Jump to content

ChrisLS2

Members
  • Content Count

    89
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by ChrisLS2

  1. I'm not sure if this should be here or in the FFG Events forum, but here it goes. With Wave 2 still at the printer and Worlds sneaking up on us remarkably fast (is it seriously only three months away?!?), will the Armada World Championship be a 300 point event? Obviously I want to prepare for whatever format is being used, and I don't see Wave 3 getting onto the boat and hitting retailers much before Worlds, if at all. Is there a way to get an official FFG position on this? Thanks!
  2. I do like that, but it doesn't address the problem of turning Vader into a speed demon, or having four RGs in your face turn one.
  3. I've played a few games now, and have encountered the evilness that is Vader backed up by multiple officers. Yes, the officers are squishy, but they are also able to get out of the way after delivering their payload, plus get support up after Vader if they aren't there already. I also understand that the Order special action is a unique one and gives the Imperials some great options. I wouldn't want to deny them that. But I think the problem comes in with too much of a good thing. So here is my thought: - Squad building rule for Skirmish: Your squad may contain no more than two deployment cards with the Leader characteristic. It's simple, doesn't change any cards, and prevents most of the abusive stuff with Officers I've seen and heard. It is thematic (why on earth would there be tons of officers around with just a few followers?) and particularly limits the 4x4 O/RG list and the Vader+lots of officers list (Vader could only have a single officer in support). Another possibility, which I am not as sold on, is this: - A figure may only benefit from Order or Executive Order once per turn. This way you don't see Vader being moved 8 spaces then having his own activation, or Royal Guard Champions running 12(?!?) spaces before their own. Any thoughts?
  4. Got it: whoever has initiative has their effects resolve first, then the person without initiative. So if the Royal Guard player has initiative, they would have to play their command card first and thus could not remove the effect of Jyn's attack, but if Jyn's player has initiative, her attack resolves first, and the Royal Guard can then respond with the command card. Thanks!
  5. Hey, folks, my friend and I came across an interesting timing question regarding the timing of Jyn's Stun surge ability when used with Hair Trigger and the command card Rally. The text in question: So a Royal Guard activates, Jyn interrupts with Hair Trigger, shooting the Royal Guard and getting a Stun surge onto the Guard. Could the Imperial player use the Rally card to immediately remove that Stun, or has the start of the figure's activation passed? Or is this a situation where the player with Initiative makes the decision (per Conflicts, pg 9 of the Rules Reference)? Thanks!
  6. Some fun possibilities: - Fire Control System and R7 Astromech (4 points) - Push the Limit and R2 Astromech (4 points) - Engine Upgrade and Push the Limit (7 points) - Opportunist for Corran Horn (4 points): great with that end of round second attack - Advanced Sensors (3 points) - R7-T1 with Push the Limit (7 points) - Swarm Tactics for Corran Horm (2 points) Mix and match to your preference!
  7. I played against a nasty list yesterday: IG-88C (36) Push the Limit (3) Advanced Sensors (3) Heavy Laser Cannon (7) Autothrusters (2) Boba Fett (Scum) (39) Veteran Instincts (1) Gunner (5) Engine Upgrade (4) Total: 100 View in Yet Another Squad Builder I'm not sure if I'm sold on using Boba Fett over another Aggressor with a Mangler Cannon instead of the HLC, but one way or another it was vicious. That Aggressor was incredibly hard to take down, and my focusing on it instead of Boba Fett was one of the reasons I lost the game.
  8. Thanks! I expected it to be somewhere obvious, like say in the opening paragraph or section. Just one of those "well, this is really important" kinds of things. Kudos to your superior reading comprehension skills!
  9. Just to check: will the World Championships be held at the FFG Games Center, or another location? Thanks!
  10. Falcon does have both of those upgrades, so get it while it is out! They tend to disappear pretty quick.
  11. Oh, I did completely miss that. That's pretty crazy: kind of the final opportunity to move, since it's completely outside of the activation phase. Nice.
  12. I'm trying to think of another way to handle it, but apart from Yorr, I just don't see a way to get rid of that stress from Opportunist. A better option would be PTL with a buddy using Wingman. That way you get both the TL and Focus. It also means you aren't stuck with a one-trick pony shuttle. Try something like this: Rexler Brath (37) Push the Limit (3) Heavy Laser Cannon (7) Saber Squadron (21) Wingman (2) Autothrusters (2) Saber Squadron (21) Decoy (2) Autothrusters (2) TOTAL: 97 points
  13. That's what I thought. Thanks, guys!
  14. I was reviewing a recent article on Bell of Lost Souls, and came across a claim that I believe is totally bogus. However, I'm not as versed in all the FAQs and clarifications, so perhaps I'm wrong. The card text in question is this: At the start of the Combat phase, if you have no shields and at least 1 Damage card assigned to your ship, you may perform a free evade action. The claim was that since the free action is in the combat phase, the stress gained from Push the Limit is irrelevant, and that Isard could then perform the free Evade action. I think the implication is that since it isn't in the Perform Actions step, it can still be done. My understanding is that if you have a stress token, you may not perform any actions, even free ones. The text, on page 17 of the rule book, doesn't specify that you skip your action step: it says you may not perform actions. So the question is: If a ship has a stress token, can that ship perform free actions outside of the Perform Action step of the Activation phase?
×
×
  • Create New...