Jump to content

ArbitraryNerd

Members
  • Content Count

    1,494
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from phxcmd in Can't take the outer rim from me...   
    <3 Firefly The Game, and I have all the expansions. I'd love something a bit more modern and easier to setup/break down, so I'm all about this.

    Won't replace Firefly, mind, but still an insta-buy from me.
  2. Haha
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to DailyRich in New SW Board Game Announced   
    A $70 hole in my pocket is what it is...
  3. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Church14 in Vulture swarm: Staying alive? Is it even viable?   
    That has been a suggestion for Armada if they were to add droid fighters
  4. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Stealthcmc1974 in Vulture swarm: Staying alive? Is it even viable?   
    You're probably right, but you could have phrased this a bit differently. The passive aggressiveness is strong with one.
  5. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to KCDodger in Vulture swarm: Staying alive? Is it even viable?   
    Don't be that way about it. **** I almost hope you're wrong entirely because of the way you delivered that.
  6. Haha
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Giledhil in Deadly Speed - Resistance A-Wing article   
    Should have named it "A-wing news", maybe.
  7. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from AlexBeezle in 6 TIE Sloane Swarm   
    Pretty sure you can fit:
    Whisper w/ Juke & Vader
    Omicron w/ Sloane
    3x Academy Pilots
    8 pt bid
    Or maybe upgrade one Academy to Markmanship Seyn, to really entice your opponent to shoot them down first. Or maybe slap 0-0-0 on the Lambda to add to the stress fun.
    Edit: Not a swarm player, I don't think I've ever seriously considered a 5 ship list before during 1.0...

    Edit: Change Omicron to Scarif Base, drop Vader, you can fit an additional Academy...
  8. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from StriderZessei in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    From the recently updated Official Rulings post in the Rules Question thread:
     
    ---
    Q: What does “ignores obstacles” mean? Do Han Solo [Pilot, Customized YT-1300] and Qi’ra [Crew] work together? What about Dash Rendar [YT-2400] and Outrider [Title]?
    A: When an effect says a ship “ignores obstacles,” it means that ship “ignores the effects of obstacles.” A ship that is “ignoring obstacles” does not apply the effects of overlapping or moving through them. When that ship performs an attack that is obstructed by an obstacle it ignores the effects of the obstruction, so the defender does not roll 1 additional defense die being obstructed by the obstacles the attacker is ignoring.
    However, the obstacles are still treated as being present for effects that check for their presence or absence. Additionally, an attack is obstructed by an obstacle even while the effects of the obstacle are ignored. This applies to cards such as Outrider, Han Solo [Pilot, Customized YT-1300], and Trick Shot (Talent).
    Additionally, other ships do not ignore the obstacle when resolving effects that interact with a ship that is ignoring obstacles. For instance, while a ship that is ignoring obstacles defends, if the attack is obstructed, it still rolls 1 additional defense die because the attacker is not ignoring the effects of obstacles.
    ---
  9. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from CaptainJaguarShark in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    From the recently updated Official Rulings post in the Rules Question thread:
     
