching that command." Profundity states: "Before deploying fleets, you may set aside 1 small ship with a command value of 1." I believe these upgrades refers to "you" the player and not "you" the ship that the upgrade is equipped. Both Thrawn and Tarkin are worded the same and apply at the start of the Ship Phase while Profundity is before ships are even deployed. Sometimes I believe "you" means the player on upgrade cards and is an exception to the Upgrade Card rule. I think upgrade cards create exceptions to the ruleset, and can easily result in confusion.
  2. In the Thrawn designer's article there is a statement on using 3 multiple commands on the same turn: "The Pursuant can even use its Title and Thrawn to resolve three different commands in one turn—in addition to whatever benefit my current Fleet Command is giving me. " The article also addresses it was play tested: "As testing went on the feedback was overwhelmingly positive." Therefore, the intent was using multiple dials on a single activation. Since upgrade rules supersede the normal rule set, both the Pursuant and Thrawn upgrades are exceptions to the rule of only using one dial during a ship's activation. In the Pursuant/Thrawn example, all three command dials would be placed next to the ship and then used at the appropriate time allowing for multiple face up dials during a single activation. The Thrawn card is very well written. The Thrawn upgrade text "At the start of each Ship Phase, you.." is clearly "you" the player. It is not the ship because it occurs at the "start of each Ship Phase" before any ship activation. Since command dials are only "revealed" when a ship activates, any command dial revealed that matched Taskmaster Grint's token would gain a matching token. The duplicate command token rules still applies though.
  3. You are welcome. Games are all about sportsmanship and I commend you on yours. You were respectful of the TO, the appointed winner, and addressed the issue after the event was over. The TO did exactly what I expect a great TO should do: make a ruling; address participants concerns; and consult a higher authority of the game to ensure the ruling was appropriate (well done!) However, I had a similar situation happen last year at a World Boardgaming Championship (WBC) tournament. After a tournament winners' point scores were announced and plaques awarded, my son realized he should have placed second and not in the middle of the 88 participants. He brought it to the TO's attention and theTO realized he had left out a round of scoring but said it was too late to make any changes. I went to the Chairman of the WBC and explained the situation and he immediately consulted with the TO to review my son's score and they would give a duplicate plaque to my son without changing the other winners' places. This is ultimate sportsmanship in my opinion, where mistakes are recognized and handled in an upstanding fashion. I think you should share my posts with the TO on my independent thoughts on the insufficiency of accurate scoring. There is no blame, just a scoring mistake due to inexperience of this unique scoring situation by the participants. If I found merit to adjust your result, I would contact FFG and jointly award you a duplicate placement in the tournament. Issuing a duplicate placement I believe is doing what is right and validates to everyone the integrity and commitment to sportsmanship by the TO and FFG.
  4. This was very unfortunate. The TO, you, and the other participants were placed in an extremely awkward position. It also highlights the issue with a concession: the winner's result could be the entire range of points and MOV had it been played to conclusion but an artificial result must be given. The TO should score concessions because unlike completed games, the score is artificial, and requires validation to avoid scoring manipulation. In this case, both players reported incorrect MOVs: 400-0 is normally a tabling which was not the case; the TO, the winner, and loser agreed there was a concession with the loser having models on the table but the actual MOV was not calculated. Therefore, the rule only allows a higher than 140 MOV if it is calculated to be higher which was not the case. I think concessions are awful and the TO should give guidance at the beginning of the tournament that he adjudicate a concession result.
