Jump to content

Crit Happens

Members
  • Content Count

    509
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Crit Happens

  1. Crit Happens

    I want a ticket!

    I could be wrong, but I think they mentioned tickets were not able to be bought and sold. Not sure what system they have in place to prevent it though.
  2. Crit Happens

    TIE Reaper: Everything We Know

    If we're discussing imperial stress control, you might as well leave Mara at home because of her timing and non stacking. If there is any remote chance of seeing expertise or Rebel Fenn across the table, it's always better to take rebel captive or death troopers.
  3. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    The real answer is that you don't need 4 glitterstims, so get rid of the YV altogether. 49 point bid!
  4. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    I'll let the resident weeb answer the first question. Not sure what the knuckles is you're referring to. @Brunas
  5. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    Guys, we must keep this thread above all the "Introducing..." threads. We must show the greater X-wing community that this is not a place for bickering. It is a place for dank memes, and reaction gifs... and occasionally some content.
  6. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    Maybe more like Corran? Neither one of them gets quality shots every turn, but when they do, have the potential to lay down some hurt. They are both the ships that you are doing everything in your power to get to the end game. Whisper gets quality shots far more often, and Whisper's movement is still far more predictable than Kylo's.
  7. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    I know, I was there drinking with you... Great times! I had to leave early for a flight, otherwise I'm sure I would have been cut off with you. I still don't remember boarding the plane. Brysan is the only reason I got home, and he was also blitzed, but more of a functioning alcoholic.
  8. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    This is still my favourite thing.
  9. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    At worst, you're situationally wrong...
  10. Crit Happens

    Harpoon mechanics?

    We haven't been missing this. I guess you have, but we've been doing this.
  11. Crit Happens

    Regional Results thread.

    Preserving the gamestate is the exact reason for not moving the template once the ship is lifted.
  12. Crit Happens

    Regional Results thread.

    the bolded part is also a weird made-up rule though... That's where fishy things can happen if the opponent isn't watching like a hawk. "BR left. It's all the way forward (but it actually isn't...), oh, that's not really where I want it, I'll slide it to the back." Now it's possible for that person to game the barrel rolling system to artificially control range, taking them to an illegal placement. Obviously, we are interpreting the word necessary in slightly different ways, and I don't think we will change each others' minds, which is fine. It's something that when I see, I will continue to call over a judge. Also, to be clear, Morgans BR did end up in a legal place, and him changing that position had no impact on the game. The result would not have changed. I'm just pointing out that based on your (and others') interpretation of that clause, it opens up some more room to cheat with barrel rolls.
  13. Crit Happens

    Regional Results thread.

    Necessary means if you need to. Example: declare BR left, and you try forward left, but it would put you on a rock. Put ship back, try backwards left because it was necessary to try. If forward left fits, you need to stick with it as it was not necessary to adjust the template.
  14. Crit Happens

    Regional Results thread.

    Yeah, I've always played that once you lift your ship, that BR template must stay where it is. I've had numerous judges say the same thing.
  15. Crit Happens

    The mountain you die on

    You know mine is Echo. Although I'm not as stubborn on my hill as you are on yours. The last two waves, I've definitely started embracing the meta a lot more. I can't wait to see the jank you bring to Calgary!
  16. They could errata those abilities to remove "green tokens" and define in the FAQ that "green tokens" include focus, evade, and reinforce. This would allow them to add future "green tokens" later that could still interact with old abilities. All they would need to do upon release is add the new token to the definition in the FAQ.
  17. Is there a difference between dropping these after the maneuver? With Bomblet generator, you are now paying the extra cost of discarding the card (or EM token) if you drop using genius. If you drop a Proton bomb using genius, are you discarding it twice? Once for actually using the bomb, and once for using genius? Or am I over thinking this? Or are you still just discarding once?
  18. Crit Happens

    Carolina Krayts is the best X-Wing podcast

    Are you actually listening though? They go to great lengths to illustrate why a knowledge of variance is necessary to play this game competitively. They talk about minimizing variance by NOT GETTING SHOT. They even touch on scenarios where it is in your best interest to embrace variance when you are losing a game, and your only hope is to go for the Hail Mary. They talk about recognizing tournament formats that usually allow you to have one bad game (could be from dice, matchup, etc.), without getting eliminated. It might help you to listen to the show...
  19. Proton bomb and genius. This person was wondering why you would ignore the text of proton bomb when you are dropping a proton bomb. But it sounds like this would be an appropriate explanation: The "proton bomb card" gives you instructions for how to drop a "proton bomb token" prior to executing a maneuver. The "genius card" gives you instructions on how to drop any bomb token after executing a maneuver. The instructions on the "proton bomb card" is not actually needed while using genius because it is occurring after the maneuver. (Dropping a particular bomb token is not necessarily related to it's corresponding card) @thespaceinvader, the snarky responses of "read the card and do what it says" aren't ever actually helpful. People come to this forum when they struggle with particular wording, and interactions between cards. I'm sure you weren't trying to be snarky and unhelpful, because why would you waste your time doing that? It's probably easier and more efficient to actually give a step by step explanation. Anyways, thank you for your help. I got there eventually!
  20. What if you read both cards, and do what they both say?
  21. I'm not saying there has to be, just curious. Two other local players were in a disagreement last night about this, and they asked me for an opinion. I immediately said it only discards once (I actually thought they were discussing Bomblet), but the more I thought about it afterwards, the more it bugged me. I know it's probably a case of "trust your instincts", but that's not a very good explanation ?
  22. So none of the actual text on the proton bomb card is being used. I've never thought of it this way before. Interesting. Is there another game interaction that follows this same logic?
  23. So, each turn approaching the alpha, QD burns a lock with EH. Next turn the opponent gets it right back. This pattern continues until in range for combat. Suppose you are against QD with 3Nu's. You are entering combat with no mods on your own QD, and only a single one of his Nu's is without a lock. You must be very confident that your two Rho's will PS kill one of the Nu's that has a TL, because QD won't be contributing to that offense.
  24. Expert handling!?! I don't believe you. Why not just go with VI, and get above most other alphas? Also, with targeting synchronizer on QD, why not switch to chips on the Rho's? Expertise plus chips is probably good enough.
  25. Kylo just runs to time. I spent over 20 minutes running with Kylo in this exact scenario. You have a get out of jail free card (title) if you need it for when Poe eventually cuts you off. Poe can't do the necessary damage at R3.
×