Jump to content

konradkurze

Members
  • Content Count

    426
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    konradkurze reacted to Lorinor in Composed   
    They never told anyone to divide the condition deck into stacks in the first place.
  2. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Sindriss in Any news on a restock?   
    I hope you're right, because if the base game isn't even available for 3+ months I'll probably be a lot less excited to buy it. I certainly won't pick up the 'new' expansion then either, not for a while anyway.
    It seems like a huge oversight to release an expansion when the base game is completely sold out from everywhere.
  3. Like
    konradkurze reacted to Sindriss in Any news on a restock?   
    There already is a shortage and it's not "awaiting reprint" which means it is several months away. I am curious why they would allow this to happen with a new expansion coming out.
  4. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Shaidown in ARC 170s (again)   
    Considering X-Wings are the evolution of the Arc then Arcs would have to be about comparable to Z-Wings, and certainly not better than X-Wings.
  5. Like
    konradkurze reacted to Rogue Three in Feldherr MAXI Bag for Star Wars Armada Wave 2   
    Preordered the wave 2 bag! Already have the previous One and loved it!
  6. Like
    konradkurze reacted to Madaghmire in Feldherr MAXI Bag for Star Wars Armada Wave 2   
    The wave 2 bag doesnt actually release until January. I will say that the wace one bag is amazeballs and im definetely getting the wave 2 one.
  7. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from knavelead in Super Star Destroyer discussion thread   
    They could do an Allegiance-class SSD (essentially a bigger badder ISD) for Armada, but considering an Executor-class is 10x the size (length-wise, its mass is much more than a simple 10x increase) of an ISD, with 10x the firepower, it would have to have a 100 dice attack and cost 1000pts all by itself to be in scale at all.
     
    A minimized version of the Executor which is simply worth 3 ISDs they might do, although it doesn't do the might of the Executor justice.
  8. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Darkblade113 in Only FFG's playmats are legal for tournament use!   
    About 90% of the games I play will not be tournament games, and I am sure that is true for the vast majority of future Armada players as well, so this rule doesn't really effect much at all.
  9. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from DarthBadger in Only FFG's playmats are legal for tournament use!   
    About 90% of the games I play will not be tournament games, and I am sure that is true for the vast majority of future Armada players as well, so this rule doesn't really effect much at all.
  10. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Darthfish in Do upgrade card critical effects deal 1 damage in addition to the effect?   
    I think it is important to separate Critical Effects and Damage.
     
    Damage is solely based on the number of hits and crits rolled. If you roll 3 Hits and 2 Crits you deal 5 Damage (minus defense tokens, abilities, etc). It doesn't matter that 2 of them are crits, that doesn't change anything.
     
    If you have at least one dice showing a crit facing by the deal damage phase you can activate a critical effect, the default is that the first damage card dealt is done so face up. THIS DOES NOT ADD A DAMAGE, it only means that if one or more damage cards would be dealt to the defender then the first one is dealt face up.
     
    If you deal 2 damage and have a critical showing, but the defender has 2 shields on the facing being attacked, then the default critical effect will have no effect on the resolution of damage.
     
    Critical Effects and damage are two very separate things, thinking of criticals as adding a damage is dangerous and can lead to mistakes.
  11. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Jochmann in I don't like Scum. (Wave 2 Rogues and villains)   
    My biggest dislike about Scum is that for some reason Imperials never get their own ships, they have to rely on bounty hunters. It is nonsense. Why would I want Bobba Fett when I could have a fleet of Missile Boats? This is the Imperial Navy, not the run and hide behind your paid mercs navy.
     
    The smugglers work well for the Rebels because they actually are rebels in quite a few cases. I just want some Decimators, Lambdas, Missile Boats, or other real Imp fighters.
  12. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from clontroper5 in A New (and hopefully productive) thread about Ramming.   
    Ok, it is almost impossible to ram with more than 3 ships against a single target, on a single turn. If you have 6 CR90s all lined up ready to ram, guess what? They have to move one at a time. Suddenly 1/2 the front of the Vic is covered by a CR90 after just the first ram. The second ram will make it impossible for another ship to maneuver from in front of the Vic to a side and the third will block the other side. If you somehow manage to form a perfect circle around a Vic then yes, you can manage about 6 rams before you run out of space and are instead just ramming your own ships.
     
    But 7 CR90s vs 1 Vic are gonna win without a single ram. Thrown in 2 GSDs and suddenly being at point blank range from the Imps is looking like a god awful idea. 7 CR90s is 21 Dice from forward arcs alone, why would you focus on doing a single (admittedly though shields) point of damage when you can throw so many dice that their defense tokens will be exhausted (at best) or discarded completely and still die?
     
