This came up last night while playing. I apologize beforehand for the wall of text.
While a trooper unit is in a melee with another trooper unit,
those units are engaged. A unit that is engaged cannot perform
moves, cannot be displaced, cannot perform ranged attacks, and
cannot be targeted by ranged attacks.
Trooper units can be only engaged with other trooper units.
Trooper units cannot be engaged with vehicles, and vehicles
cannot be engaged with other vehicles, even if both units are
in a melee.
To exit an engagement, a unit must withdraw by using
its entire activation to perform a speed-1 move. A unit
that is withdrawing cannot do anything during the
“Perform Actions” step of its activation except perform this
Free Card Action-
A free card action is a type of free action. If an ability is
preceded by a free card action icon, that ability is a free
card action. Free card actions do not count against the two
actions that a unit can perform during its activation.
Each free card action is a unique action; a unit can perform
different free card actions during its activation. However, a
unit cannot perform the same free card action more than
once during its activation.
Card actions can allow units to gain aim, dodge, and
standby tokens. If a card action specifically instructs a
unit to gain an aim, dodge, or standby token, that effect is
different than performing an aim, dodge, or standby action
and therefore does not trigger abilities that occur after aim,
dodge, or standby actions are performed.
After a unit that has the
relentless keyword performs a move
action, it may perform a free attack action.
This attack action is a free action and therefore does not
count as one of the unit’s two actions.
A unit that has already performed an attack action during its
activation cannot perform a free attack action.
A unit that has already performed a free attack action during
its activation cannot perform another attack action.
And finally The Golden Rules.
THE GOLDEN RULES
The golden rules are fundamental concepts on which all
other rules are built.
If something in this reference contradicts the
Learn to Play booklet, the Rules Reference
If an effect on a card or another component
contradicts rules found in the Learn to Play booklet
or Rules Reference, that component takes precedence.
If a card effect uses the word “cannot,” that effect
is absolute and cannot be overridden by other
Here is the situation, Luke moved in to engage Vader in Melee, During Vader's activation there was a unit of troopers at range 1, Based on the wording of engaged Vader cannot perform anything except a melee attack or a Withdraw. Withdraw is a speed 1 move. Vader has "Relentless" Saying he can perform a free attack action, The Vader player wanted to withdraw and then use saber throw, and then use force choke and jedi reflexes to gain a dodge token and to kill another rebel trooper rather than attack Luke. We determined that that was not possible due to the wording of engaged and made Vader attack Luke in Melee but when we finished playing we started to second guess that decision. Basically because of the golden rule that says card text trumps the rules reference and the learn to play booklet.
We came up with two main questions.
1. engage specifically says trooper units, so does that mean commanders are not trooper units or they are trooper units?
2. Does withdraw trump free card actions and card text or is it the other way around.
Just thought I would throw this out there.