Jump to content

Absol197

Members
  • Content Count

    2,979
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Absol197

  1. I'm not a fan of handicapping for the sake of it, but I do think accepting limitations or less-than-optimal abilities to tell a better story is a great thing to do! While I'm sure many here are sick of hearing about her, my "iconic" character has a very major handicap. It's primarily a role-playing handicap, although it does play out in her stats as well. She is a true pacifist (I usually say a "pathological pacifist"). She will not harm another person, and she doesn't like to associate with those who do. And this is Star Wars! WARS! That's a tricky thing to navigate around, and makes playing her a real challenge sometimes. Granted, she's in what is essentially a solo game; I wouldn't subject a party of fellow players to someone with that kind of restriction. But that's the kind of handicapping I like - how does this character deal with this restriction? What does that say about them, and what kind of story does it tell?
  2. No, but it is a rare occurrence. The only other time was an eight-day window between the release of Far Horizons/Onslaught at Arda I (which both released the same day) and the announcement of Stay on Target. 08/14/2014 through 08/22/2014 are the only days where we've had literally nothing announced.
  3. Yeah, probably. But it hurts my precious numbers ever so much ;( ...
  4. Granted I admit that I have a much looser, "spirit of the agreement" view on transactions, but my interpretation is as follows: If the active player (or other player involved) could adhere to the deal with whatever remaining steps exist in the active player's turn, the deal is binding. If the deal would require the scribe player's turn to end and another active player to start their turn, it is non-binding. In the Agenda phase, each deal made during one agenda card is binding of it could be resolved before the outcome of that card is resolved. Tl; dr: "Immediately" refers to "this turn" or "this agenda." On the other question floating around, our group doesn't care who initiates the transaction, as long as the active player is involved.
  5. Hey look! Gadgets & Gear is On the Boat! It's about time, really.
  6. With Enhance, yes. With most other powers, no. Unfortunately they're not entirely consistent with it, but if you read the full description it should tell you whether a basic power or upgrade can be activated multiple times. With powers like Move, Misdirect, Sense, Seek, Battle Meditation, Bind, and a few others, you can NOT activate the basic power more than once. I believe that Enhance and Influence are the only two in the Core book that allow you to, although I'd have to double check. Long story short, ALWAYS read the full description, not just the blurb in the table. It'll tell you all the needed info.
  7. I typically only go to the Highlands Ranch one because the other one is further away from me, but they're both run by the same people and have very similar atmospheres, so pick whichever one is more convenient .
  8. Not next weekend (August 3), but the weekend after that (August 10). But I do definitely still recommend stopping by Enchanted Grounds . There are lots of board game and RPG groups that meet there regularly. If my group happens to not have an open slot, you can at least try to meet people and find others. I'm there as I post this, in fact! The FFG Star Wars scene isn't as big as it was before the Great Book Slowdown of 2017, but it's still there .
  9. Party Captain: "So, how'd the interviews go? We're a good group of people, huh?" Commander: "Good? Good!? Your droid is entirely mercenary and would sell out all of us in an instant if the price was right, the wookiee is hyper-aggressive and a danger to those around him, the twi'lek despises authority and would never follow orders simply because they're orders, and the verpine was notability withholding vital information from the psych-reviewer the entire time! And you are a former Imperial pilot who is married to the subject of our espionage investigation!" Party Captain: "So... we got the job?" Commander: ... "Yes."
  10. We do! Or did; we had a long-running mixed Edge/Age/Force game going that I was GMing, but unfortunately several of the players were unable to make it for an extended period, so it petered out. We typically meet on Saturdays from noon to about 3- or 4-ish. Depending on schedules and how people are feeling .
  11. Welcome to Colorado! It's a great state . I'd recommend visiting Enchanted Grounds - is my favorite hangout/FLGS, and the place that got me hooked on these games in the first place! I am currently playing in a GeneSys Steampunk game, however the party's a bit big and I don't know if the GM would want another player. Also we've been on hiatus for a few months so he's going to need a bit too get back in the swing of things. But I could ask! But feel free to say "Hi" if you ever see me at EG; I'll be the lady with a bunch of board games and a sign saying "Wanna Play? Just Ask!"
  12. That is pretty much the pattern, and something I'm expecting. There's also been a notably quick boating time. I'm unfortunately real busy at work, but I'll try to get some numbers run soon!
  13. Yes. But if you remove that, then a starting Jedi can be either a Padawan or a General, and you don't need the "buy FR 2 with starting XP" rule, and then you don't have players whining about not being able to get Force rating 2 as a non-Jedi, or people trying to cheese it by starting as a Force-rating 2 Padawan to get Force rating 3 with only 70 xp. Which is stupid.
  14. I very much agree. Also, on a semi-related note, another house-rule I'm debating is simply removing the prerequisite for the General spec. I have to look it over a bit more, but I don't think it's quite as powerful (and therefore not quite as in need if a prerequisite) as the Knight. A starting General then would simply be a Padawan who's focusing more on their role as a Commander rather than their role as an apprentice.
  15. Ehhhhh... I mean, I don't know there won't be, but I can say that I'm very dubious.
  16. Since I was a contributor, I don't feel comfortable spoiling stuff. However! There's a great spoiler thea's on the Age of Rebellion board!
  17. Yay! Got my copy yesterday evening!
  18. Improved Field Commander provides only one ally an action per Triumph. And the wording is vague on whether or not you can spend multiple triumphs for this ability, or if it's limited to one per roll.
  19. Umm... I'm just gonna go... you people are confusing me.
  20. Huh? I am very confused. I don't know this song. If it's not big band music, from a movie or video game, I probably don't know it.
  21. Glad you guys like it . The Master spec was one of my favourites, although the Nightsister is not too shabby, either!
  22. My pseudo-houserule is to allow any Jedi character to select two lightsaber form specifications to become career specifications, to bring them up to the full 6 career specs. But I haven't had a chance to test it, so that's why it's still a "pseudo" houserule.
  23. I don't know what's going on here, nor how I should feel about it. But the video includes Toph, so it can't be all bad, can it?
×
×
  • Create New...