Jump to content

joliversc

Members
  • Content Count

    107
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Posts posted by joliversc


  1. I've only ever played one or two people that use them. Mine are sitting in a box with all the random mission tokens, extra TLs and numbered tombstones.

     

    It seems to be a strange 'thing'. It's in the rule book but it's not enforced by FF judges at officially sanctioned games. I don't have my original rule book. Is it a new change when they introduced V2.0 of the rules?


  2. Rules Reference 2.0: Page 9

    Under CRITICAL DAMAGE: When a ship is dealt a faceup Damage card, assign a critical hit token to that ship as a reminder of the card’s ongoing effect. That token is discarded if the card is discarded or flipped facedown.

     

    My local community currently doesn't use these tokens. I have watched a number of regional and world's matches on YouTube (Some of which are officiated by the games developers) and they don't seem to used. I have watched a number of regional and world's matches on YouTube (Some of which are officiated by the games developers) and they don't seem to used. No one in my local community have ever seen this rule applied or seen the tokens placed on the game board and some of us have traveled to regional tournaments and the Stele Open.

     

    My question is:

    Should I try and encourage the use of these tokens during casual play, should we consider this a 'hard' rule that should be enforced during our local tournaments or should we continue to fly casual regarding this rule?


  3. Page 9: Rules Reference 2.0

     

    When a ship is dealt a faceup Damage card, assign a critical hit token to that ship as a reminder of the card’s ongoing effect. That token is discarded if the card is discarded or flipped facedown. • Each faceup Damage card has either the Ship or Pilot trait. These traits have no inherent effect, but they may be referenced by other effects.

     

    My local group has never played with these tokens. When we run Tournaments I want to run them by the letter of the rules. When I watch tournament matches on YouTube, some of which are officiated by the game designers themselves, I never see these tokens being used.

     

    My question is:

    Should I push for my group to play using the tokens, should we continue to fly casual in regards to them or should I enforce the rule during tournament play.


  4. It Ship A overlaps ship B and is placed behind it until they are touching. If both A and B do 1 straights are they still overlapping?

     

    Can ships fire if they are touching their target but have not overlapped them?

     

    I know touching an obstacle without overlapping them does not trigger the obstacles effects. I'm wondering if the same rules applies to ships that are only touching one another.


  5. Swarms are making a comeback in my local meta.

     

    They come in the standard tie swarm variety.

     

    What's the common way to defeat large swarms these days and what would make for a tournament level list that has to keep an eye out against swarms.


  6. Outmaneuver:

    When attacking a ship inside your firing arc, if you are not inside that ship's firing arc, reduce its agility value by 1 (to a minimum of 0).

     

    What counts as a firing arc. I know the shaded portion of a ship count, and the Auxiliary arcs such as the one on the Firespray and Ghost. But what about ships that can fire 360 degrees or the 180 degree arc on the Hound's Tooth?


  7. In the E-mail responding to the Imperial Assault Carrier, Frank said,



     

    "In the future, please do not send me questions directly, please submit your questions though the website. This is mainly for data tracking and if I no longer am in charge of answering rules questions, the question is sent to the correct person."

     

    For my own purposes, what does he mean when he says, "Through the website." Is he talking about this forum or is there another place to submit questions?

     


  8. Has anyone else noticed that Frank has started adding this disclaimer when he answers rules specific questions from an individual player?

     

    "The information contained in this electronic message is privileged and confidential information intended only for the use of the recipient named above. If the reader of the message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.”

     

    What does he mean? Should we not use his responses to arbitrate a perceived rules discrepancy? 

     

    ​How do the top rated TO's arbitrate perceived rules discrepancies?

     


  9.  

    Hit is a term that is defined in the Rules Reference.

     

    RRG, pg 12:
    "HIT
    During the “Compare Results” step of attack, a ship
    is hit if there are any [HIT] or [CRIT] results remaining
    after canceling dice.

     

    So this means taking a hit or crit from an Asteroid counts as a hit?


  10. I saw a scout list elsewhere on the forum that I want to fly.

     

    2x Contracted Scout - GCips, Deadeye, Plasma torps, EM, R4 Agromech 

    2x Binarye pilots - Hull Upgrade, Feedback Array 

     

    Scouts 66 points

    Pirates 34 points

    Total: 100


  11. I answer your question:

    I still find it absurd to have regular Ties and FOs in the same list.

    It just grind my gears, since they really can't co-exist fluff-wise.

    Using the 'right models of the era' would at least fix the look of the whole list.

     

    I think its worse to use the Black Sun Z95 as rebel fighters - an this is 100% legal.

     

    Tie Fighters are a special case - even rule-wise, since there is no difference between them when it comes to Youngster and the Gozanti.

    I think it would be fair to officially legalize to use either the regular or the fo model to represent whatever TIE Fighter.

     

    Are the Rebel Z's usable as the Scum Z's in tournament play?


  12. Do the auxiliary firing arcs on ships like the Firespray, the Ghost or the Hound's Tooth count as 'an attacker's firing arcs'. Or do Autothrusters just concern themselves with the primary arc from the front of a ship?

×
×
  • Create New...