    ---
    Q: What does “ignores obstacles” mean? Do Han Solo [Pilot, Customized YT-1300] and Qi’ra [Crew] work together? What about Dash Rendar [YT-2400] and Outrider [Title]?
    A: When an effect says a ship “ignores obstacles,” it means that ship “ignores the effects of obstacles.” A ship that is “ignoring obstacles” does not apply the effects of overlapping or moving through them. When that ship performs an attack that is obstructed by an obstacle it ignores the effects of the obstruction, so the defender does not roll 1 additional defense die being obstructed by the obstacles the attacker is ignoring.
    However, the obstacles are still treated as being present for effects that check for their presence or absence. Additionally, an attack is obstructed by an obstacle even while the effects of the obstacle are ignored. This applies to cards such as Outrider, Han Solo [Pilot, Customized YT-1300], and Trick Shot (Talent).
    Additionally, other ships do not ignore the obstacle when resolving effects that interact with a ship that is ignoring obstacles. For instance, while a ship that is ignoring obstacles defends, if the attack is obstructed, it still rolls 1 additional defense die because the attacker is not ignoring the effects of obstacles.
    ---
  10. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from Quarrel in Who has Double Decimator lists?   
    Honestly, based on the changes to the overall Decimator AND what we are looking at for a current meta, I don't think double Decimators are going to be remotely worth it. 
  11. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Vineheart01 in Target Lock (ab-)use for more bonus information   
    yeah if anything this got weaker in 2.0 since you cant do the boost thing anymore.
    Either you are forced to lock a friendly ship or rock after you gained info that you are just out of R3 of the enemy, or it somehow failed and you dont get a boost anyway.
    And i dont think anybody except the Interceptor/Awing can boost after a targetlock, its the other way around for all the linked actions im aware of.
  12. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Jike in Target Lock (ab-)use for more bonus information   
    Ultimately it's a pretty neutral situation because the opponent gets the same information too. In general any good player already has the ability to judge these kind of things without the extra information from the TL action anyway.
  13. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to ficklegreendice in Super Dash!   
    Some of us don't like blatantly ignoring one of the most fundamental aspects of the game
    Potato-poe tah toe 
    There are other ships, you'll be fine 
  14. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to StriderZessei in Super Dash!   
    He never was, and he isn't now, stop whinging. You sound like PGS.
  15. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from Chudley in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Most instances of "clearly needs an FAQ" are actually just errors in reading comprehension and certain parties wanting to be correct, so you'll forgive me if I ignore your absolute here.

    Now, RE your bolded point above, what causes you to read "ignore them" as not moving through them? He clearly moves through them physically. And, per game rules, he clearly overlaps, physically. You ignore them (which avoids the negative effects), but you physically moved through them.
    Do what the card says, not what it doesn't say. Nowhere does it say that you are considered to have not moved through them/overlapped. You just ignore them [when you do]. Outrider isn't saying you had to have suffered any effects from obstacles, just completed a maneuver over/on them. 
    More to the point, linguistically, you can't ignore something that isn't there. That's not really how FFG operates, however, as their relationship with language is honestly a bit awkward at best.

    And the intent has been covered above by others (Outrider as Dash's ship, etc...), but it isn't influencing my reading of the rules, I'm just reading the rules as written and not looking for more than what the cards say. When moving, ignore obstacles. If you completed a maneuver through/on an obstacle, trigger Outrider. Those aren't mutually exclusive ideas events.
  16. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from StriderZessei in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Dash ignores the obstacle. Outrider doesn't.

    EDIT:
    1. Dash moves over asteroid.
    2. Asteroid effect would trigger, but Dash ignores it.
    3. Dash completes his maneuver.
    4. Outrider checks if he moved through an obstacle. Sure did.
    5. Profit.

    EDIT 2:
    As we've been saying repeatedly, just because Dash ignores something, doesn't mean it wasn't there. Maybe if the timing window was the same, we'd have an issue. Maybe. But it isn't and we don't.
  17. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from StriderZessei in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Because RAI is pretty clear here, and it takes additional wording to make it wrong.

    Dash ignores obstacles when moving (per ability), but he still moves through them (for Outrider). It's not actually unclear at all. But, because "Ignore" doesn't have a rules entry (despite FFG using it in multiple areas), folks are adding their own interpretations. I assume because they enjoyed all the drama that came with every new release during 1.0, and they can't imagine X-Wing without it. 

    Well, that and FFG does have a spotty track record.
     
  18. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from StriderZessei in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    ... Yeah, I think folks here are just looking for trouble.

    Dash might ignore them, but it doesn't mean he still didn't move through/overlap. Ignore needs some clarification in the rules for a number of reasons, but this doesn't seem to be one.
     
    Also, for this particular one, the intent is extremely clear, and it's a stretch to read it otherwise.

    While moving, he ignores them. If he moved through or overlapped them, Outrider triggers. Ignoring them doesn't stop them from existing on the mat.
  19. Haha
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Talonbane Cobra in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    If the problem is genuinely with their intelligence though, what can you do?
  20. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to xbeaker in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    No, according to the RAW as you interpret the word 'ignore' he doesn't.  But as I explained above.  That he can ignore an obstacle when he flies past it or over it doesn't mean he didn't move past it or over it. 