    Plus with 7 CR90s you have 0 fighters and a Corrupter build with Rhymer and bombers is going to tear it to shreds from Long Range, before any rams are even possible.
  13. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from chrisdk in Do upgrade card critical effects deal 1 damage in addition to the effect?   
    I think it is important to separate Critical Effects and Damage.
     
    Damage is solely based on the number of hits and crits rolled. If you roll 3 Hits and 2 Crits you deal 5 Damage (minus defense tokens, abilities, etc). It doesn't matter that 2 of them are crits, that doesn't change anything.
     
    If you have at least one dice showing a crit facing by the deal damage phase you can activate a critical effect, the default is that the first damage card dealt is done so face up. THIS DOES NOT ADD A DAMAGE, it only means that if one or more damage cards would be dealt to the defender then the first one is dealt face up.
     
    If you deal 2 damage and have a critical showing, but the defender has 2 shields on the facing being attacked, then the default critical effect will have no effect on the resolution of damage.
     
    Critical Effects and damage are two very separate things, thinking of criticals as adding a damage is dangerous and can lead to mistakes.
  14. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Rapscallion84 in I don't like Scum. (Wave 2 Rogues and villains)   
    My biggest dislike about Scum is that for some reason Imperials never get their own ships, they have to rely on bounty hunters. It is nonsense. Why would I want Bobba Fett when I could have a fleet of Missile Boats? This is the Imperial Navy, not the run and hide behind your paid mercs navy.
     
    The smugglers work well for the Rebels because they actually are rebels in quite a few cases. I just want some Decimators, Lambdas, Missile Boats, or other real Imp fighters.
  15. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from DWRR in Do upgrade card critical effects deal 1 damage in addition to the effect?   
    I think it is important to separate Critical Effects and Damage.
     
    Damage is solely based on the number of hits and crits rolled. If you roll 3 Hits and 2 Crits you deal 5 Damage (minus defense tokens, abilities, etc). It doesn't matter that 2 of them are crits, that doesn't change anything.
     
    If you have at least one dice showing a crit facing by the deal damage phase you can activate a critical effect, the default is that the first damage card dealt is done so face up. THIS DOES NOT ADD A DAMAGE, it only means that if one or more damage cards would be dealt to the defender then the first one is dealt face up.
     
    If you deal 2 damage and have a critical showing, but the defender has 2 shields on the facing being attacked, then the default critical effect will have no effect on the resolution of damage.
     
    Critical Effects and damage are two very separate things, thinking of criticals as adding a damage is dangerous and can lead to mistakes.
  16. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from RedPriest in Do upgrade card critical effects deal 1 damage in addition to the effect?   
    I think it is important to separate Critical Effects and Damage.
     
    Damage is solely based on the number of hits and crits rolled. If you roll 3 Hits and 2 Crits you deal 5 Damage (minus defense tokens, abilities, etc). It doesn't matter that 2 of them are crits, that doesn't change anything.
     
    If you have at least one dice showing a crit facing by the deal damage phase you can activate a critical effect, the default is that the first damage card dealt is done so face up. THIS DOES NOT ADD A DAMAGE, it only means that if one or more damage cards would be dealt to the defender then the first one is dealt face up.
     
    If you deal 2 damage and have a critical showing, but the defender has 2 shields on the facing being attacked, then the default critical effect will have no effect on the resolution of damage.
     
    Critical Effects and damage are two very separate things, thinking of criticals as adding a damage is dangerous and can lead to mistakes.
  17. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from RedPriest in A New (and hopefully productive) thread about Ramming.   
    Ok, it is almost impossible to ram with more than 3 ships against a single target, on a single turn. If you have 6 CR90s all lined up ready to ram, guess what? They have to move one at a time. Suddenly 1/2 the front of the Vic is covered by a CR90 after just the first ram. The second ram will make it impossible for another ship to maneuver from in front of the Vic to a side and the third will block the other side. If you somehow manage to form a perfect circle around a Vic then yes, you can manage about 6 rams before you run out of space and are instead just ramming your own ships.
     
    But 7 CR90s vs 1 Vic are gonna win without a single ram. Thrown in 2 GSDs and suddenly being at point blank range from the Imps is looking like a god awful idea. 7 CR90s is 21 Dice from forward arcs alone, why would you focus on doing a single (admittedly though shields) point of damage when you can throw so many dice that their defense tokens will be exhausted (at best) or discarded completely and still die?
     
