Jump to content

Crit Happens

Members
  • Content Count

    515
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Crit Happens

  1. If my unit with a HH-12 Storm trooper moves, and performs a standby action, can it shoot when another unit moves within R1-2?
  2. They've both been power houses for years now, but it seems like this is the first time that they're both at the top of their game simultaneously. Look out for the Howard freight train at worlds.
  3. "If a spectator believes they have witnessed a breach of the rules in a game they are watching, other than a missed opportunity, he or she may bring it to the attention of a leader.’" The streamers are not required to bring anything to the attention of the judge. Especially if they did not notice it themselves. If streamers start calling over a judge everytime twitch chat goes crazy, there will be a problem. If, as a stream viewer, you see an infraction and know the judges phone number, have at it. If it requires you to phone one of the players in the midst of the game, you are interfering with the game. You would never do that in person, therefore you shouldn't do it over the phone.
  4. Both abilities are post-attack abilities allowing you to attack, so they have the exact same timing. Comes down to initiative for who shoots first. Regardless of death, both ships get to shoot.
  5. So, did anyone happen to see the final salvo in R6 of the Winnipeg regional? 10 vs 5 The young man rolling 10 dice got a single hit and lost. Incredible.
  6. I could be wrong, but I think they mentioned tickets were not able to be bought and sold. Not sure what system they have in place to prevent it though.
  7. Is today the day that us plebs find out who gets invited? I believe FFG also said they were going to set up a sub-forum for exchanging tickets for Wed/Thur/Fri. Good luck everyone! I really hope that with the extra day, everyone who wants to go gets a chance. May your dice be average.
  8. If we're discussing imperial stress control, you might as well leave Mara at home because of her timing and non stacking. If there is any remote chance of seeing expertise or Rebel Fenn across the table, it's always better to take rebel captive or death troopers.
  9. The real answer is that you don't need 4 glitterstims, so get rid of the YV altogether. 49 point bid!
  10. I'll let the resident weeb answer the first question. Not sure what the knuckles is you're referring to. @Brunas
  11. Guys, we must keep this thread above all the "Introducing..." threads. We must show the greater X-wing community that this is not a place for bickering. It is a place for dank memes, and reaction gifs... and occasionally some content.
  12. Maybe more like Corran? Neither one of them gets quality shots every turn, but when they do, have the potential to lay down some hurt. They are both the ships that you are doing everything in your power to get to the end game. Whisper gets quality shots far more often, and Whisper's movement is still far more predictable than Kylo's.
  13. I know, I was there drinking with you... Great times! I had to leave early for a flight, otherwise I'm sure I would have been cut off with you. I still don't remember boarding the plane. Brysan is the only reason I got home, and he was also blitzed, but more of a functioning alcoholic.
  14. We haven't been missing this. I guess you have, but we've been doing this.
  15. Preserving the gamestate is the exact reason for not moving the template once the ship is lifted.
  16. the bolded part is also a weird made-up rule though... That's where fishy things can happen if the opponent isn't watching like a hawk. "BR left. It's all the way forward (but it actually isn't...), oh, that's not really where I want it, I'll slide it to the back." Now it's possible for that person to game the barrel rolling system to artificially control range, taking them to an illegal placement. Obviously, we are interpreting the word necessary in slightly different ways, and I don't think we will change each others' minds, which is fine. It's something that when I see, I will continue to call over a judge. Also, to be clear, Morgans BR did end up in a legal place, and him changing that position had no impact on the game. The result would not have changed. I'm just pointing out that based on your (and others') interpretation of that clause, it opens up some more room to cheat with barrel rolls.
  17. Necessary means if you need to. Example: declare BR left, and you try forward left, but it would put you on a rock. Put ship back, try backwards left because it was necessary to try. If forward left fits, you need to stick with it as it was not necessary to adjust the template.
  18. Yeah, I've always played that once you lift your ship, that BR template must stay where it is. I've had numerous judges say the same thing.
  19. You know mine is Echo. Although I'm not as stubborn on my hill as you are on yours. The last two waves, I've definitely started embracing the meta a lot more. I can't wait to see the jank you bring to Calgary!
  20. They could errata those abilities to remove "green tokens" and define in the FAQ that "green tokens" include focus, evade, and reinforce. This would allow them to add future "green tokens" later that could still interact with old abilities. All they would need to do upon release is add the new token to the definition in the FAQ.
  21. Are you actually listening though? They go to great lengths to illustrate why a knowledge of variance is necessary to play this game competitively. They talk about minimizing variance by NOT GETTING SHOT. They even touch on scenarios where it is in your best interest to embrace variance when you are losing a game, and your only hope is to go for the Hail Mary. They talk about recognizing tournament formats that usually allow you to have one bad game (could be from dice, matchup, etc.), without getting eliminated. It might help you to listen to the show...
  22. Proton bomb and genius. This person was wondering why you would ignore the text of proton bomb when you are dropping a proton bomb. But it sounds like this would be an appropriate explanation: The "proton bomb card" gives you instructions for how to drop a "proton bomb token" prior to executing a maneuver. The "genius card" gives you instructions on how to drop any bomb token after executing a maneuver. The instructions on the "proton bomb card" is not actually needed while using genius because it is occurring after the maneuver. (Dropping a particular bomb token is not necessarily related to it's corresponding card) @thespaceinvader, the snarky responses of "read the card and do what it says" aren't ever actually helpful. People come to this forum when they struggle with particular wording, and interactions between cards. I'm sure you weren't trying to be snarky and unhelpful, because why would you waste your time doing that? It's probably easier and more efficient to actually give a step by step explanation. Anyways, thank you for your help. I got there eventually!
×
×
  • Create New...