    The recent argument that "ignoring a wall doesn't mean it won't hurt you if you walk into it"  So the only 2 options for something to exist are you ram straight into it or it doesn't exist at all?!  Man, tell that to a cop next time you get pulled over for a speeding ticket. "Sir, you were doing 80 in a 45"  "Sorry officer, I was ignoring the sign so it didn't exist at all.  And I can prove it didn't exist because I didn't ram straight into it!" That speed limit sign is still there.. Dash just has diplomatic immunity and can ignore it. 

    I'll admit it isn't 100% clear, but it certainly isn't 'RAW' that it doesn't work.  That is simply some people's (incorrect) interpretation.  RAW "While moving ignore..."  "After moving if..."  It doesn't say after moving if you were affected by, only that you moved over or overlapped.  Were it 100% clear either way there would be no discussion, so you can't call RAW on this as an absolute.

    At this point it has been explained as best it can. Anyone who still thinks they don't work together is simply being stubborn in arguing that Dash somehow causes obstacles to pop out of existence, to fight for Dash not being able to utilize his own ship. 

    RAW may be fuzzy, but the clearest interpretation is they DO work together.  And RAI is crystal clear.  The FAQ is obviously going to come down on the side of Dash getting to use Outrider, So to @sharrrp's point, why are you fighting it?  Learn to play the ship, and play against it with the rules we all know are going to be confirmed soon.  
  21. Like
    ArbitraryNerd reacted to Cuz05 in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    If ignoring things made them not exist, the world would be a very different place.
    I have children, I would be in trouble.
  22. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from Vykk Draygo in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Dash ignores the obstacle. Outrider doesn't.

    EDIT:
    1. Dash moves over asteroid.
    2. Asteroid effect would trigger, but Dash ignores it.
    3. Dash completes his maneuver.
    4. Outrider checks if he moved through an obstacle. Sure did.
    5. Profit.

    EDIT 2:
    As we've been saying repeatedly, just because Dash ignores something, doesn't mean it wasn't there. Maybe if the timing window was the same, we'd have an issue. Maybe. But it isn't and we don't.
  23. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from Vykk Draygo in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Because RAI is pretty clear here, and it takes additional wording to make it wrong.

    Dash ignores obstacles when moving (per ability), but he still moves through them (for Outrider). It's not actually unclear at all. But, because "Ignore" doesn't have a rules entry (despite FFG using it in multiple areas), folks are adding their own interpretations. I assume because they enjoyed all the drama that came with every new release during 1.0, and they can't imagine X-Wing without it. 

    Well, that and FFG does have a spotty track record.
     
  24. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from PanchoX1 in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Dash ignores the obstacle. Outrider doesn't.

    EDIT:
    1. Dash moves over asteroid.
    2. Asteroid effect would trigger, but Dash ignores it.
    3. Dash completes his maneuver.
    4. Outrider checks if he moved through an obstacle. Sure did.
    5. Profit.

    EDIT 2:
    As we've been saying repeatedly, just because Dash ignores something, doesn't mean it wasn't there. Maybe if the timing window was the same, we'd have an issue. Maybe. But it isn't and we don't.
  25. Like
    ArbitraryNerd got a reaction from nullpeter in Dash 2.0 and Outrider need an FAQ -- or do they? [Answer: Yes, yes they do lol]   
    Most instances of "clearly needs an FAQ" are actually just errors in reading comprehension and certain parties wanting to be correct, so you'll forgive me if I ignore your absolute here.

    Now, RE your bolded point above, what causes you to read "ignore them" as not moving through them? He clearly moves through them physically. And, per game rules, he clearly overlaps, physically. You ignore them (which avoids the negative effects), but you physically moved through them.
    Do what the card says, not what it doesn't say. Nowhere does it say that you are considered to have not moved through them/overlapped. You just ignore them [when you do]. Outrider isn't saying you had to have suffered any effects from obstacles, just completed a maneuver over/on them. 
    More to the point, linguistically, you can't ignore something that isn't there. That's not really how FFG operates, however, as their relationship with language is honestly a bit awkward at best.

    And the intent has been covered above by others (Outrider as Dash's ship, etc...), but it isn't influencing my reading of the rules, I'm just reading the rules as written and not looking for more than what the cards say. When moving, ignore obstacles. If you completed a maneuver through/on an obstacle, trigger Outrider. Those aren't mutually exclusive ideas events.
×
×
  • Create New...