  5. Thanks. I haven't played in a year, so I obviously need to catch up on the FAQs.
  6. I agree with Drasnighta's position for the following reasons: First, when a new card/rule is introduced, I expect the designers carefully examine how it interacts with the ruleset. They have the opportunity to change the rules or clarify on the card how it interacts with the ruleset. It doesn't matter when the rules were written, the designers can/will modify them when a new card is released to address any new intent. Second, the "Defense Tokens" section does not just apply to defenders (ships and squadrons) but to the defense tokens themselves. Both Admiral Sloane's and Darth Vader's effect spends defense tokens when attacking. So, this section applies to any use of the defense tokens regardless of whether it is a defender or attacker interacting with the defense tokens. The statement "Defense tokens can be spent by the defender during the 'Spend Defense Tokens' step of an attack to produce the effects described below:" is the full quote and address only the 4 effects of Evade, Brace, Redirect, and Scatter. The remaining Defense Token bullets address the defender and the defense tokens. The fifth bullet is specific to the "defense token" and defines the two different states of "spent": exhausted and discarded which can occur at other times other than defending. There are two "defender" specific bullets addressing zero speed and spending each type of token once per attack. The next bullet applies specifically to the "defense token": "A defense token cannot be spent more than once during an attack" and doesn't differentiate why it was spent during an attack. If a defense token was spent during the attack by either the defender or attacker it can't be spent a second time. There are many other card effects that interact with defense tokens and this section covers all these interactions. Now if a Darth Vader commanded ship spent a defense token to reroll attack dice to it's exhausted state, that spent defense token could be used if counter attacked as the counter attack is a separate attack and it had not been spent once during the counter attack.
  7. Your quote "You know...I could play my own game" and the comments Steven made at the end of the broadcast and in this thread sums it up for me. Mistakes happen all the time, so what, it's not important. I prefer to focus on how others play the game and appreciate the time and effort Steven puts into making the video. Great sportsmanship by both players make it enjoyable to watch.
  8. I thoroughly enjoy the games Steven posts, so Steven please continue. "Sadly" there were numerous posts in the chat window that detracted from the game trying to pick out mistakes and had nothing to do with the game. And most of those you were the one mistaken, and Steven had to correct you.
  9. Tiger Tank Op rekts my Sherman's please nerf!! The Tiger was exactly the example I was alluding to, very good. Yes Shermans were "demolished" but there was no "nerf the Tiger" flag raised. They adapted with new tactics and later new weapons. Do the same and let it be.
  10. The beauty of a powerful ship is that it requires new tactics and new ships to handle the threat. Both require time, practice, and patience. The terms "nerf" and "OP" indicate a concession and I don't accept them. Nor should the designers. This happens all the time in real life, so just accept it because everything changes in time.
  11. "Each effect in the game has a timing during which it can resolve. " I believe both these effects have the same timing resolution, in Attack Step 1, Declare Target. "Measure line of sight to the defender to ensure the attack is possible and to determine if it is obstructed." We are told in this step to determine if the attack is "obstructed" and reference the definition. There is no other step to determine "obstructed" so the both effects' timing must be resolved during this step. Montferrat's effect requires us to use the "obstructed" definition but it conflicts with it as the requirements of "line of sight", "obstacle token", or "another ship" are not mentioned in the effect. We are told to "treat the attack as obstructed" which supersedes the requirements in the definition, so the attack is obstructed. This effect is resolved. Jaina's Light effect's timing is also in this step. It is resolved. Since the timing of these two effects conflict in the same step, The Golden Rule applies. Both effects have been resolved, but there has been discussion about the "application" of the Obstructed rule. We are told to apply the "Obstructed" rule during the "Roll Attack Dice" step: "If an attack is obstructed by one or more ships or obstacles, the attacker must choose and remove one die from his attack pool before he rolls dice during the (Attack Step 2,) “Roll Attack Dice” step. However, it was "resolved" in Attack Step 1, the attack was not obstructed, so the "Obstructed" rule is not applied during this step.
  12. I believe all damage to a ship must be resolved including damage exceeding the ship's hull value. 1. RR, p.2 Attack Step 5: Resolve Damage: The attacker can resolve one of its critical effects. Then the attacker determines the total damage amount. Then the defending squadron or hull zone suffers that total damage, one point at a time. 2. RR, p.5 Destroyed Ships and Squadrons: A ship is destroyed when it has damage cards equaling or exceeding its hull value. So, you apply the "total damage, one point at a time" and a "ship is destroyed when it has damage cards equaling or EXCEEDING its hull value".
  13. "If a card effect uses the word 'cannot', that effect is absolute." RR, p.1 The Golden Rules I believe Jaina's Light effect is "absolute".
  14. Gamer's Gambit is hosting back to back Armada Tourneys including Massing at Sullust. Here is a link to their events. http://www.gamersgambit.com/gamers_gambit_ct
×
×
  • Create New...