    Plus with 7 CR90s you have 0 fighters and a Corrupter build with Rhymer and bombers is going to tear it to shreds from Long Range, before any rams are even possible.
  18. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Amanal in A New (and hopefully productive) thread about Ramming.   
    Ok, it is almost impossible to ram with more than 3 ships against a single target, on a single turn. If you have 6 CR90s all lined up ready to ram, guess what? They have to move one at a time. Suddenly 1/2 the front of the Vic is covered by a CR90 after just the first ram. The second ram will make it impossible for another ship to maneuver from in front of the Vic to a side and the third will block the other side. If you somehow manage to form a perfect circle around a Vic then yes, you can manage about 6 rams before you run out of space and are instead just ramming your own ships.
     
    But 7 CR90s vs 1 Vic are gonna win without a single ram. Thrown in 2 GSDs and suddenly being at point blank range from the Imps is looking like a god awful idea. 7 CR90s is 21 Dice from forward arcs alone, why would you focus on doing a single (admittedly though shields) point of damage when you can throw so many dice that their defense tokens will be exhausted (at best) or discarded completely and still die?
     
    Plus with 7 CR90s you have 0 fighters and a Corrupter build with Rhymer and bombers is going to tear it to shreds from Long Range, before any rams are even possible.
  19. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Smuggler in Do upgrade card critical effects deal 1 damage in addition to the effect?   
    I think it is important to separate Critical Effects and Damage.
     
    Damage is solely based on the number of hits and crits rolled. If you roll 3 Hits and 2 Crits you deal 5 Damage (minus defense tokens, abilities, etc). It doesn't matter that 2 of them are crits, that doesn't change anything.
     
    If you have at least one dice showing a crit facing by the deal damage phase you can activate a critical effect, the default is that the first damage card dealt is done so face up. THIS DOES NOT ADD A DAMAGE, it only means that if one or more damage cards would be dealt to the defender then the first one is dealt face up.
     
    If you deal 2 damage and have a critical showing, but the defender has 2 shields on the facing being attacked, then the default critical effect will have no effect on the resolution of damage.
     
    Critical Effects and damage are two very separate things, thinking of criticals as adding a damage is dangerous and can lead to mistakes.
  20. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from VanorDM in A New (and hopefully productive) thread about Ramming.   
    Ok, it is almost impossible to ram with more than 3 ships against a single target, on a single turn. If you have 6 CR90s all lined up ready to ram, guess what? They have to move one at a time. Suddenly 1/2 the front of the Vic is covered by a CR90 after just the first ram. The second ram will make it impossible for another ship to maneuver from in front of the Vic to a side and the third will block the other side. If you somehow manage to form a perfect circle around a Vic then yes, you can manage about 6 rams before you run out of space and are instead just ramming your own ships.
     
    But 7 CR90s vs 1 Vic are gonna win without a single ram. Thrown in 2 GSDs and suddenly being at point blank range from the Imps is looking like a god awful idea. 7 CR90s is 21 Dice from forward arcs alone, why would you focus on doing a single (admittedly though shields) point of damage when you can throw so many dice that their defense tokens will be exhausted (at best) or discarded completely and still die?
     
    Plus with 7 CR90s you have 0 fighters and a Corrupter build with Rhymer and bombers is going to tear it to shreds from Long Range, before any rams are even possible.
  21. Like
    konradkurze reacted to ficklegreendice in A New (and hopefully productive) thread about Ramming.   
    I think you'd oughta be less scared of 7 ram damage, and more of the 21 CFed red dice headed your way
  22. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Vykes in Is the "standard" fleet size too small?   
    Technically no game can have 'strategy' unless it involves:
    Multiple Battles
    Persistent Army/Fleet/Units
    Ability to recall or retreat, punishment for failure
     
    Anything that takes place inside of a single battle will always be 100% tactics.
     
    The easiest way to think of it is: Tactics win battles, Strategy wins wars.
  23. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Lyraeus in The fighter combat killed it for me.   
    So what the OP wants is a Squadron that takes 8 turns of perfect shooting for a capital ship to destroy? Sounds legit.
  24. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from Commander Kahlain in Receiving my Gladiator Tomorrow.   
    A VSD doesn't have the appropriate upgrade slot to use Engine Techs, so it isn't valid at the moment.
     
    A GSD does and can do the following:
    Spend a Navigate Command and/or Token for any of the available uses, make a normal movement at it's current speed, then make an additional movement using speed 1 on their movement chart.
     
    So a GSD can effectively move speed 4, but even more maneuverable.
  25. Like
    konradkurze got a reaction from DScipio in Boarding actions.   
    The most deadly torpedoes don't have warheads, they have Space Marines!
×
×
  • Create New...