Jump to content

Turan

Members
  • Content Count

    314
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Turan

  • Rank
    Member
  • Birthday

Recent Profile Visitors

211 profile views
  1. Turan

    Boba Fett

    My point is that did not seem to be your point. That should even be obvious as it was the part of your post I quoted in the first place. I mean, whatever, dude...between the two of us everything possibly germane and beyond has been delineated, I'm just saying I try to limit the information I dump to what's immediately relevant. The potential error from the earlier poster did not have to do with the center-of-base line-drawing, so I didn't mention it. You did, it's all fine.
  2. Turan

    Boba Fett

    We'll have to agree to disagree about that. I don't see the point of giving extraneous information when providing a clarification - if you're going to do that, you might as well just say every time you reference a topic "Go read these paragraphs on this page" because you're providing every rule anyway 😋
  3. Turan

    Boba Fett

    Yes? That is a true statement, but doesn't apply to a discussion thread about Boba Fett. I posted because crx made a comment that indicated a misunderstanding of the rules as pertaining to Boba Fett.
  4. Turan

    Boba Fett

    No reasonable is needed - the rules says trooper units gain heavy cover from barricades, period. The only thing in question with Fett is whether he was at some position where the only thing blocked by the barricade was his base. Per the rules as written, that doesn't count as obstruction, so he wouldn't be receiving cover from anything in that instance. That is what the e-mail in the original post is addressing.
  5. Turan

    Boba Fett

    A unit does not need to be 50% covered by a piece of terrain to receive cover, it only needs any part of its model or base (except repulsor vehicles, apparently) to be not visible. You might be doing cover incorrectly in your games.
  6. That is not correct. Light or heavy cover is determined by the piece of terrain before the game starts, not by how much of the mini you can see during play.
  7. Turan

    question about addon equipment

    A little more specifically, from the Attack article in the RRG: "To choose a weapon, the attacker must meet all requirements indicated by that weapon’s keywords, and that weapon’s range must include the range of the attack, as determined from the attacker’s unit leader to the closest mini of the defender." So you have been doing it the wrong way 😥
  8. Turan

    Guardian rules with esteemed leader

    Because it was clearly not a trick question, but an error on the part of the OP. And that error had already been addressed in the first reply 14 hours before your post 🤨 Thus, I was confused as to why it was necessary to say again.
  9. Turan

    Guardian rules with esteemed leader

    Everything @SailorMeni said is correct, your original premise is faulty 😉 However, just to address the other part of your question - Keywords with a value (Guardian X) are additive from different sources. So just like equipping Stormtroopers with Targeting Scopes will give them Precise 2, a unit that already has Guardian X that received the effect of Esteemed Leader would add that value of Guardian for how many hits they may cancel.
  10. Your situation is very confusing to read because you seem to be going back and forth between which unit is attacking. The rule you quoted says that a piece of terrain the attacking unit leader is next to can't block line of sight on them shooting out from it. So you're asking about how it interacts with the AT-ST being able to see their legs behind the barricade which is when those Rebel troopers are defending, not attacking. The rule doesn't say anything that applies to that situation. The most common way that rule comes up in games for me is when I have a unit against the corner of a building. I intentionally placed him so the building blocks part of the figure so he gets heavy cover from anyone shooting at him. But when I check line of sight out from him when attacking, so long as a bit of his head is beyond the wall so I can see part of a target mini, they don't get cover from the building, even though it's preventing me from seeing all of them, because I'm touching it.
  11. Turan

    3D Printed Terrain: Buy Or Print It Yourself

    Only you can answer that, because you know what you have access to in your area and you can find out what their rates are. As far as time goes, it depends on the printer you're using and the settings for it and the size of what you're printing. I can offer that a moderate-sized building on my printer takes about six hours or less, depending on how the file is engineered. But that's a super rough estimate. If you find someplace that doesn't charge a monthly membership to use the equipment, but actually per hour, you might be able to go over with the file on a jump drive and see how long it would take before committing to it.
  12. Turan

    3D Printed Terrain: Buy Or Print It Yourself

    It is far cheaper to buy the STL's and print them yourselves if the only concern is cost of materials - there is no break even point, the plastic used in a piece of terrain is, like, 1-3 dollars. The cost of the file and plastic will never approach the cost of buying the printed product unless you find someone who's horribly over-charging for the STL. If you have to pay for a maker space in order to access those printers, then you're in a questionable area unless you're printing enough.
  13. Okay? I've read the regulations, and I don't understand what your post has to do with what I said. I said: 1 - Using a fan-made mini, which is what Zrob was talking about, is forbidden. Look on page 5, it says "During tournament play, each player is required to use the components included in official STAR WARS: Legion products." That doesn't require clarification and it is not up to the Marshall/TO if they're claiming to be running an official Legion event. 2 - I also said it was my opinion that using the FFG Fett without the flight peg would be a significant alteration. Perhaps you didn't see me say it's my opinion, but it's in there.
  14. If it's an actual alternate sculpt, that is 100% not legal according to tournament rules published by Fantasy Flight. If you mean someone using the original mini and attaching him directly to the base without the flight peg, there was a discussion thread about that here the week Fett came out. My opinion was (and continues to be) that would be considered a "significant alteration" according to tournament rules for exactly the reason you're bringing up - yes, his flight peg doesn't provide much elevation, but whether his base is included in cover or not is quite significant. I don't know anything about the people running...the Las Vegas Open? but any large organized play ignoring any published rules of a game is just stupidly done.
×